We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat here”
Review of Enoteca i Terzi

Enoteca i Terzi
Ranked #131 of 530 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm so Incredibly disappointed that we ate here tonight. We were looking for a special dinner and read a review in the NYTimes that described it as the place to go for bistecca fiorentina. It's in a horrible location in a back alley and has a stale atmosphere. I didn't want to sit but my husband and daughter were starved so we did. The service was so unfriendly and lacked personality and charm ... Robotic. We started with ravioli that was covered in canned green beans and was cold. Then the bistecca came out completely raw and they sliced it and took it back and totally charred it on the grill. It was so not worth it and a waste of a meal in Italy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stomasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    159
    42
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible food!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having visited Enoteca i Terzi twice during a trip to Siena last year, and really enjoyed it, we returned this year hoping to enjoy the wonderful food again. And we did, it was just as good as we remembered and we savoured every morsel! The quality is high and the portions generous. The wine list is spectacular and they also do some decent wines by the glass. Whilst it could perhaps do with a touch more warmth at times, the service here is very professional but not as over-the-top as in some Italian restaurants (particularly in the big cities) so I expect some tourists aren't happy with simply being served their food rather than entertained alongside it. If you aren't bothered about a performance with your meal and would rather come for the great food and wine then you've found the right place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“So sad”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Who died? That is all I could think as I watched the very sullen staff at this restaurant. They were like zombies. I was barely acknowledged when I came in for lunch today. They did reluctantly take my order. Brought me my food. Then the check when I requested it. Then I left. So sad.
As for the food, it was fine. But not worth 37 euros for a glass of wine, ravioli and beef and potatoes.
I hope the staff cheers up and regains their will to serve. Or live.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martinnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A superb meal”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We ate here on a rainy night in April, having found it on our gps. The food was fabulous from the antipasto to the ravioli , main courses and deserts. The helpful waitress matched wonderful wines to each course. We sat next to a retired American couple who had lived in Sienna for years, and told us that we had found the best restaurant in the whole of Sienna!
We certainly rate this as one of the top three meals we enjoyed on this recent Italian journey

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“After 12 years of Italian travel I send a dish back to the kitchen”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am in the midst of a Tuscany, Florence, Rome, Barcelona vacation. I have been to Italy several times before and love every part of it. I especially love the food. Unfortunately I had to send my lunch back to the kitchen at this restaurant today because it was inedible.
Now the restaurant itself is very pretty. It has an attractive atmosphere, including a nice stone feature (which curiously has a niche built into it...filed with trash/junk (e.g. a broken chair).
Anyway, my companions food was good and my first course of soup was quite good. But, this place only has about 5 main courses and mine was...yuck. It was a beef dish that tasted like a salt lick. To his credit the manager tasted the dish and agreed. My point is there are many fine restaurants to choose from and I would not return to this one. Also, let me mention the wine was about 25% more expensive than any other place I have eaten in Tuscany.
Happy dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca i Terzi also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Enoteca i Terzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing