We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best ever Holiday.. Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Montebuoni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montebuoni
Ranked #40 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Siena
London
2 reviews
“Our best ever Holiday.. Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We arrived here having been recommended this jewel by other friends. Honestly, this was an amazing place! Secluded, friendly, quiet and beautiful... words really cannot explain how much we enjoyed this break. Perched on a hilltop surrounded by golden valleys full of olive trees and vineyards.

The villa was really comfortable. There was everything we needed and the staff at To Tuscany checked to see if there was anything else we needed. We didn't but their attention to fine detail really impressed me.


We went wine tasting at the local vineyard. The personal style in which the tour was conducted once again made it very special.

We have travelled all over the world on different types of holidays but I can honestly say that this weeklong break is at the top of the pile.

Every time I think about this holiday it brings a smile to my face...

Hope to come back very soon.

Andy & Sally

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

This was an excellent place to stay and we had a great time at apartment Bella Vista! We were well looked after by our owner Edward who provided Tennis racketts, a million wine glasses and Sky News, very important when providing news updates to the families we shared our terrace with! The place was so friendly and sociable particuarly around the excellent pool, tennis court and many rocks we fought over to enjoy the amazing views over the Chianti countryside. Trips to Sienna, Radda, Florence and San Gimignano are easily done and an absolute must; look out for the 'Good Coop Directory' from Preston publications to help you on your way! Fully recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks in Il Forno, at Montebuoni...
It was our very first holiday with our little baby, 8 months, and the BEST holiday ever!!
The domain was very pretty, and Florence, Siena, Volterra, Radda, Volpaia,... were all nearby...
The house felt like home, and everything we needed was inside!!
The service was excellent: we had a little problem with the shower suddenly, and the very same day it got fixed!
We enjoyed our meals on our little terrace, while our baby was well asleep inside, and she also slept very well under a tree near the pleasant pool!!
We certainly will come back, and bring friends and family!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed in the Bella Vista apartment in Montebuoni and had an amzing time.
The apartment had everything we needed and Montebuoni itself was set in the ideal location right in the heart of chianti. We did have a car for the week which you'll need if you want to explore the whole area. However, the stunning little town of lecchi in chianti is within 20 mins walking distance so great if you fancy a few glasses of wine with dinner!

I'd also highly recommend going on a tour of the local vineyard (again only 20 mins walk from Montebuoni) where we spent the afternoon tasting wine and eating great food in the owners garden. It really doesnt get much better than that!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

We have travelled to Italy for 10 years and Hamlet Montebuoni is our favorite destination. It is centrally located in Chianti making it a great spot from which to make day trips to many small Chianti villages and other Tuscany towns like San Gimignano and Voltera. Siena is only 30 minutes away and Florence about 1 hour. Our two favourite restaurants are in the nearby villages of San Sano and Lecchi. A fantastic spot to relax at or use as a base for touring Tuscany. The only reason I give it less than 5 for service is that there really isn't any service as the accommodation is self catering.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whistler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

An authentic retreat in the beautiful hills of Chianti with fabulous unspoilt views of the local landscape. A perfect base for touring the region and the ideal setting to relax and unwind with a glass of wine on the terrace watching the sunset over with hills with the scent of fresh lavender in the air. Lecchi in Chianti has one of the nicest restaurants in the area, with many people travelling from as far as Rome to sample the local delicacies.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kit_Cat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

I first travelled to Montebuoni 6 years ago and now go back every year without fail. I try to book a differant villa each time as they are all so differant. I would now say I was a confirmed "Montebuoniholic!" I have even used this wonderful hamlet as a base for a golfing weekend and was charmed with the Beauty of the Tuscan courses. This is without a doubt a luxury location at affordable prices. The company I booked through, To-tuscany.com were extremely professional and the result was a holiday that beat my expectations and dreams. I have enjoyed the wine tasting and the sightseeing the tranquility of the location but also the buzz of the cities nearby. This little bit of paradise is definately my idea of HEAVEN on EARTH!

  • Liked — traditional, cosy, affordable, value for money and location
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KentHootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Villa Veronica
Villa Veronica
#80 of 119 in Siena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Affittacamere II Pozzo
Affittacamere II Pozzo
#1 of 1 in Isola d'Arbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
4.3 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 2 in Costalpino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebuoni

Property: Montebuoni
Address: Lecchi in Chianti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a ridge overlooking the fabulous Tuscan countryside with its olive groves and vineyards, is the undiscovered Chianti Hamlet of Montebuoni. A cluster of privately owned villas and apartments sit amongst olive groves, beautiful planted gardens and courtyards. Montebuoni was once a large estate producing wine and olive oil. It is these original buildings which have been restored and modernised to a very high standard, with shared pool, tennis and internet access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing