We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meal at a good price”
Review of Osteria La Piana

Osteria La Piana
Ranked #60 of 531 Restaurants in Siena
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal at a good price”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The manager of the hotel we stayed at recommended this little, casual restaurant as one of her favorites. We had one of the most tasty meals I have ever eaten. We asked the excellent waitress to recommend the dishes for us, and she did not disappoint. (OK, steak tartare is an acquired taste, but it was worth trying here.) The house wine was perfectly fine and reasonably-priced. In fact, we had two appetizers, two entries, a liter of wine and water for 61 Euro. For an Italian city, that's not bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casualtraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    403
    102
    41
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olsztyn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

If you want to eat good but not sofisticated Italian meal, IT is a perfect place. Especially very good bruschetta....And good white wine per 8 euro/litre;)

Helpful?
Thank sebol04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“perfect tartar”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

fiorentina tartar was perfect, it was so delicious. the restaurant was the best part of our siena trip. Pici all’ aglione, Trippa alla senese and the homemade wine was also great. and the best part was the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ykg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and bad food”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I am really sorry, that I have to write such a bad review. But we had the by far worst food in Tuscany at the Osteria La Piana. After we have waited outside for a while, the staff pulled an additional chair to the vacant table. No greeting, no word, no friendly smile - just the feeling, that we are not welcome from the beginning. The food, however was even worse. Tagliata di pollo (chicken) on a bed of vegetables consisted of old, fat and smelly chicken parts mixed with some sprinkles of green - definitely no fresh vegetables. My husband had pasta with wild boar ragout. The ragout consisted of small and big peaces of dry meat, all in the color dark grey - and so was the taste. Along with completely dried out bred I have to say, that this was simply very(!) disappointing. Sorry, Osteria La Piana, but this does not go along with the good reviews you have received so far.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vera I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Choose this restaurant totally by chance. We were walking by and decided it looked good. Boy were we right! We were there on Easter Monday and they were crazy busy. However, the young lady that took care of us was friendly and we were never rushed. Both my husband and I had fresh pasta dishes and they were both very good. I would recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel53NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Piana also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria La Piana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing