We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Food but an average experience”

Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti
Ranked #12 of 530 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Solid Food but an average experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were staying inside the Siena walls and decided to trek just outside the walls to try out this highly rated farm to table restaurant. The meal was good although the atmosphere of the restaurant was stale and the service lacked warmth and any caring whatsoever. Weren't weren't disappointed but weren't wowed by the experience either. This restaurant would be a fantastic find if you are at any of the nearby hotels, but if you are staying inside the city walls there are other fantastic places to eat that don't require a cab, car, or long walk.

The restaurant is a true farm to table establishment that sources most of the ingredients locally and also serves heritage cuts of meat, including a pork variety that can only be found in the area. There is a heavy German influence on the menu, which we later read/learned was due to the background of one of the owners. After many days of straight out Italian food it was nice to have some dishes of a different national influence. We ordered one of the heritage pork dishes which was tasty, but a bit overdone. We almost bypassed the truffle pasta as it was one of the more expensive dishes on the menu, but we ordered it and wasn't disappointed; it was loaded with local truffles. A small rack of lamb ribs ended the meal on a good note; prepared to perfection.

The wine list was also very good, although there weren't really any cheaper, house wine like options and instead focused on the higher end, local varieties.

Despite the good food, we left the meal unsatisfied with the overall experience. The restaurant was empty besides one other couple despite it being prime-time on a Saturday night. There was a lack of energy and it was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. The service was short and curt, focused on just the transaction of taking orders and delivering orders and not interested in answering questions or making suggestions. We actually skipped dessert just so we could go someplace with more energy to end the evening.

Given the amazing reviews on trip advisor I am hoping we got an off-night, but it was a long walk from our hotel for a very average experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vagablondechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolpiinToscana, Proprietario at Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi there! First of all, thank you for taking time to write a review, onestly not a very clear one!
As you maybe noted, people like to come to our place for the warm welcome and good food, we try to do our best to keep the standard:-) We don't serve any German dishes, all the dishes are Tuscan/Italian, the menu is translated in 5 languages to help our international clients to choose ...Fortunately we are fully booked on weekends, normally Italians eat around 9.30-10.00 pm on weekends, maybe you happened to come in very early for Italian standards?... Our wine selectione goes from € 10 for the tuscan house wine, € 13,00 up to € 18,00 for a Chianti Classico, I don't thin it's very expensive... anyway, appreciated your review, have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    295
    109
    53
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and great food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

TA doesn't disappoint. This restaurant is highly rated for a reason and I'm glad TA directed us here. The couple who own this restaurant are such pleasant and hard working individuals, one immediately is taken by their gargantuan efforts to run this place with a skeleton staff. The resto is lovingly adorned with kids drawings, and pretty cozy. The pasta and anti-pasti, perfect. The waitress and wife, a wine connoisseur as well. What a great dinner experience for our only night in Siena.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GabiGonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolpiinToscana, Proprietario at Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I really apreciated that you enjoyed your stay so much!:-) Clients like you make us go on with joy! Take care, Britta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I Still Dream of the Food Here. A Restaurant with a View.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hands down the best meal we've had in Italy! We were only in Siena for a day trip from Florence and was planning on having lunch at another restaurant and come here for dinner, but our lunch pick was closed for the day. Enoteca was not on the tourist route but definitely worth seeking out. The restaurant's cosy, has a great view of the city, and the owners are absolutely wonderful. I hope they got more business than we saw that day; only 1 other couple came in during our meal.

We had the cinta senese platter, truffled pasta and raw duck meat. You can taste the freshness, the thought that went in preparing every dish. The fat marbling on the cinta senese platter makes us want to go back every time we look at the photos. Oh I don't think words can describe how happy the meal made us. Thank you for making delicious food, thank you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolpiinToscana, Proprietario at Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi there! Thanks for the beautiful review, you made my day!!!!:-) I am so happy that you enjoyed so much the lunch! Take care, hope to see you again, Britta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We were waiting and waiting and waiting...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend went to Sotto le Fonti this one evening in late September. I wonder where all these great reviews come from, cause according to them the restaurant should have been something. Well it wasn't. I've noticed, that the proprietor replies to some reviews occasionally. Therefore I would like to say more so there's no room for any kind of speculation. The service was incredibly slow and very close to be called unprofessional. After the first course we waited about half an hour to be asked if we had any other wish and then even longer to get the second course. The worst thing was, that we weren't the only ones left unattended. A man at the next table was carving something in the placemat or the table itself and the rest of the room was yawning. It looked like the restaraunt was full for the first time and the staff didn't know what to do. Luckily there was this great American couple at the adjacent table so we could put them together and passed the situation with humour(Hi Tera and Dan!). Nevertheless the proprietor kept coming for different reasons than to take care of our table but to complain she hadn't have any food all day,which had been so tiring for her and other excuses.WOW, I can't stop smiling while thinking about it. I would like everyone to go there and see for themselves. Two points for the starters and the wine, the second course was supposed to be a venison ragout but it turned out as a very poor "Rindfleisch". VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanAndAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolpiinToscana, Proprietario at Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Onestly, your review is so ridicolous and out off the reality, we really did not want even reply to it. But we know that we owe to our trustful and onest clients an protection on our behalf for clients like you.
You were the first clients on a busy night, you did not even book. When you ordered one (!) starter, you have been told immediately if you would like some other dish you have to wait, as the Restaurant was filling up and the orders are followed by the kitchen as "coming in", such is the sequence of starters, first dishes ecc. On our demand if you would like to have something else, you answer "No thank you, we are fine like this". When you decided after one hour (!!!) to order a pasta dish, it arrived after 20 minutes, we don't think it's a long waiting time)...Coming to your complain about the vension, maybe you never eat it in your whole life, so PLEASE don't say it's beef, you just don't know what you are talking about! After drinking 3 (!!!!) bottles of Montereggio Riserva 2007, (a table of 2 people) maybe your judgement was a little ........
Anyway, some clients were complaining about your non appropriate behaviour.
Fortunatley, we are very busy and booked all year, so don't talk about not being prepared,please!!!!!!!!!
As you underlined there should be no space for speculation, next time try to be more onest, grazie
PS: a personal note from the waitress: I remember you very well, explainig you our wine selection and the specials of the day. Please DON'T say I was complaing of being hungry or whatever, I would never talk like this to clients. Grazie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Small restaurant nestled on a quiet road ten minutes walk from town centre, well worth the walk. Great authentic tuscan food and quiet ambiance. Staff were so lovely! Definitely recommended!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing