We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular - less than expected”

La Taverna di San Giuseppe
Ranked #2 of 521 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Regular - less than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Food - very good - we ate lamb and risotto
Service - regular - difficult to ask the dishes
Local - very noise! People going everywhere, talking loudly, not good for people with rinithis
Dessert - excellent tiramisu

Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marconeri, Responsabile reception at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Google Translation
La ringrazio per i complimenti per il cibo.
Per quanto riguarda il rumore il locale fortunatamente è pieno ed a volte ci sono persone più rumorose che si divertono passando una serata in allegria e a cui non possiamo certo dire nulla.
Sarebbe peggio se non ci fossero clienti e il locale fosse vuoto.
Grazie a tutti gli utenti che ci seguono con passione.
Lorella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,125
    803
    182
    54
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would recommend to anyone visiting Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great dining experience and even better if you get a table toward the back near the cellar. The food was great and the wine list and assistance with selections outstanding. I am not sure there is any place in Siena that could be better than this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank The5MRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table from reading previous reviews and glad we did as we wouldn't have been so lucky to dine there if not! It's extremely popular and for good reason. Impeccable service from the minute we walked in, personable yet not intrusive. My husband had the gnocchi entree, creamy Gorgonzola sauce and he says it was the best gnocchi he's ever had. I had porcini mushrooms and pate with polenta, strong, tasty flavours. Following that we had the special beef fillet with truffle with was such an amazing piece of meat, and cooked to perfection. Followed by the tiramisu which as the young waiter boldly proclaimed "is the best in the universe", and little guy we have to agree! Oh and the house red wine was extremely reasonable and delicious!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Good Food and Wonderful Dessert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

First of all, you need a reservation to eat dinner here. They only seat at 7pm and then at 9pm. There are not a lot of tables so make a reservation probably up to 1 week before to ensure you get a table. Our hotel called on Wed and got us a dinner reservation for Friday evening at 7pm. The restaurant has a very nice look to it. It's like walking into a cave. You can see wine cellar on one side and there is also one in the basement. They even brought little stool for my purse. All servers, hostess, etc were very professional and kind. My husband and I started with the bruschetta combo. It included 3 different kinds and we shared. One was Zucchini and Pecorino Cheese, one was traditional tomato and then the third .. I honestly am not sure what it was. They were good and unique but not the best bruschetta that I had while I was in Italy. Then next we shared a spaghetti with tomato sauce that had bacon in it. It was very good. Very good sauce. 1 portion was generous enough to share. For main course I had Rosemary Chicken and my husband had the Braised Beef. I think they were both average or slightly above and I was disappointed that I did not get the pasta with truffles.... I saw others have it and it looked amazing. I think that we just didn't pick the right options off of the menu. Last but not least was dessert. We had the Tiramisu with a hazelnut and chocolate topping. This was one of my favorite desserts in my almost 3 weeks in Italy. I would go back for this alone... Delicious! I really really wish I knew how to make it. My husband said the same thing about it. I think our bill was about 80 Euro total. We also had 1 bottle of house wine, one bottle of water and 1 Limoncello. So not a bad price at all for all of this great food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kariensean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stopped by at night without reservation- no chance to get in. Tried for lunch-successfully. This is a very fine establishment. Deserves a couple of Michelin stars. Once you are in, the smell of truffles just make you salivate! Wine-outstanding, Service, too. Pasta with fresh spring truffles-great. I think that desert was unnecessary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3pleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di San Giuseppe also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna di San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing