We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Really good place for excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di San Giuseppe

La Taverna di San Giuseppe
Ranked #2 of 500 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really good place for excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Short walk from the piazza del Campo, but popular with locals as well as tourists. Excellent food and house wine, nice atmosphere. Not over priced. Would definitely revisit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Archie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,560
    687
    164
    47
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best dinner in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

On a recent trip to Italy we found our way to Siena and where pointed to this resturant. The ambiance was fantastic and the sevice and food even better! The Ricotta and soinach with the fresh truffles is a must!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Siena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I first ate at Taverna San Giuseppe in Siena in 1999 or 2000, when it had just been open a few years. I used to go to Siena often for work (tough gig, right?) and went there for dinner every time I went. I have since travelled back to this magnificent city many times as a visitor, and in large part that is to be able to dine at this wonderful restaurant.
The place was hoping, which makes me happy that the owners, Marco and Loriella have been rewarded for their vision. We had a typically wonderful meal, home-style Sienese cuisine with a few small appreciable twists of individual interpretations. A couple of the waiters were the same ones that had been there for nearly 15 years, and everyone remembered me and gave excellent service, but not overly solicitous Professional, competent, and friendly. They treated everyone the same. Busy but fun. No one in the place seemed to be unhappy and everyone seemed to be enjoying their meal as much as we did. Make it a ppoint to ask if you can go see their cellar (cantina), an incredible tuffa chamber over a thousand years old, complete with a cross carved ito the walls. Between the walls is a selection of wine and cheese that would make you wish you were locked up in there for a week!
A wonderful place, that never disappoints. Siena is full of great places to dine, but this one is special to me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JOV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food and service in Italy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

More than 3 weeks in Italy, and this was truly a gem, and by far the best food, at the best price. We went twice, because once was just not enough.
The servers were amazing...the 2nd night we came, 2 of the waiters had Canada pins on to welcome us back!!
Tuscan cuisine at its finest. Veal spleen/ tuscan pate on polenta does not sound good...but we ordered it twice!!! And wild boar sauces, and wonderful risottos....
The staff were over the top in service...delivering a complimentary appetizer because they thought we might enjoy it!! The next night, while eating a delightful pasta with morel mushrooms, the waiter came out with a huge frying pan of morel mushrooms, and spooned more on to my plate. Because he saw how much I was enjoying the morels!! That is attention to the customer.
I am totally in love with this restaurant!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MojitosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“gimmicks, but cooking skill is lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very popular restaurant. Customers lured in by gimmicks, but served at best indifferent food. Twist added to traditional recipes, not leading to improvement, but the opposite. Examples are crostini served on squares of polenta, an amuse bouche of cauliflower soup, a raw onion served next to the ribollita, wine poured through a funnel into the glass etc. Only plus is the interior of the restaurant which look nice in a rustic style.

J Fisher

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bpest080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di San Giuseppe also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna di San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing