We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Taverna di San Giuseppe

La Taverna di San Giuseppe
Ranked #2 of 516 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Budapest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We entered this place by coincidence, without reservation. We were lucky to get a table, but the place was full, so if you choose this place, make a reservation! The gnocchi with truffles or with ricotta and spinach, the pasta with tomato sauce were unique in taste and flavour! The wine was excellent, and the steaks around us looked incredibly good. We were asking our neighbour table who it was and they said magnificent:) We'll come back there before leaving Italy for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,055
    791
    179
    54
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The reviews we had read on trip advisor were so good we were a little sceptical however this place was great! The service was outstanding, and the food terrific, the tiramisu was worth making room for! We had a shared table which was OK as the gaps between couples was comfortable. We hadn't made a reservation so could only get in at 7:00 and were told that we need to leave by 9:00. The service was prompt without being rushed and we felt ready to leave by 8:45.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nztraveller1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You can't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We only stayed in Siena for one night, and spotted this place on Trip Advisor. We didn't have time to make reservation and tried out luck by just walking in, at about 9.30pm. The restaurant is almost full, and Luckily we were given a table, and the kithen stops receiving order at 10pm. We didn't have any idea on the starters, and let the kitchen to prepare for us, it was amazing! We have a T-bone which turns out tasting great but shamefully we can't finish it coz it's too much, and we are mostly stuffed by the starter. The service is fabulous. The steak is served on a hot stone plate. The waiter come to change a warm plate for us later to keep the steak warm, very thoughtful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShinysHinEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
1 review
“Service snafu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I rarely write reviews on Tripadvisor, but certainly have relied on others, especially on our current 3 week trip to Italy. Feel I needed to right this review because of a very strange experience with
the service at this restaurant.
Had read about this restaurant in Rick Steve's guidebook and it sounded good, but then checked Tripadvisor and it was listed #1. We had already made reservations at a restaurant highly touted by Steves, Antica Osneeringa da Diva. Stopped by before they closed for lunch and were told only shared table at 7:00 was available.
Arrived at 7:00 before the other couple sharing our table. Service was prompt, orders were taken. We did share courses as we usually do if there are both primi and secundi offerings that we like, and we also ordered antipasto and side dish. Also ordered Chianti Classico Reserva over 40 Euros, so were not trying to save money. Courses came without being rushed, we had the same waiter as our table mates, but noticed that things were moving more quickly for them. After our main course, which was a delicious filet with tuffles, probably 12 oz., we sat for 20 minutes or more without being offered a menu for dessert. Then the captain or maitre'd came by and asked if we were OK, wanted coffee. We said we hadn't been offered menu for dessert. Shortly after the proprietress, I believe, came by and told us that she had said when we made the reservations that we would need to finish by 9:00. It was 9:00. That had not been told to us before, but we are not novices in eating out in restaurants that are high end and offer 2 seatings, eating out often on trips or in San Francisco. We understand the problems involved in turning over tables.
The problem here was the waiter's, slow paced service and no offering of a dessert menu for over 20 minutes. We would have normally been out of the restaurant well before 9:00.
Then, our table mates, before leaving, were given a bottle of wine. We were given a menu but decided it would not be comfortable to stay for dessert and asked for the check. We then also received a free bottle of wine.
I don't know the issue here with the waiter. We always try to be 'when in Rome' kind of guests in another land. The food was wonderful, probably the best we've had in the first 2 weeks of our stay in Italy. We were having a good time. Would likely have had dessert and likely a dessert wine, moving the bill up from the 102 Euros it ended up at, so it was just an unsatisfactory ending for no clear reason that I can understand. It was compounded by a rude approach by the 'hostess/ proprietress' who reminded us we needed to be out by 9:00 and then bought us off with a bottle of wine, given to our table mates as well. We fully understand the conflict between satisfying tourists and locals, but, being frank, restaurants in cities such as Siena Or San Francisco would not likely survive with local trade only.
The food at the Taverna was certainly great. We just happened to lose out on the 'total' experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at this small and charming restaurant in Siena this afternoon. The food was wonderful with plenty of choices of traditional dishes from a great variety of prices. The fr4esh tartufo dishes were to die for! We felt comfortable with pleasant servers who went out of their way to please us offering to take our picture. We received a delicious amuse-bouche when we arrived and a complimentary bottle of wine when we left. Busy place for a reason: great food and friendly staff!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alethea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di San Giuseppe also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna di San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing