We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Marciano
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Caterina(Siena)(Great Value!)
$194
$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo di Valli(Siena)(Great Value!)
$157
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Minerva(Siena)(Great Value!)
$178
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Colonna(Siena)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sangallo Park Hotel(Siena)(Great Value!)
$254
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Chiusarelli(Siena)(Great Value!)
$128
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Executive(Siena)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Athena(Siena)(Great Value!)
$181
$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Scacciapensieri(Siena)(Great Value!)
$142
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
428
40
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
40
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfood and winemulti courseorganic vineyardworking vineyardvegetable gardenhome cooked dinnerwine tourhomemade pastriesvineyards and olive treescooking classcooking lessonbig tableperfect tuscanhome basethree nightsbest of both worlds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 490 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2010

First up, if you must have Hotel style accommodation (annonymity, commerical, business-like, central location), then Agriturismo Marciano probably isn't for you. But then you'd be missing out on an absolute gem. Staying with Nadia and Renato in their enormous old farmhouse is worth a trip in itself.
It's walking distance from down-town Siena (40mins at a steady clip down beautiful country lanes). Yet it is completely rural in its feel, with rolling farmland, vines, views etc.
The folks running the place were great, and we met a ton of great people with whom we chatted, mingled, shared dinner etc.
The dinner itself is a masterly feast, with outstanding wines, probably the best meals we had in Italy (with the exception of one phenomenal, but much more pricey, place in Milano).
The rooms are nice, ours was 'Blue' and had a great view.
We enjoyed chatting to Renato and Nadia, found them to be as nice and engaging as you are to them; the more you put in, I think the more you'll get back. Makes sense to me. For us, at least, they were more than hospitable - they were truly generous.
It's fantastic value - I'd pay 50% more without blinking. The couple of times we felt too tired to face a walk back from Siena city, we hopped a cab for around 12euros - peanuts really.
Of all the places in Italy we got too - and we stayed in some beauties - this is the place that I'm most confident we'd return to. It's also a fantastic place to base yourself and do day trips in the car.
That said, I'd add the caveat that we were fortunate enough to have a great bunch of people passing through with us. Others may not be so lucky, and this could certainly detract.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Camesawleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Our only regret was in not staying here for 3 nights. The experience was amazing!!! Our host Nadia and her husband Rennato were very gracious. They helped us with directions around Siena and also for our drive to Rome.
The food was the best we had on our 10day trip, they have excellent wine and olive oil to purchase.
Highly recommend staying here for a Tuscan experience, not fancy but definitely cozy and warm as if staying with friends&family

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solidlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Agriturismo Marciano during our 2 week drive through Italy. The location is magical set along the Tuscan countryside. Every morning you feel you are amongst the clouds! Breakfast was amazing, as Nadia (the main owner) creates a delicious assortment of fruits, yogurt, and homemade croissants and pies. We decided to stay for the home cooked dinner which was equally amazing. Prepare yourself for a 10 course meal. We were very glad that we had only a small lunch earlier that day. I don't eat red meat, and Nadia was able to accommodate my preferences. I have to add that the organically grown wine and olive oil from the farm are amazing. As other reviewers have commented, I would not expect a tour of the facility as Nadia and her family's time vary day to day. The main room has 4 cats-- caution to those who have cat allergies!
The rooms are adorable, but small. No TV (but hey, you have free wifi in the main room) and the Tuscan countryside! Heat is only provided during certain times of the day. We didn't have too many problems with being cold. The bathroom is a stand in, but still nice.
Siena is about a 10 min car ride away. I would highly recommend seeing this city as it very picturesque. Don't forgot to climb the stairs in Duomo to capture a view of all of Siena and the countryside!
I would recommend Agriturismo Marciano to those looking for something different than the usual hotel. It is unique and you will forever remember the memories you had in the Tuscan countryside. For all of those movie watchers who have seen "under the tuscan sun"-- this is it!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikoChiendoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Our recent visit to Siena and Tuscany was rainy and cool. Fortunately, we were staying at Agriturismo Marciano where our room was cozy and warm. The owners were very kind and welcoming. Our family-style dinner was deliciously prepared by Nadia, using local, organic ingredients, paired with their fine wines. The breakfast of yogurts, cereals, fresh baked bread and pastries and perfect coffee fortified us for our days of touring the area. We are very happy to have stayed at Marciano. It would be a wonderful place to stay with the grand children.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kotylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I asked a friend of mine where sha had stayed in Siena and she recommended Marciano. But she told me: "watch out, it is not a hotel as we are used to see. It is like you were invited to stay in a friend of a friend´s house." So I went, expecting to have a country experience. And that was what i got but, for my delight, Marciano is 5 minutes by car from the Center of Siena, and is very easy to get a car, once you havea telephone. So you can wake up with birds and a dellicious smell of the country, and soon enjoy all the charm of Siena. The rooms are very cute, the bed is perfect. The bathroom is a little small but you have everything you need.
But the best thing is to join the dinner that Christian (the owner) cook for you. It is an unforgetfull experiece. All the gest sitting together around a big wood table, talking and tasting Marciano's wines with a dellicious meal. Evething so fresh, so organic, so special. It is really great, specially when you are travelling around, staying in so many hotels, and then you stop at Marciano and almost feel you are back home.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raqueltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews