We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay, lived up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Marciano
Ranked #1 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked our 3-night stay at Agriturismo Marciano several months before our recent visit, and I'm happy to report it did not disappoint! On our arrival night (after flying into Rome from the US and renting a car to drive to Siena), Nadia welcomed us with a nice glass of wine and a great overview of the area, helping us plan our adventures. The next day, we borrowed a GPS for a great day-trip route south of Siena, returning that evening to wonderful company and the home-cooked meal. We're not really wine people, but I sure looked forward to the next bottle that Nadia/Christian brought to the table! The room was nice and clean, plenty big for the two of us and the farm/farmhouse are just so quaint. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sawston123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 482 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

I would definitely give the Agriturismo Marciano 5 stars! When we arrived by taxi in late afternoon, Christian let us settle into our rooms and then met us in the kitchen and gave us the details of the place over a glass of their wonderful wine. He arranged for a private day tour of the Chianti region for later in our stay. That evening we had one of 2 wonderful dinners around the big kitchen table with guests from 4 different countries, 6 courses in all with Christian introducing a new wine with each course. The location was perfect for my sisters and I, as we had arrived by train, it was a short taxi ride into the center of Sienna to walk through the wonderful town. As we had arrived in the middle of their harvest, it was a very busy time for the Agriturismo, but every effort was made to make us feel welcome. Christian gave a tour of the vineyards one evening before dinner and relayed his passion for the organic wine making process to all who listened. We were sorry to leave as the Agriturismo Marciano offered a peaceful break during our 3 week tour of Italy.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Agriturismo and thoroughly our enjoyed our time. From innkeeper Nadia's welcome glass of wine to her spectacular home-cooked 5 course meals - we felt immediately at home. The room was pleasant, clean and bright with a wonderful view of the property. We enjoyed being in the "country" after hectic Rome but being close to Siena also had its advantages. It was wonderful to able to head out daily in our rental car and explore the Tuscan hill towns and spectacular scenery (Chianti region in particular). Nadia and Maggie gave us excellent information regarding routes and possible stops. The breakfast each morning was terrific - home-made breads, cakes and jams laid out beautifully. I must mention the dinners again by Nadia as these meals were some of the best we had in Italy. Farm to table fresh, beautifully prepared and served with the Agriturismo's many wines. Getting to eat family-style with other guests and share travel stories and adventures was an incredibly memorable experience. I highly recommend Agriturismo Marciano for anyone who plans to see Tuscany and is looking for an authentic and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllysonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Agriturismo Marciano during our honeymoon. The view of the Tuscan countryside out our window was gorgeous! We were surrounded by a beautiful vineyard and orchard, yet were within walking distance to Siena. Nadia, our hostess, was incredible. She told us all about sites to see and had a GPS available to use as needed. We dined in 2 evenings, and enjoyed delicious multicourse meals with wine from her vineyard. She was even able to accomadate my gluten and dairy-free diet needs! Loved meeting people from around the world!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

First time here and its reviews on this site are well deserved. Nice clean rooms. Nadia, Christian and staff were very helpful with us and other guests. Breakfast includes many freshly baked sweets. The wine making tour by Christian was very interesting and the wine is very good. We missed the dinner, but others said they enjoyed it. While you are in the countrysie with great views, it is easy to get into center of Siena from here. More importantly great location for day tripping in Tuscany. Other main hill towns are close and main roads out town are very easy to reach from this delightful country home. Wifi in the central areas but not in rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guanacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husabnd and I loved our stay at Agriturismo Marciano. Nadia and her staff made us feel very welcome and they were extremely helpful. The wine was very good and the evening meal was the best I had while in Italy. The breakfast was great and we always left full for a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I took a 3 week honeymoon throughout Italy. We stayed 2 nights at the Agriturismo Marciano and wish we stayed longer! We had a car so the location was great as it was easy to drive to nearby cities and vineyards. The room was charming, spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Our favourite part of our stay hands down was dinner in Nadia’s kitchen! Everything was so fresh and tasty and the wine was divine. We were more than satisfied as the food kept coming and the wine kept pouring! This place is a gem and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Siena!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Selva Agriturismo
La Selva Agriturismo
#21 of 94 in Siena
126 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Poggiarello
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Malafrasca
Agriturismo Malafrasca
#23 of 94 in Siena
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Marciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Marciano

Address: Strada della Befana 5, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Marciano Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing