We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to San Gimignano, great wine, perfect for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Close to San Gimignano, great wine, perfect for the kids”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Me, my wife and my two kids stayed at La Marronaia last month. The apartment was comfortable and good for our children. We loved the location because it is very close to San Gimignano and few km from Siena. The wine is great and the Dei family is kind and warm. We’ll come back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Google Translation
Cari amici vi ringrazio per l'apprezzamento che ci avete dimostrato e la gioia con cui avete condiviso con noi e con gli altri ospiti, il vostro soggiorno alla Marronaia. I bambini sono sempre i benvenuti da noi e spero che avremo altre occasioni per rincontrarvi.
Un caro saluto a tutta la famiglia. Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    12
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here two years ago for our mini-moon and were not disappointed. Sylvia is a wonderful host, very friendly and helpful, and the wine tour mid week was most enjoyable, with absolutely delicious wine and olive oil which we just had to buy some of to take home with us! (Run out now ... must go back and get more!). The rooms were clean and had everything we needed, and the pool was a welcome relief at the end of each day, and almost always we had it to ourselves. The scenery in every direction is breathtaking in its beauty, and situated near San Gimignano meaning we could travel easily to all the other main cities in Tuscany that we wanted to see. Lovely place - top recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear friends,thanks a lot for your review and your kind words. It's nice to hear that after some time you are still thinking of our Podere and remind of your Holiday here.
Our job is not just a job, everytime we try to share with our guests our project and our souls and when this happens, that's our goal !
I hope we'll have other chances to meet and share time, experices and life together. You'll be always more than welcome to La Marronaia. Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Me and my family spent a really nice holiday at La Marronaia. Our apartment was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the typical breakfast, the large garden, perfect for the kids even in spring, and their great wine. The location is good because San Giminiano is only few minutes by car and easy to reach. It was the first time for us, but not the last for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J68st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Google Translation
Cari amici, è stato un vero piacere avervi ospiti della Marronaia e leggere ora il vostro bellissimo commento. Vi ringrazio per l'apprezzamento dimostrato verso il nostro agriturismo e spero che potremo avere altre occasioni di incontrarci e di trascorrere insieme belle serate alla Marronaia come quelle appena passate. Un caro saluto Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

From the moment I contacted Sylvia about renting an apartment we were made to feel special. On arrival, despite the pouring rain and dark we were greeted warmly and welcomed to this amazing podere and so relaxed very quickly. Sylvia was always available but not intrusive and had a wealth of knowledge about the local area. The accommodation itself was spacious and comfortable and adequately apportioned although, being English, a kettle would have been useful. An amazing area, fabulous scenery, excellent restaurants nearby which meant we didn't have to cook plus wonderful wine. An excellent holiday and a place I'm sure we will return to as we will soon need to replenish the wine cellar!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sandra, it's really important for us to know you had a positive experience . We always try to transmit the feeling and passion for our Podere to our guests and when we are really able to share this with them...that’s really our goal! This happened immediately with you, you immediatly entered our "word". I am happy I gave you about useful info about our area. I love my town and my region a lot, so it is always a pleasure to give information and details to help people to experience our region not only by tourists but with the eye of those who live it every day.
I send you a big hug, I look back to Marronaia when you want to share a glass of wine!
Silvia con Luigi Pietro e Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I spent a romantic week in this charming location and were extremely impressed with the entire experience. Upon arrival we were immediately, and warmly, greeted by the owner, Sylvia. I was worried at first to see at least a dozen cats were there to greet us as well, as my husband and I both have pretty severe cat allergies. However, once inside our apartment (we rented the Yellow Apartment) it was perfectly clean without a trace of cat dander. The apartment was simple, but comfortable and exactly as advertised. The wi-fi worked beautifully through-out.
Sylvia, who speaks excellent English but was more than willing to let me practice my rusty Italian, was extremely helpful in recommending activities for our stay. Her recommendation of a visit to the small San Donato winery turned out to be one of the best wine-tasting experiences we've ever had in Tuscany. We also joined (for free) an already scheduled wine tasting at Sylvia's property. They make several (delicious) wines, including some wonderful reds and of course the famous local white, Vernaccia.
While we were staying at La Marronaia, a family from Germany was staying in one of the larger apartments. It was their third or fourth time staying with Sylvia and I can fully understand why. All in all, this was one of the best rentals (for overall experience and value for the money) that we've found anywhere in Europe, let alone Tuscany. For us, this is a family tradition in the making...we'll be returning in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank erima916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
io_tu, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear friends, what a pleasure to read your words ! The best prize we can hope for our work. We Always try to offer our Podere and our services to make of our guest's Holiday an unforgettable Holiday and it's great to hear that your appreciation. From our side I can say that it was a great pleasure for us too to meet you and share time together, to see how you enjoied all our suggestions and proposals, so I hope we'll have more chances in the future to meet and to practise your Italian with us! Thanks a lot and a big hug from La Marronaia. Silvia, Luigi, Pietro e Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice small old farmhouse with a few appartments. Great located in the middle of vinyards. Silvia (and her familly) are running the farmhouse in a relaxed way. You feel welcome. Don't be affraid for a lot of cats.

San Gimignano is on the horizon and if you want you can walk to town in. 30-40 min. Taxi app. 10 Euro, ask Silvia for the number. Parking tip : down at "via delfo Giachi". Restaurant tip : "Le Vecchie Mura"

A stay is value for money. From Holland we wish them good luck the the 2013 harvest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear friends it was a pleasure to read your kind words about La Marronaia and to have you as our dear guests in our Podere. Thanks for writing also some practical suggestions that will be surely useful for the coming guests. I wish you all the best for your plans and will update you about our harvest. A big hug from La Marronaia, Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently spent a lovely week based at La Marronaia. We must agree with all of the reviews that the location is magnificent. When you arrive it certainly is a wow view in all directions and very peaceful. It is an ideal location to tour the main Tuscan areas too. Silvia is very welcoming and friendly and was on hand if we need any guidance. The apartments are "rustic" and fairly basic. There is loads of hot water. A couple of drawback we felt were:- There is no toaster, kettle or proper oven. Luckily we ate out for most meals so it wasn't a great issue to us, how ever if you plan to stay in and cook the facilities may present a challenge. There are 12 resident cats on the property. This meant that we could not leave the apartment door open and it also meant we couldn't eat breakfast at the outside table as the cats invaded all the time.

Room Tip: all rooms have magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiganduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Google Translation
Cari amici,sono felice di leggere il vostro commento e di sapere che avete trascorso una buona vacanza al nostro Podere. Mi dispiace che non abbiate trovato il tostapane, in ogni appartamento ce n'è uno Grantostiere g7 Imetec. Nel vostro caso si trova sottoil forno convenzionale/micoronde insieme alla macchina del caffè americano, spremiagrumi elettrico ed altri piccoli accessori. Vi avrei potuto aiutare se me lo aveste chiesto. Il bollitore non c'è ma mi sembra un buon suggerimento, per cui provvederemo a dotare tutti gli appartamenti di questo elettrodomestico. Vi ringrazio per le belle parole che ci avete riservato e spero di incontrarvi di nuovo alla Marronaia. Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
1.0 mi away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#31 of 67 in San Gimignano
112 reviews
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 111 in San Gimignano
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tenuta Mormoraia
Tenuta Mormoraia
#7 of 67 in San Gimignano
243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo Macinatico 1
Agriturismo Macinatico 1
#37 of 111 in San Gimignano
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
#57 of 111 in San Gimignano
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo

Property: Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
Address: Podere Marronaia 14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere la Marronaia is a small and welcoming farmhouse situated on a small hill amongst vineyards and olive groves, close to the historical centre of San Gimignano (2km). The central part of this historical building is the watching tower built in 1200 ad as part of the city wall defence. In the year 2000 the Dei family, in love with this area, bought the property to make of it our residence and actual business activity. Today the Podere la Marronaia Farmhouse is a family runned farm, dedicated to tourist accommodation with flats to rent, and farming activity with biological production of wine and extra virgin olive oil with direct sale in the farmhouse.We offer flat accomodations. Each flat is fully equipped with: oven, dishwasher machine, 4 fires, fridge+ freezer, crockery, tv sat, iron, hairdryer, little house appliances, free internet wireless connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing