We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast”
Review of Il Colto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Colto
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This agriturismo is in a great location, only a short walk from the southern San Gimignano gate, but overlooking the Tuscan farm land. Anna is very helpful and efficient, the rooms are nicely decorated and spotless clean. The property is small and intimate with only three rooms. The best part is the breakfast. Tuscan meats and cheese, home made jams and bread, yogurt. Just when you are full Anna brings out sweet and savoury homemade Tuscan baked goods.
She does encourage you to take them away if you cannot eat them all.
Great place to explore Tuscany, Volterra etc in a driving holiday or a trip to San Gimignano

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank AdamANDChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Il Colto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Il Colto was a perfect place to stay for our five days in Tuscany. The location is close to all of the quaint villages in the area. The B&B was clean, comfortable, and in such a scenic spot just outside the walls of picturesque San Gimignano. Huge breakfast each morning out on the terrace overlooking the rolling Tuscan hills and nearby vineyards. Anna is the star of the show with her fine command of English, all of her helpful travel tips, and most of all for her kind and caring heart. My husband unfortunately became ill right at the end of our stay. Anna immediately ordered an ambulance to take him to the emergency room in the nearest town. We were there for over 11 hours during which time Anna came twice to make sure that we were alright. And then she drove us back to San Gimignano and found us another place to stay right down the road. What a guardian angel in our hour of need! Thank you again, Anna, for taking such good care of us. We would definitely return to Il Colto.
Pamela N. of Phoenix, AZ

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet. So nice to be able to open the windows at night for cool breezes.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Of the five different places we stayed in Italy..Il Colto was by far the very Best..clean beyond compare...friendly hospitality, spacious room and BEST BATH EVER! The views from the breakfast patio are breathtaking! Close to walk to town, near everything including roadway. Anna, is simply the most gracious host we have ever had in Europe. She could charge more for her rooms...the baked goods, her mother makes every morning went with us on our day trips, to Siena and Assisi. The breakfast is fantastic. We loved Il Colto!!

Room Tip: Although our room was on the roadside, we did not hear much, insulation is good and no traffic on th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are a young couple and stayed at Il Colto in August 2013. I will divide the review in topics to make it easier to follow.

LOCATION: Very well located. the BB is outside the city walls, just 2 min walk from the town and in the road Via Vecchia, where you can find some wineries. We have tried the Winery at Solentro, just 15 minutes walking from the hotel, and it was amazing. The view from the BB's balcony is very nice - a good place for a bottle of Chianti or Vernaccia wine at the end of the day.

FACILITIES: The room was clean and had everything we needed. Aircon also worked well. Outside the room there are tables where you can eat and enjoy a nice view of Tuscany's landscape.

STAFF: The only bad side of our staying. The manager was stressed during our stay, in our view due to personal issues in her family. We understand this, but at the same time we felt it was affecting her communication and service to us. Examples:

1 - When we arrived we have asked the manager for help on how could we reach by car to her hotel (GPS does not work in San Gimignano - forget it). She helped us, but emphasized that the directions were written in bookings.com and that we had created a problem because we came 2 hours before check in time, when actually we just wanted a place to leave the bags and not really go inside the room.

2 - When we checked out, I had asked the manager if we could use 30 min one of the tables at the dning area to eat something we had bought. The manager said that Check out was at 10:00 sharp and that immediately after we had to leave the BB no matter what, even though we had already left the room and gave the keys. In the end we left at 10:05 AM and had to eat our food just outside the hotel, inside our car, under San Gimignano's sun of 35 degrees. This was very upsetting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helviolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Apartment is clean and amenities work. Very conveniently located to neighbouring Tuscan towns. Pool and garden is very well maintained. Fantastic views all round. Service is more than excellent...personalised and extremely helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went there at the end of April.
It's a really nice farm house in a perfect location as it's just 2 minutes walk from the town centre.
Our room was clean and comfortable. A car park was available for free inside the hotel itself. We didn't have breakfast as it was not included, however I think €8 it's a bit pricy as normally it is around €5. There was a nice garden equipped with lounge chairs and outside our room a shared-terrace with tables and chairs for guest use. The owner was a really nice person and made our stay really plesant.
I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurasuper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Il Colto for two nights and would highly recommend this agriturismo for location alone: it is literally steps from the south gate of the city of San Gimignano. The room was large and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. One pleasant surprise were the well-kept gardens and grounds surrounding the inn. There were multiple tables and chairs for lounging or eating a relaxed picnic. Free parking was definitely a big plus. We especially enjoyed Anna, the owner's daughter, who took excellent care of us. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano
#12 of 29 in San Gimignano
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
#21 of 107 in San Gimignano
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
I Coppi
I Coppi
#7 of 67 in San Gimignano
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Fienile  Bed and Breakfast
Il Fienile Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 107 in San Gimignano
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#8 of 107 in San Gimignano
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Colto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Colto

Address: Via Baccanella 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $87 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Colto 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Colto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Colto San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing