We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Il Colto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Colto
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Il Colto for two nights, exploring the Chianti region by car (free parking = big plus!) during the day and enjoying San Gimigniano in the evening when most of the tourist buses had left. Our room was spotlessly clean and did not feel dated and worn-down like most of the other hotels we stayed at while in Tuscany. Like others have already mentioned, the location is perfect, two minutes walking from the entrance to the "centro storico" of San Gimigniano (lovely town!). We did not pre-order breakfast/meals so I cannot comment on those. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 1,984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Clean, comfortable room with ample-sized shower. Plenty of hot water. Good breakfast. Fantastic location only 2 minute walk from the south gate of San Gimi's walls. Free parking (which is important if you're planning a trip to San Gimi), secure, gated (owner provided a keyfob controller so we could get in at any hour). We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms. Book early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryL303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room was clean and cool, the bathroom was a good size, brilliant shower. This was the first place we stayed at and thought all breakfasts thereafter would be similar - homemade cake, bread and jams - sadly we were disappointed as Italians don't really do breakfast. MY only comment here would be that we had to ask for milk to go with coffee, again it seems italians drink it black.

The garden area was beautiful and tranquil, great views and would be lovely to sit there in the afternoon if you were staying more than 1 night.

Parking was on-site and free and the b&b was a short walk to the centre of San Gimignano. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find that Il Colto was so close to the city walls of San Gimignano - just a short walk away. The host was very friendly and helpful and she had a recommendation for a restaurant to eat Pici Pasta which was the best in Italy. I don't remember the name of the restaurant but she can certainly refer it to you. Her flowers were everywhere and were breathtakingly beautiful. Our room and bathroom was immaculate, very comfortable and quiet. There was plenty of parking and we always felt safe here. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we are ever back in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This place was great value with amazing views and short walk into San Gimignano for all the restaurants, nightlife and interesting culture.

Host was helpful. parking on site. nice garden to play with our toddler

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Kind if matter of fact welcome. The room was extremely clean, large, with a view over the small court yard and garden of the farm.
A step away from San Gimignano city gate and yet protected from the crowds disembarking the day trip buses.
I got there by bicycle, my wife joined me there by car, excellent parking space, even for a large vehicle, within the farm fence.
Good ambiance, good feeling. I like cats as the charming landlady does, particularly liked the big cat sleeping over the mail box.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Luc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Il Colto for one night during our visit to San Gimignano, and this was an unplanned stay where we just asked for a last minute vacancy. Anna, the owner, was very accomodating and allowed us to park in the car park way ahead of check in, whilst she prepared the room for us. The location of the B&B was fantastic, just a five minute walk into San Gimignano. There is also free parking outside the room which is great, as parking is not that cheap in San Gimignano (although one car park outside of town offers parking for 6 euros per day).

The room was great, very clean and fresh, and the bathroom was immaculate. The room was great value in comparison to some of the other places we stayed in Tuscany, when considering the cleanliness and location. There is also a great view of the town from the garden area, which again, was very well maintained.

If we were to visit San Gimignano again for a short stay on a budget, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Il Colto.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHOTOFAB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano
#13 of 29 in San Gimignano
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
#23 of 107 in San Gimignano
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
I Coppi
I Coppi
#6 of 67 in San Gimignano
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Fienile  Bed and Breakfast
Il Fienile Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 107 in San Gimignano
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Colto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Colto

Address: Via Baccanella 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $81 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Colto 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Colto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Colto San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing