We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$132
$116
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Volpaie(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$93
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sovestro(San Gimignano)
$99
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Collegiata(San Gimignano)
$222
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
$195
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vecchio Asilo(Ulignano)(Great Value!)
$110
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Renaie(Pancole)(Great Value!)
$107
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Molino di Foci(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
397
30
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
30
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classmeals preparedone bedroom apartmentrecommend iltuscan countrysiderestored villapam supermarketperfect tuscanthree nightsshort drivewonderful hostshome cookedthe location is perfecttwo week triphome basebeautiful placea wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 433 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2010

“I want to be back at Il Borghetto!” bellows from my wife from time to time. We traveled with our 11 and 13 year olds throughout Tuscany using centrally located San Gimignano as our home base. Il Borghetto provided the perfect setting. The villa owners were fabulous. Wonderful people with a passionate and caring attitude, creating a wonderful stay for us - amazing apartments, relaxing pool and grounds, wonderful food, helpful directions, and friendly conversations. We will go back in a heart beat, either with family or friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

If you looking for a home away from home nestled in a very quiet and peaceful part of Tuscany, Il Borghetto is your place. We found this place on Trip Advisor and booked after reading the reviews. The location is perfect if you intent to travel to Florence, Sienna, Chianti and Pisa. We did all that, as well as Volterra, Montelcino and Pienza. Day trips were easy and we always loved coming back to our little paradise at the end of the day. We ate outside on our private patio each morning and really enjoyed to absolute stillness of the surrounding area - only the birds could be heard. The meals offered 3 times a week are not to be missed. You will be given exceptional service, offered wonderful wines, learn about local dishes and attraction and enjoy every bite that Sandra and Richardo's mom so carefully prepares. All the apartments looked beautiful. We stayed in Fienile di Sotto - very spatious for 2 people (in fact 1 or 2 children could also quite comfortably stay here). We loved our apartment - the bedroom was very large as was the bathroom. Loved the antique country furniture and heating/cooling worked very well. Kitchen offered everything you need for your stay (have stayed in a few apartment in Europe is this one was the best equipped). The only suggestion I would make is to either not go during mosquito season or make sure you wear bug repellent most of the day. Mosquitos are gone by 8pm but they are vicious when they are out. Much more aggressive then our variety in Canada. Take time to enjoy the pool situated in the olive grove - heaven! 5 minutes from San Gimignano. Although you can't see it from the hotel, you will get the best view just 1 minute up the road. Our photos are as good as postcards! Thank you to all at Il Borghetto. You were so helpful and fun and made our trip unforgetable and cherished.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I will sing the praises of this place to the moon! http://www.ilborghettotuscanholidays.com/
We stayed there September 11-18, 2010 and I couldn't have been happier. Gorgeous place, we stayed in Scalina and it was beautiful! Our room was up a curved stairs and we loved it! Scalina has a patio that we enjoyed breakfast on while taking in the beautiful views of the valley, olive groves, and vineyards. If you take a little walk down the hill you can see a gorgeous view of San Gimignano. The pool was perfect for relaxing by and we even took a dip in it in the afternoon. We ate at the restaurant twice for dinner and that was some of the best meals we had in Tuscany! We also enjoyed live music there and I had a massage on the Tuscan hillside. We had a gps and the coordinates so it was not hard to find at all. The nearby town of Colle di Val d' Elsa was our favorite spot, such a quaint town and only 10 minutes from the villa. San Gimignano was also wonderful and only 15 minutes away. The hosts were so helpful from taking our suitcases to our room, to booking winery tours for us (we highly recommend Verrazzano tour!), they couldn't have been more helpful. Wifi was wonderful and helped us call our children for free through skype.
I just can't say enough good things about this place! I looked and looked for the PERFECT location....I wanted beautiful views, helpful/English speaking hosts, central Tuscany location, pool with views and I got it all and more with this place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed in the apartment Fenile De Sopra for 5 days in August. Il Borghetto is beautiful, the attention to detail is perfect. The building has been perectly restored and although its very grand it is also very cosy. We had views over the vineyards and a courtyard right outside we could sit and eat our own pasta and chianti. Sandra and Simona and partners are so welcoming and helpful, giving us ideas and information on places to go. The pool is big enough for the few guests to relax by. Its a fantastic location to visit so many cities, Pisa is 1hr 30mins away, Florence about an hour, Sienna a must see about an hour, and San Gimignano which is stuning 10 mins away! Its a great place to relax, a grown up place if Im honest, although there were some kids there, we were away on on our own and it was very peaceful and relaxing. WHen Mama cooks - eat there, the food is out of thei world, and Simona and Sandra have sent me some of the recipes as Im going to try to re-create our Tuscan dream holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CouchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The little trick is finding it. It has a beautiful setting high up on a steep, winding dirt road. The first time driving there was a little daunting, not bad after that. The drive is worth it though. The friendly Bimbi family have made this a little piece of paradise with lots of hard work and loving attention to detail. As others have said, this place is lovely from the apartments to the grounds. We enjoyed the meals prepared on two of the three nights they were offered. It was a great time to meet other friendly people from around the world. Our apartment was the Scuolo, with entrance off the main courtyard, so no steep drive or stairs and spectacular views out the kitchen and bedroom windows. We enjoyed the main courtyard for drinks and snacks with the other guests WHEN it wasn't raining. The weather was not good in May, when we were there. As other guests have said the heat was not on and it was a little chilly but there were enough blankets to keep us warm. We loved the apartment but the bed was not very comfortable, the mattress needs replacing, it sunk in the middle.
The only other small negative was spotty wifi reception. You need to use it in the courtyard which is not very easy to do when it's raining. You can also use it in the office but that is only open for a few hours in the morning. So if you need constant access to the internet, this may not be the place for you. If you want a beautiful place to relax and let the world go by, this is it.
Ask about the back way drive out to San Gimignano. We only found it on the last day after another guest showed it to us. It would have been nice to know about it earlier.

All in all, we loved it and hope we can return. Thank you Bimbi family for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank descantsopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews