We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, great food and excellent hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great food and excellent hospitality.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Il Borgetto is quite hard to find up an unmade road but it's very much worth the effort. It's a small estate of converted agricultural and residential buildings in the local vernacular. They are quite understated and finished to a high standard. Ours was simply decorated and equipped with basic cooking facilities. Each has a small patio area with a table to enjoy breakfast or an evening drink. Being on a hill, all the views are fantastic. We saw this straight away when we ate our first meal on arrival. Sitting in the loggia eating beautifully cooked local cuisine as the sun set over the Tuscan countryside was exquisite. The food, cooked on 3 evenings, is great value with a good selection of local wines.

We had a massage organised by the friendly and accommodating staff - very pleasant. We also had a lesson in Tuscan cookery from the gorgeous Patrizia with whom I'm a little in love. The pool is large and a good gathering place for the kids. We had an illicit skinny dip or two under the stars - I'm sure no-one minded... All in all we had a wonderful stay at Il Borghetto and would recommend it strongly to families and lovers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
161
175
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just (Aug 5th,2012 ) returned from a two week trip to Italy, one of included a six night stay at Il Borghetto. There are eleven apartments, part of a major remodeling done in the 2000 time frame, all with modern plumbing, airconditioning and nicely appointed. Our unit was two bedrooms and two full baths with both a dining room and a separate family room. The owners serve three evening meals over the course of the week, all traditional Tuscan country cuisine. We participated in two of the meals plus cooking class on Thursday. Food was superb, dining was outdoor looking over Tuscan hills and wine selections were very nice.

The location is excellent as a base camp to explore Tuscany. San Gimignano is ten minutes, Florence is easily accessed with 30-40 minutes, Sienna about the same and Montepulciano in about another 30 minutes. Although the complex, located in the country and off paved roads, is relatively easy to find, assume that you will benefit from a GPS unit in your rental automobile (which auto you will need because there is no alternative transportation).

All arrangements were handled directly between myself and the staff onsite via email, and all email inquiries received a timely response. Everything was as represented once we arrived and but be aware that the laundry facilities consist of a small washer and dryer, so plan accordingly!

We highly recommend the location and the family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLLinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Ciao David,
we want to thank you and your party very very much for your wonderful words about Il Borghetto.
We thank you for your enthusiasm and for enjoying your stay at the villa. That means a lot to us. We hope you will return and we wish you all the best.
Sandra Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a base in Tuscany from which we could explore the surrounding area without driving too far, but also where we could fully relax, spend the occasional evening in and generally relax.

Il Borghetto was the perfect place. The scenery is breathtaking, the accommodation is beautiful and rustic yet extremely comfortable and spacious. The evening meals that they offer twice a week are incredible value and very romantic. The hosts are incredibly helpful and nothing is too much effort.

It was a perfect place to stay, and I have and will recommend Il Borghetto to everyone visiting Tuscany. It is easy to get overwhelmed by the vast number of options for accommodation in Tuscany but we were so happy that we chose Il Borghetto and you will be too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_K13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Out of almost all of the places I have stayed all over the world, I have to say that Il Borghetto comes close to being the very best. The entire experience was amazing and we were very sad to leave. When we arrived it was everything I expected and more. The gardens are beautiful, the pool stunning and our apartment perfect for the 8 nights we stayed. The apartments are completely self catered (aside from not having a washing machine) which makes it perfect to do a combination of eating in as well as eating out. A great supermarket is about 10 kms away so a car to stay here is absolutely essential. Another great plus is the location, its only 5 minutes from lovely San Gimignano as well being close to Florence, Siena, Chianti and many more wonderful Tuscan villages. As I said we were very sad to leave and compared to all of the other places we stayed over our month in Italy Il Borghetto was the best by far. Simona and Sandra (as well as thier husbands) were lovely people, very helpful and more than happy to give advice on places to visit. All in all I can't wait to return to beautiful Il Borghetto.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Well located in Central Tuscany, between Florence and Siena. Beautiful family run villa is 5 minutes from San Gimignano. Accommodation is true Tuscan style with personal attention. Simple yet friendly, clean and everything available if needed. Cooking classes include local cuisine. Dinners with uniterrupted views over vinyards. We had a fabulous stay at Il Borghetto and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Il Borghetto with my family the first week of our two week vacation in Italy. It was great. The family who runs it is helpful, caring, hospitable and very nice. Our room lacked nothing (except a very minor bug issue). The dinners and wine where some of the best we had throughout our trip, and the cooking lesson was a highlight. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

After a week in Rome and Florence, we were ready for some R&R in the Tuscan countryside, but I never expected it to be this great. Everything totally exceeded our expectations. The location, the scenery, the rooms, the food, the staff, everything was perfect. I couldn't really have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: Register early for a room with a patio. All rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Solarjon,
thank you sooo much for your grateful words that make us feel very much happy as we put all our love and passion in our job and to be rewarded like this is the best we can get. Grazie.
Till soon hopefully!
Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,195 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Property: Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing