We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks in Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 weeks in Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked for 2 weeks here at the recommendation of a friend and could not have been more pleased with our decision. The staff are so friendly and Simone was so helpful in making our reservatons for the museums in Florence and resolving a problem with a bank when the cash machine did not dispurse the money and gave a receipt saying it did. Not sure I could have ever resolved that one on my own. They had dinner 3 nights a week as well and the food was excellent. We had a spacious apartment called Fienelle di Sopra on the main floor and the views of the countryside were outstanding. Only distraction was a brick lattice over the main windows that obstructed the best of it but otherwise wonderful. Having the small kitchen made it very affordable as we were able to self cater ourselves for the stay other than the nights they had dinner. A beautiful pool and lounge area was a delight on our days off and in the afternoons after touring the hill towns. Great location only a couple of miles from San Giminagno and within a hours drive of everything to see in Tuscany. Can't wait to go back when the pool is a little warmer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnienJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
154
165
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of an 11 day stay in late August / early September 2011 and what a wonderful experience it was too. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the self-catering facilities were excellent. The attention to detail ensured that our stay was comfortable and relaxing. Il Borghetto is located in a beautiful, quiet setting with marvellous views over vineyards towards the other side of the valley. Sitting outside in the evenings enjoying a wine with our dinner while watching the sun go down in these surroundings was just heaven. On other nights we enjoyed the company of other guests indulging in one of Mama's magnificent meals, served by Sandra, Nicola and Caesar. Unforgettable!
But we save the best for last.
Simona, Sandra, Riccardo and Nicola are truly the best hosts that you can imagine. Attentive to your needs, ever willing to help with your questions or concerns. They obviously enjoy their work and we particularly enjoyed our chats and their ready sense of humour. We had such a good time in their company and already miss them. We thoroughly recommend Il Borghetto and the Bimbi family to anyone seeking a Tuscan holiday to remember.
Peter and Julia Nash, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Ciao Peter and Julia,
many greetings from all our family!
It is so nice of you to say how you enjoyed!
We enjoyed your company so much, it was nice to meet you and help you to discover our country and italian people!
Trust to meet you again... good luck!

Bimbi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We (two couples) stayed in the Scalina apartment for four days in October 2011. It was all that we hoped for and more. The location itself is simply serene, beautiful, and quiet. The apartment had an adequate kitchen, providing all the kitchen utensils, dishes, etc. needed. The bathrooms were spacious. The bedrooms were very nicely furnished. The most appealing thing about the Scalina apartment is the private terrace overlooking the vineyards. It has an unbelievable view. The grounds are impeccably manicured. The pool is lovely. There is rosemary planted everywhere so it smells wonderful. The owners, Sandra and Simona, Riccardo and Niccola couldn't be nicer (sorry Niccola for getting your name wrong our entire stay...we think Niccola is the hardest working man in Tuscany, out early every morning tending to the grounds, and then serving dinner in the evenings). They were so gracious and helpful, offering suggestions for restaurants and directions. They treat you like their honored guests. Unfortunately, dinner was only available one night during our 4 day stay, but it was one of the best meals of our two week trip. It was a wonderful meal by candlelight with the most delicious traditional Tuscan food. We want "Mama's" recipe for ribolitta soup! It was definitely the best we had in Italy.
Hopefully we will be able to return to Il Borghetto in the future. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all. If you can't relax here, you're hopeless! My only fear with this review is that the next time we plan a trip, it will be booked up!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husand and I have just retuned from our fourth visit to Il Borghetto, and we intend to go back again. We' ve traveled extensively for years, and have never experienced such a winning combination of warmth, beauty, and thorough professionalism as we've consistently found at Il Borghetto.

The location is perfect--a ten-minute drive or three-mile walk along a peaceful road winding through some of the most exquisite landscape we've found in Tuscany--to San Gimignano, with its striking towers, and exciting mix of restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. Other historic hill towns are within an hour's drive or less (a car is definitely necessary), as is the lovely Chianti region. Or you can simply point the car North and arrive in Florence in forty-five minutes or reverse direction and find yourself in Siena in about the same time.

Though we love its location, what really keeps us coming back to Il Borghetto are the proprietors. Sandra, Nicola, Simona, and Riccardo restored the property with love and pride, and run it the same way. From our first encounter, when we managed to get lost (not an easy feat, as their directions are superb), and were guided in by Sandra with a marvelous mix of attentiveness and humor, we felt a kinship with the family that has only grown over the years. Without ever being intrusive, they are constantly concerned that their guests are enjoying their Tuscan experience, and are ready with a wealth of information and advice to make sure they do so. As a former teacher, I know how difficult it can be to make information you've imparted a thousand times seem fresh to new students, yet Sandra and Simona, who run the office, are masters at doing just that. I'd imagine every guest they've ever hosted wants to know how to get to the Chianti country, the hill towns; etc., yet they treat every request with such respect and eagerness to inform that you'd swear it was the first time they'd ever been asked the question. And Sandra even has her own hand-drawn maps ready! (Now if my husband and I would ever learn to follow them instead of going off on our own. . . . .). The entire family, including Sandra and Riccardo's mother, who prepares superb, traditional, not-to-be-missed dinners three evenings a week, possess this same caring warmth--not to mention marvelously fun-loving senses of humor!

The accommodations themselves are beautifully restored, yet cosy. We've stayed in a different one during each visit, and enjoyed them all. Each one offers striking views of the countryside, a well-equipped kitchen (we loved going to the nearby market and stocking up on its delicious cheeses, meats, produce, wines; etc. for breakfasts and a few dinners in), ample sitting room (a real plus the years we came with friends), and comfortable beds. And once you venture outside you find a gorgeous swimming pool situated at the highest point of the property to take fullest advantage of the stunning vistas below. Again, the entire family goes to great lengths to make sure that everything is running smoothly, even going so far as to run up and change a light bulb immediately when I'd mentioned one had burned out!

In short, I don't believe we could duplicate the warmth and pleasure we receive from Il Borghetto anywhere else. If we could give it more than five stars, we'd definitely do so.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with friends, the room with the large patio deck is wonderful for outdoor br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Elaine,
thank you soo much for your review , you had a nice word for all of us.
We enjoy so much what we do and we are glad that this reflects from the outside.
We will wait to meet you again at Il Borghetto!
Saluti
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Set on a hillside overlooking the vineyards, surrounded by olive and magestic cypress trees, with a dramatic view of the gorgeous Tuscan countryside, lies Il Borghetto, a Tuscan paradise. We have just returned from our sixth consecutive autumn stay at Il Borghetto and have already booked for next year. Our first stay was for one week, our second stay was for two weeks, and we have stayed for three weeks ever since. The accomodations are fabulous, having been decorated by Sandra, the co-owner and a professional interior decorator. The hospitality is incomparable. The family, Sandra, Simona, Riccardo, and Nicola treat each guest as if they were part of the family. They are always willing to make sightseeing suggestions, travel tips, reservations, and give directions. The location is perfect for touring the Tuscan area. It is located midway between Florence and Siena (about an hour's drive to either) and within an easy drive to the Chianti road. There are also at least a couple dozen small Tuscan towns worth visiting within a short drive, the closest being the medieval jewel, San Gimignano. The highlight of every stay at the villa are the three weekly dinners lovingly prepared by "Mamma", the mother of Sandra and Riccardo; each is a four-course meal of gourmet Tuscan cuisine, which is not to be missed. If you are fortunate, you may be there when Sandra, an accomplished singer and composer, performs a concert of her own original songs. Il Borghetto is a perfect spot to experience Tuscany in all of its splendor or to just relax and let your cares melt away. We will be back next year. If Tuscany is in your plans, you will find no better place to enjoy it than at Il Borghetto!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Carissimi Lemattler,
Thank you so much for posting your beautiful review, the words you write are soooo lovely and generous.
We can't wait to meet you again!

Take care,
Famiglia Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have just returned from our third stay at Il Borghetto and are already planning our next one!
If you are looking for a well located villa, this location is hard to beat. Set in the vineyards and olive groves of the Tuscan countryside, it is tranquil and relaxed yet close enough to San Gimignano that you can enjoy a stroll, some shopping or another coffee and gelato! The major hilltowns are within 20-40 mins drive so it is a great base for exploring this region.
The house has been lovingly restored with care for its incredible history and heritage (when you are there, ask to see the photos of the restoration) and finished to a very high standard. Rooms and apartments are spacious, well appointed and most have views and/or terraces and balconies to enjoy scenery. This is a 5 star property and is great value for money, especially compared with the hundreds of other properties on offer in this area. We paid extra for an apartment with a huge terrace so that was were we enjoyed our breakfasts and sundowners.... If you do feel like cooking, the kitchens in apartments have all you need and there is a supermarket close by.
The Bimbi family are special hosts - they are friendly, welcoming and attentive. They are also a great source of local information and can help arrange tours etc. 3 nights a week, mum and team cook dinner and this is a great treat - meals are traditional, local and delicious. You also get to enjoy the view from the outside dining area in summer!
Some tips: you will definitely need a car to explore this area. Pietrafitta winery is just down the road - try the Vin Santo.
Thank you, Bimbis, for creating a dream escape - your vision and passion really makes the difference.

Room Tip: Ask about best views or terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerys2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Emerys,
We love so much the review you wrote, all our family really put heart and soul to make the stay of our guests memorable and we understand that it was like that for you!
Grazie mille, we wait to meet you again.
Love,
Famiglia Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was our second stay at Il Borghetto. We so much enjoyed our first stay there - in 2009 - that we vowed to go back again. And we were not disappointed, on the contrary! The views are stunning, the location idyllic and our hosts (Sandra, Riccardo and Niccola) exceptionally kind and helpful. The rooms are well equipped and beautifully restored. When you sit by the lovely pool you smell the scent of lavender and rosemary. Sandra's mother cooks for the guests three times a week; don't miss it! Her ragú is divine; ask for the recipe. San Gimignano is great: apart from being a beautifully preserved medieval town it is home to the best icecream maker in the world, nice small enotecas or winebars where you can enjoy a glass of wine with some cheese or salami, good restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Ciao Irene S,
thank you so much for your lovely review.
We hope you will be back a third time in the future!! Mama is proud when I tell her that her ragù has a great success, cooking is her passion!
It is great to know you enjoyed food, drinks and location here, we are all so much pleased.
Have a great time and grazie mille.
Sandra and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#6 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Property: Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing