We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A curate's egg”
Review of Il Coltro

Il Coltro
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Coltro
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A curate's egg”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hosts most accommodating and atttentive - delightful people - and the physical place is in lovely countryside (about 20 minutes drive o/s San Gimignano) with great views. Shower works fantastically well! No soap was provided so be sure to take some. La Veduta and Cipressi are virtually identical (with the former having better and wonderful panaroamic views) but both have a poor upstairs bedroom with limited light and artifical light illuminates the downstairs bedroom and vice versa. Slightly depressing and I imagine that anybody staying here would find that their home gives a much higher standard than this, which is not normally what you want when on holiday. Rug in downstairs was dangerous as curls up at the edges. The gate opener was a bit sporadic in working when I had gone out for a walk without the car. Pool was lovely - but didn't get a chance to use it as the walking in the area is great.

Room Tip: La Veduta and Cipressi better for a couple using the downstairs only rather than for 2 sleeping spar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 422John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My mother and I spent a week at Il Coltro at the end of Sept, the accommodation is first class and the setting is just beautiful. Everything we needed was made available and all of the Tuscan sights that we wanted to visit were easily accessible. With views over San Gimignano and the surrounding vineyards this property exceeded all of our expectations. Mauro and his family, including Pongo were great hosts and my husband and I are hoping to return next year so that I can share the wonderful experience with him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Mauro and Donatella (and Pongo the dog) are the most wonderful hosts you could wish for.

Nothing was too much trouble for them. There was a large bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of chianti waiting for us upon our arrival. event though we didn't arrive until after midnight, Mauro and Donatella were extremely welcoming and ensured that we got settled in quickly.

We stayed in the large Gli Archi apartment, which very comfortably accomodated the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 teenagers). As it occupies the ground floor across one side of the house, it has the added benefit of feeling like it has a large private garden. The outside furniture was very comfortable and there was always a barbecue available to use.

The accommodation was lovely, rustic, simple and very clean with all amenities you need for a self catering holiday. Clean linen and plentiful towels were provided for both of the bathrooms and also for the pool.

The view from the farmhouse and from the pool of the famous San Gimignano towers, rolling hills, vineyards and olive groves is absolutely amazing. The gardens around the villa are also beautiful and very well maintained. Tuscany was experiencing a bit of a heat wave while we were there and we spent a lot of time in the pool, which Mauro looks after impeccably.

The house is ideally located for San Gimignano, Florence, Pisa, Siena, Volterra and more places to explore which Mauro is more than willing to share his knowledge on.

We would love to come back anytime and highly recommend Il Coltro as a base from which to explore Tuscany or for a chilling out holiday!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our stay at Il Coltro was amazing in every way!! Mauro, Donatella and Pongo (their dog) were such wonderful hosts who were always there to help us out with all of our needs (directions, great restaurants, etc). The villa itself is perfect! The grounds are beautiful with unbelievable views of the surrounding vineyards and of San Gimignano. The pictures do not do it justice! The pool was great, we used it every single day. We stayed in the Cipressi room and it was very spacious with a great kitchen that we used often! They also have bikes that you can use which was a great way to explore the surrounding vineyards. Thank you so much to Mauro and Donatella for a wonderful experience, we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giovi0332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Mauro and Donatella (and Pongo the dog) are the most kind and amiable hosts you could hope for. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely fruit basket and some spumante waiting for us upon our arrival.
Mauro spent a lot of time giving us recommendations for restaurants, providing us with maps and local knowledge as to what to do with our days in Tuscany, preparing bikes so that we could ride in the countryside and taking us to a local vineyard and olive oil producer which sold quality produce at very reasonable prices.
The accommodation was lovely, rustic and very clean with all amenities and the view from the farmhouse of the rolling hills, vineyards and olive groves is absolutely amazing. The gardens around the villa are also beautiful and very well maintained – we spent most of our time outside on the chairs taking in these fantastic surroundings. The pool was too cool to dip into for this time of the year, but I am sure would be welcome during the warmer months.
The location is really near to all the main attractions; San Gimignano, Florence, Pisa, Siena, Volterra and more, which Mauro is more than willing to share his knowledge on.
Our fantastic and idyllic visit was made very special by Mauro and Donatella’s care and attention to us during our stay. Would love to come back anytime and highly recommended for a chilling out holiday!

Room Tip: There are 6 apts that can cater to most group size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Only 10 minutes drive from the great San Gimignano, Il Coltro is an extremely nice and well maintained farmhouse. The apartments are roomy, the beds huge, the pool big (although the water could have been warmer!) and the garden made for romantic dinners.
The owners - Mauro and Donatella - are helpful and friendly. Il Coltro is very well located, within a short drive not only to San Gimignano, but also to Poggibonsi, from where one can easily go to Siena, Florence, Chianti etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PawelWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We've just returned from our second visit to Il Coltro and it was one of the best holidays we've ever had. The farmhouse is beautifully restored and the setting is stunning. Accommodation is first rate too; traditional tuscan style with beams and cotto floors - very spacious apartments with great views across to San Gimignano. What really made our stay though was the welcome we had from Luciana, Mauro and Donatella. We had a great laugh, and some lovely impromptu evenings where we all ate together Italian-style.

Fantastic memories - we'll definitely go back.

  • Liked — well appointed, clean, great views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Relton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
3.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#12 of 111 in San Gimignano
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
1.7 mi away
Podere Vigna del Sole
Podere Vigna del Sole
#70 of 111 in San Gimignano
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Coltro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Coltro

Property: Il Coltro
Address: Localita Ripa SNC, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Coltro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Coltro San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing