We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antico Borgo il Cardino
Ranked #17 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tuscan Retreat”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Antico Borgo is a quiet and beautiful place but it's strength is the staff. Monica, Lucia and Tomas (forgive me, I forget other names) go the extra mile to make you feel at home and make sure you have everything you need. Tomas speaks perfect English and the others will make a good effort. If you need directions ask Lucia, there's a reason they call her the "navigatore umano". Over our four days here we were able to cover a great deal of Tuscany. While it seems to be in the middle of nowhere it is actually very centric to many of the historic tuscan towns. We visited Siena, San Gimignano, Castellina in Chianti, Radda in Chianti and Florence. We even went back to Siena one day just for dinner at the Piazza. Then on our way back to Rome we stopped at Pienza and Montepulciano to close the Tuscan stage of our trip. We had room 22 which is isolated in one end of the property and has a very private outside area where we enjoyed wine and snacks purchased at a local shop in Le Grazie. In summary I would recommend Il Cardino to anyone with the time to drive around Tuscany but also looking for peace and quiet time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fantito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    66
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
140
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Trip advisor offers a long list of languages to write reviews in, but not romanian. This should change in the future.
This charming pension is located in a very peaceful and beautiful area, convenient to reach all major touristic points in the area. By car, Pisa 70 km, Florence 40, Siena 30, San Gimignano 10. Rooms are spotless clean. An advantage comparing with other places, the air conditioning was automatically starting at 14, so until evenings when we were coming back, it was perfect, and no need to keep it on for the night. By comparison with Provence in the same period of year, here it gets cooler in the night.
Breakfast is buffet, plenty and diverse, even for romanian style...:)) . Swimming pool also great, placed ideally with view to the famous towers of San Gimignano. Bring towels, the set is not included. The hosts(owners), Monica and Leandro, very kind people, ready to answer any time to our questions. And last but not least, Lucia, "il navigatore", who helped us a lot with precise indications about Florence( acces, where to park, so on) and all the region. Only Monica speaks English, but we got along eachother very well using our poor Italian. And a great opportunity to improve it.
The price per night, 95 EUR, might seem a bit high for some, but we recently went to Mamaia(5-8 July) for the same tariff, and we....cryed for the money spent, and for Tuscany...
Therefore, taking into consideration all the above arguments I warmly recommend this place !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I researched Trip Advisor long and hard before deciding on Il Cardino as we wanted somewhere close to San Gim, with a pool and aircon in the rooms. We were not disappointed. It is definitely worth going for the Superior rooms (which most of them are) as you get a small patio, we were lucky to get one of the more private patios, many of them open onto the public areas. The room was nicely decorated in a rustic style and the bathroom of a reasonable size, clean and with toiletries and a hairdryer. On the negative side the bed was very firm, not to everybody's taste. Breakfast was a cold buffet with enough choice. There is a small bar where you can get hot and cold drinks and ice creams. The pool is clean and large enough to swim, rather than just bathe, with very nice gardens around and some play equipment for kids. There is also a good view of San Gim from the hotel, 12km away. Whilst most of the staff can only speak Italian it was not a problem as they were very helpful and with a little effort we always managed to get by, the proprietor does speak english and he arrived at 10:00 each day. The villiage doesn't have much to commend it except one very good restaurant (Tre Archi) a couple of bars and a Tabbachi that seemed to rarely be open. I have read on other reviews comments about overlooking the prison and whilst it is true you can see it, it is 6km away.

So I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are looking for a relaxing stay in clean and pleasant environment with a good restaurant in walking distance and others a drive away.

Room Tip: Book direct via e-mail, request superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and spacious. The bathrooms are also very clean and come with nice amenities. The staff was so warm and welcoming. The breakfast was perfect. Although we didn't use the pool we sat by it under the veranda and enjoyed the beautiful view. I stayed here with a friend of mine and we really enjoyed it. I am sending my mother and her friend there because I liked it so much. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We spent one week at Il Cardino... It was amazing! The location over the hills of S. Gimignano offer a really beautiful view on San Gimignano. The service was excellent, the rooms really nice and lovely. And the people working there are really friendly, available... Our daughter was at the time 5 months old. Lucia, Leandro and the others were taking care of us, and asking if we needed something every time. Of course they were also able to understand when we needed our privacy, but if you want you can really feel like at home!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielesilvestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

For those who want to get out into the Tuscany countryside you could not pick a better location. Within 30 minutes of Sienna, Volterra, Colle Di Val D'Elsa and San Gimignano, all great medieval towns to visit. And also surrounded by many small wineries which offered wonderful hospitality during our 4 day stay.
il Cardino is a pleasant property, efficiently and happily serviced by the proprietors and staff. We enjoyed Monica's cheerful outlook at the sunny breakfast room each morning, and Leo was very helpful with bookings, including getting us Vatican tickets for later on our vacation.
The room was reasonable and the bathroom functional, clean and modern. We spent our early evenings on our little patio and enjoyed the views to San G. We could walk to the village of Castel di San Gimignano which had a small general store and a superb restaurant - Tre Arch (recommended!).
If you are coming to Tuscany with a car to explore then this is a great location. We were very pleased with our choice and recommend il Cardino.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PursersFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 6 nights and found the pictures online were nothing like this place. The room was extremely dark and it wasn't a place you could relax in, but the grounds were beautiful. Definitely not a place to stay in in the off-season. The breakfast was good, but it was the same every day - basic with croissants, coffee, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs and some fruit. The free WiFi they offer is only in the breakfast area and not in the rooms or outside near the pool area where it's nice to sit, so that was disappointing. We found the kitchen lacked a lot of basic utensils for cooking and so ended up eating out while we were there. The people are very nice, but only speak Italian so it was difficult to communicate. Note there are no washing machines on-site and there is only a self-service option in downtown San Gigmignano.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SpringtripinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 31 in San Gimignano
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
597 reviews
4.5 mi away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#31 of 67 in San Gimignano
112 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo
#23 of 67 in San Gimignano
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo il Cardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo il Cardino

Property: Antico Borgo il Cardino
Address: Loc. Il Cardino 35/C, 53030, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Antico Borgo il Cardino 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you wish to enjoy a holiday in Tuscany, nearby San Gimignano, with all the comforts and friendliness that this land is famous for all over the world, choose Antico Borgo il Cardino and you'll find this and much more.Antico Borgo il Cardino is on the top of a panoramic hill and it has been recently restored to offer 8 comfortable rooms and 2 apartments furnished in typical tuscan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Antico Borgo il Cardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Il Cardino San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing