We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds but very dark rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antico Borgo il Cardino
Ranked #19 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 6 nights and found the pictures online were nothing like this place. The room was extremely dark and it wasn't a place you could relax in, but the grounds were beautiful. Definitely not a place to stay in in the off-season. The breakfast was good, but it was the same every day - basic with croissants, coffee, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs and some fruit. The free WiFi they offer is only in the breakfast area and not in the rooms or outside near the pool area where it's nice to sit, so that was disappointing. We found the kitchen lacked a lot of basic utensils for cooking and so ended up eating out while we were there. The people are very nice, but only speak Italian so it was difficult to communicate. Note there are no washing machines on-site and there is only a self-service option in downtown San Gigmignano.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank SpringtripinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 237 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

A most enjoyable four night stay in this beautifully positoned B&B. A good sized and comfortable room with a tiny but usable bathroom set in lovely grounds with a patio area outside each room. Very hospitable proprietors and staff one of whom meets and greets guests in a wide range of languages. Within walking distance of the little village of Castel San Gimignano with its excellent Tre Archi restaurant and ten minutes by car to San Gimignano which can be seen from this property. Also within reasonable driving distance of any number of picturesque cities and towns. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. We had picked this b&b from pictures on the web and weren't disappointed. The view of vineyards and countryside is beautiful and the place itself very nice. We couldn't take advantage of it but there's a big swimming pool on the property which, I imagine, would be great for soaking in on a hot summer afternoon. The couple who run it are delightful and very helpful, even though their English is very limited. They serve a modified continental breakfast - it has more than enough choices of food to get you started on your day. You need a car to stay here because it's about a 15 or 20 minute drive from San Gimignano along a winding country road. The room was very clean, the shower great and the amenities nice. The only negative was that the lighting in the room was poor, making it difficult for us to read. I'd stay here again if I went back to San Gimignano.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosswycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Last June we visited Tuscany (Toscana) for the first time. We booked a charming place called Antico Borgo “Il Cardino”( www.ilcardino.it) with the help of a local booking agent, and we were not disappointed. The location of “Il Cardino” is very convenient – first on the small road to San Gimignano as you turn off from the Castel San Gimignano-Volterra road. The location is serene and rural, and very picturesque. The distance to San Gimignano is about 10 kilometers as the crow flies, and one can see the famous towers from “Il Cardino”. The location is convenient to reach Volterra, Florence, Siena and to visit the Chianti region. “Il Cardino” is family owned and run, and all the staff are very helpful and make you feel at home. Leandro helped us book advance tickets for the splendid Uffizi Gallery in Florence, saving us a lot of time. “Il Cardino” is embedded in the countryside scenery, compact, very well kept, neat and colorful, with beautiful flowers and bushery. We booked a “suite” with its own kitchen, small garden and balcony, and stayed there for a week, driving out on daily radius tours of Tuscany as fancy took us. “Il Cardino” provides a generous breakfast, and daily cleaning service. The weather was still rather cool, so we didn’t use the beautiful and large outdoor swimming pool, except for a “private” romantic poolside evening with wine and cheese and music. Groceries are available at a little shop in the neighboring medieval township of Castel San Gimignano. There is also a very nice restaurant there, although we never used it. The only drawback (depending on how you look at it) is that there is no Intenet access, except from the office computer…
At a price of 770 Euros for 7 nights we found it relatively reasonable for that time of the year in Italy, and can safely recommend “Il Cardino” to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We called it hidden heaven of Tuscany. Located up in small hill 20 minutes drive from San Gimingano town, it is a good location to enjoy the tuscan country fill in the morning before hitting to town. And the view from hotel to town is breath talking!!! Even so called B&B, this B&B gave us like we stay in a lovely resort with the huge tuscan garden, swimming pool and spotless clean room. The owners are so lovely Italian couple who gave you a feel of visiting a friend's house even though they can't speak much English. We were stunned with the choices of breakfast as if they were big hotel.
In summary, we didn't expect much about this place at all when we saw the pictures in their website. But when we actually arrived, the place changed our impression to their place to "Our Tuscan Heaven"

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdt9212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

It's a fantastic place, where you feel at home. The people there are fantastic and they make you feel as one of their members. Wonderful location in the middle of the nature.
Absolutely fantastic when travelling with children, you can cook there and silence and peaceful let them rest as home...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXELLSABADELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Very nice caring Staff, but only three stars for Location because you really Need a Car or scooter to get everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfischi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
5.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,372 reviews
6.3 mi away
Il Vicario
Il Vicario
#7 of 67 in San Gimignano
349 reviews
4.4 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi
7.2 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
671 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo il Cardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo il Cardino

Address: Loc. Il Cardino 35/C, 53030, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: $86 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Borgo il Cardino 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you wish to enjoy a holiday in Tuscany, nearby San Gimignano, with all the comforts and friendliness that this land is famous for all over the world, choose Antico Borgo il Cardino and you'll find this and much more.Antico Borgo il Cardino is on the top of a panoramic hill and it has been recently restored to offer 8 comfortable rooms and 2 apartments furnished in typical tuscan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antico Borgo il Cardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Il Cardino San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing