We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at La Fonte”
Review of La Fonte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fonte
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had several stays with Maria, the hostess at La Fonte, as well in the apartments on the first floor as in the apartment Rosmarin on the ground floor. Each one is different, but we enjoyed staying in every one of them. The last one was the ground apartment. It has a nice terrace overviewing the valley behind La Fonte. Inside the apartment, the thick walls protect well against the summer heat and sun. And if things get to hot on the terrace in the afternoon, the swimming pool or the small patio bring relief.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 619DavidD619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a great holiday, The apartments at La Fonte ( San Gimignano) were extreemly comfortable and we loved all the original features. The garden and pool were delightful and we could get to all the mainTuscan tourist centres easily.
The hospitality was superb.
Thank you Maria.
Hugh and Mary Herbert

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I stayed at La Fonte with my husband and another couple in a two bedroom two bath apartment on the second floor. We could not have been happier. From the moment we arrived until we left we were amazed at what a wonderful place we had found. The grounds are beautiful with views of the Tuscan hill side. We traveled to the Chianti region, Siena, Voltera, San Gimignano, and Lucca and of course Certaldo Alto while we were staying at La Fonte. All of the towns were in an easy hour or so drive from La Fonte and it was so nice to come back to our apartment. Maria was a wonderful hostess. She was always available, but respected our privacy. The apartment was beautiful and very well equipped. We enjoyed a trip to the Coop grocery and cooked dinner one night at our apartment. I cannot imagine a better or more centrally located place to stay for a visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dillopress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

La Fonte is an absolute gem for many reasons. First off, Maria is fantastic - very helpful and accomodating in everything we needed/wanted. You couldn't ask for a better hostess - friendly, always upbeat, helpful, and perfect English too! What a great spot in Tuscany as a home base to take in every town in the area. Four of us stayed 6 nights in total, loved the pool in the blistering heat of August, and the barbeque was awesome for steaks and suppers. Had the main floor suite that stayed very cool even with the heat outside. No problem in using it as a home-base for Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and many others - all within driving distance. We even took in the Cinque Terra from La Fonte (Maria was very flexible in having us skip one night and come back to La Fonte to finish our stay, mind you there was no one else in line for our suite, so it worked for both of us). I'd definitely recommend it to anyone that asks me. Internet and email booking was fantastic and easy. Would stay again, and again, and again...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EhCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

It's hot, really hot in August in Tuscany. But if you can brave the heat, La Fonte is perfect. Maria the owner lives on site and is a mine of useful information, fluent English speaker. The rooms are very very comfortable and well equipped. The pool is great, location perfect. We stayed with children aged 10 and 8 and it worked wonderfully. Do not hesitate. This place is great, the website is accurate www.la-fonte.com. If we were millionaires, we'd go for the weekend on a regular basis....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysticCTMysticmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed at La Fonte for 4 nights in September 2008 and it was a wonderful base for our exploration of Tuscany. Situated along a tree lined road only a few minutes out of the town of Certaldo, it provided a beautiful spot to relax and plan each day’s itinerary of searching out medieval towns and good wine on the back roads. The property itself was lovely with lots of grass, trees and a swimming pool. The apartment was very comfortable with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen/living room. It was exactly what we were looking for. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tlc_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Com vista para a piscina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fatima071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
5.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonte

Address: Via Canonica Badia Elmi 4, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
La Fonte San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing