We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Locanda Viani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Viani
Ranked #24 of 68 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I loved this place. It may not be for everyone as a car is most definitely necessary. It is conveniently within nice walking distance of the town center. I appreciated being able to wake with the lovely view of town from my window, which you obviously can't enjoy if you stay in town. Locanda Viani felt very homey with comfortable accommodations, free parking, breakfast included and an extremely helpful, caring and considerate host family. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and immediately enjoyed a refreshing local wine on the patio. Paola presented us with a lovely plate of local cheeses. Roberto went above and beyond to assist with information and directions for a day trip to neighboring town. Although we were disappointed that the resto was not open during our stay (Paola was about 81/2 months with-child!), The VIani's recommended a restaurant that was delicious and a good value for the quality. All in all I was very happy with this choice and would recommend it to independent travelers looking for a home-like environment to enjoy the beauty and bounty of the region. We intend to return so we can try Paola's delicious dishes and see Roberto's latest paintings.

Room Tip: The red room has a beautiful view of the town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyByTheSeatOMyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 106 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed at Locanda Viani for three nights in Sept 2010. Roberto was a warm, charming host who greeted us every evening upon returning from our siteseeing. Paola prepared the once/week guest dinner that was fit for a Michelin star restaurant. Their son, Cesare, helped Roberto to serve dinner. English is spoken, but Italian too to help learn it. Felt like we were valued guests in their home! We had the Red Room, which was clean, new, quiet, comfortable and had a terrific view of San Gimignano, which is within walking distance. Be sure to call Roberto for driving directions to the Locanda. Great place to also visit the quiet Etruscan town of Volterra or the towns of Chianti. Highly recommended if looking for a social, family hosted stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Tonnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were spoiled with a romantic & spotless room, with a private terrace offering 360 views of tuscan hillside. This alone would earns close to 5 stars. In addition, we experienced a culinary adventure from a personal gourmet chef Paola, plus guided by a travel expert, and immersed ourselves in daily tuscan life with daily history lessons from Roberto.

Words cannot express how comfortable and welcome we felt at Locanda Viani. It is the perfect mix of everything we imagined for our Tuscan get away. So close to San Gimi but not right in the mix. You can sneak back to your room for a quiet siesta, or lounge on the terrace and marvel in the changing colours of the day.

Breakfasts were always a highlight as Paola worked her magic. Amazing coffee, fresh breads, cheeses, meats and little treats (those bite size sandwiches were addictive!!!)

And of course, Cesare ... what a cutie pie.

Lastly, Roberto is definitely the host with the most. He went out of his way each and every day to make sure that we had everything we needed. Including a hand-drawn map, indicating an optimal driving route for our 2-day drive through all the major "must see" spots in Tuscany. I can't imagine what our drive would have been like if we had set as we had intended with a basic tourist map.

We cannot wait to go back! Do yourself a favour and book it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PecorinoAndPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. Roof top terrace attached to our room afforded wonderful views of the Tuscan hills and it is an easy walk into San Gimignano.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetLagged2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Nice, Spacious rooms with amazing views of San G and the surrounding picturesque Tuscan countryside.
Friendly family owners who spoke only Italian, and putting mine to the test. They are a chef, a former artist and a cute bambino and give the B+B personality.
It is a bit pricey but worth it for its many attributes.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank dphender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at Locanda Viani for four nights during our honeymoon trip to Italy. Roberto, Paola and their adorable son Cesare were wonderful hosts! Our room was beautiful and we had a private terrace with a view overlooking San Gimignano. On our second night, Paola cooked a private dinner for us, and we shared a bottle of Roberto's homemade wine- even Cesare helped serve the dinner! The setting for dinner on the patio was picturesque and we agree that the meal was the best food we have ever had! We were only a short walk to San Gimignano, which was an incredibly charming city. We'd go back in an instant and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irvinetraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I've recently spent a lovely tuscan vacation with some friends at Locanda Viani and we were incredibly impressed; it exceeded our expectations! We were welcomed by the owner and painter Roberto Viani, a great host, that gave us countless useful tips for our visit. The rooms are very elegant and comfortable, the beds are gorgeous, we slept wonderfully. The location is perfect too, just few metres from San Gimignano centre, and that's the perfect base to visit art cities like Siena or Florence. I'd advise to book your dinner at Locanda Viani, food and wine are unique, we tasted delightful typical tuscan dishes. I can't wait to come again and relax in this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ele-tuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#3 of 68 in San Gimignano
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Torre Margherita
Casa Torre Margherita
#20 of 68 in San Gimignano
67 reviews
4.1 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 68 in San Gimignano
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Il Vicario
Il Vicario
#7 of 68 in San Gimignano
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Viani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Viani

Address: Via Lazzeretto, 44, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: $152 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Viani is in one of the most beautiful areas of San Gimignano, in a very quiet and secluded position on the top of a hill, only 300 metres away from the historic town centre. We will be pleased to have you at the Locanda and experience with you the essence of our traditions.Roberto Viani, his wife Paola and his son Cesare truly welcome you. They place their splendid holiday home at disposal of all those who love Tuscany and would like to discover those places and traditions that only a friend on the spot may know. Only 300 metres away from the historic town centre.- Locanda Viani has 4 very comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning, internet free ADSL and a small wine bar.- The kitchen looks like an old grocery where every day revives fragrances and savours of past times.- The hall is a small art-gallery where some works by Roberto Viani are exhibited. The entrance has been furnished with pieces of furniture and glass cupboards which are examples of the best Tuscan handicraft. A beautiful terrace surrounded by a garden from which you can enjoy the view of San Gimignano. Together we will have the opportunity to prepare your dinner and become acquainted with the world of Tuscan wine, olive oil and cheese by tasting a selection of products or visiting those producers who have considered quality as the main goal of their life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Viani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Viani San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing