We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Place and Beautiful People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vicario

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Vicario
Ranked #5 of 64 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place and Beautiful People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed at Il Vicario in June, 2014 for two nights with my brother and sister. We had an amazing time at this b&b. I have had a b&b in Asheville, NC in the US for the past ten years, so I know how important it is to offer top notch service and hospitality. Fulvio and Katia are great examples of this kind of service. Our triple room was comfortable (except for the noisy bathroom fan), the food was delicious, the service was great and we loved it! We also took Katia's cooking class which was great fun and delicious. I highly recommend this b&b and the cooking class. In fact, my husband & I are going to Italy with friends in September, 2015 and we will be returning to Il Vicario!

Room Tip: Take the cooking class! Dinner is also offered at an additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiStrelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    42
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
190
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Tuscany. We took a cooking class with Katia at Il Vicario. We had a little trouble finding the place, but I think that was more driver error than anything else. The location is perfect for anyone staying near San Gimignano or Volterra. Katia is a great teacher, making everything so simple to understand and complete. The food we made was delicious. Recipes easy enough to make by myself when we left. We spent a few minutes at the end with Fulvio who runs the B&B and he was wonderful. They were both kind enough to offer some suggestions for other local things to see. Definitely recommend this class to anyone looking for a Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traficante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I went to Italy for our 30th anniversary. This class with Katia was the highlight of our trip. We spent the afternoon cooking (and eating) with Katia and her uncle Fulvio. She was an excellent teacher, giving us a lot of hands time so we knew we could make these dishes for our family when got home. The food was excellent. We have made many of the dishes since our return and talk often of the fun time we had in her kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had a lovely day at the Ill Vicario cooking school. Katia and Fulvio are very welcoming. Katia is extremely knowledgable about Tuscan food. We made many things which were simple and delicious. Our lunchtime feast was accompanied with tasty local wines. I also appreciated the recipe book to take away too. This is great value and you are sure you have a wonderful day out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was surprised with a trip to Il Vicario with (3 levels of cooking lessons) for our wedding anniversary.
We had the best time ever...Fulvio is welcoming, Fab tour guide and a lot of fun. Katia was my expert cooking teacher and friend. For 3 days we cooked together preparing over 15 menu items. She was amazing as a teacher and a totally sweet person! She has answered questions in my emails after about recipes and more. Il Vicario is such a lovely place to stay as a hub and relaxing refuge from everything rushed. Clean, confortable and friendly. Did I say how fantastic their hospitality is? Great Friends and Great food and drink! So much to do close by. We were there 4 nights with day trips daily and of course my cooking lessons every evening. The memories continue....

Room Tip: We opted for the apartment...lots of room and privacy! And a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I loved all of Italy but this was our absolute favorite part of the trip! Other guests we met at the B&B extended their stay at Il Vicario just like us because you can truly feel the essence of Tuscany. From this little gem you can branch out and go on day trips to San Gimignano or three other walled cities within an hour or so. Fulvio and Katia have fantastic recommendations and will help you firm up a loose itinerary with wineries, views, scenic drives, etc... but here's the clencher. Each evening as you retire from all the walking feeling overloaded with culture, museum fatigue, driving around, wine, etc... you get to retreat to the B&B where they cook you a fantastic dinner which is filled with great conversation from both other guests and the host! The price is very reasonable and the home cooked food comes out slow which in any other circumstance would be a bad thing. But here it is paired with wine, apps, conversation and a few additional courses plus dessert! At the end of this couple hour experience we felt like we were in complete zen! We repeated it three times and would have kept going if we could. We can't wait for our next visit! It is obvious that Fulvio found his dream job! His warmhearted nature and genuine positive attitude lift the room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic but ask for the rooms over looking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoOrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you don't have family in Italy, stay here, you will feel as if you do. Wonderful hosts, charming, clean B&B, comfortable bed. We had their home cooked dinner twice during our stay and took part in the cooking class. Super good. They went over the top to help us with a travel difficulty and made our 5 night stay in Tuscany the best!! Great location for exploring Tuscany with as much help as you want from Fulvio and Katia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANNEHBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#8 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 64 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casolare di Libbiano
Casolare di Libbiano
#4 of 64 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Vicario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Vicario

Property: Il Vicario
Address: Via Sant'Andrea 1, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Vicario 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Il Vicario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Vicario San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
Il Vicario Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing