We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Il Vicario cooking school (at the Il Vicario Hotel)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Vicario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Vicario
Ranked #6 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Il Vicario cooking school (at the Il Vicario Hotel)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband & I spent a day with Fulvio at his cooking school located on site at Il Vicario... what a great experience.... I highly recommend Il Vicario if you want to learn how to cook like a proper Italian mama!!

The wines that are served thoughout the lesson are delicious (and plentiful) and the actual meal that you all sit down to enjoy at the end of the lesson is incredible. The food is authentic and simple but jam packed with flavour and colour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Mollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    42
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
194
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

During a whirlwind 2.5 week trip through Italy, we were lucky enough to book a 3 night stay at Il Vicario right in the middle of our journey. It turned out to be a perfect place to step back, relax, and enjoy some quiet time in Tuscany. The best part of an incredible visit was our hosts, Fulvio and Katia - incredibly warm, friendly, and hospitable. Each day we were there, we spent time at the pool overlooking a picturesque Tuscan hillside, and enjoyed the wonderful dinners prepared by our hosts and served on the patio. Twice we asked Fulvio to prepare lunch for us, which he was glad to do and served to us in the garden sitting area. Katia led a cooking class where we made homemade pasta and saltimbocca (among other things), and we have since made them at home several times. It was a very laid back and relaxing part of our trip, and a short (10 min?) drive to San Gimingnano. The grounds and rooms are rustic and comfortable, exactly what you would expect in Tuscany. We could not recommend Il Vicario more highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a delightful three days at Il Vicario. Katia and Fulvio were welcoming and the room was comfortable and very nice. We took the cooking class with Katia and we learned quite a bit and it was clearly one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The B&B is conveniently located just a short drive outside of San Gimignano and it was very easy to get around. Breakfast with Fulvio was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had the best time with Fulvio & Katia, the most friendliest people. Did the cooking class with Katia and it was amazing...learned so much about simple cooking which tasted fantastic....Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor_Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a lovely holiday here two years ago and just couldn't wait to return .
Fulvio and Katia were very welcoming and we had a great room at the back of the hotel this time.
The weather was too hot for us this year but we had the pool to relax by and we just moved a little slower and did a little less than we would normally have done.
We stayed 4 nights and ate there each night . The food is just fantastic, 4 courses ,matched wines and great conversations with other guests from around the world.
Thank you Flavio for the lovely bottle of wine you gave us to celebrate our wedding in December and we loved the pictures of Katias own wedding in September .

Room Tip: The apartment is very large and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Like the Curate's egg it was good in parts. Location was pleasant and the fact the swimming pool is slightly away from the hotel means it feels quite private. Hosts Katia and Fulvio are very pleasant. The breakfast has some choice but didn't inspire me. If you happen to retire to bed early to sleep be aware that other guests may still be laughing and talking outside and you may wish to take earplugs to reduce the noise which can be easily heard in bedrooms and can last into the night. Be sure to enquire about the cost of evening meals before you eat. If you look on the google maps you may notice the hotel is next to another building that is being renovated. Swimming pool had dead insects in the bottom of it which weren't cleared away during our stay and the pool liner rim (at water level) has a yellow stain around it which could be easily cleaned off by owner. These aspects took the edge off what would have been a better stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel187261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in Tuscany in May 2012, staying in San Gimignano as our base and taking regional day trips in our rental car. The sun was bright and the temperature was about 70 degrees on May 8 as we drove from San Gimi to Il Vicario for our cooking lesson. We were greeted by Katia about twenty minutes before our lesson was to begin. We chose to walk around outside, taking in the fantastic views of the vineyards and olive groves in the distance that were drenched in sunlight. In short, the setting at Il Vicario is perfect. If we return to the area, we will likely stay at Il Vicario.

When the starting time for the lesson arrived, Katia informed us that it would be a private lesson because nobody else had reserved the day - - it would be just Katia and me and my wife. Katia was warm, personal and fun. I’m not much of a cook although my wife is. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our six hours at Il Vicario. We made two types of pasta from scratch (picci with eggs and bowtie pasta without eggs), bruschetta, a sausage ragu with the picci, a white bean pasta dish with the bowtie pasta, saltimbocca (chicken and prosciutto) and tiramisu for desert. All of this was drawn out over an enjoyable several hours with great conversation with Katia, and Fulvio dropped in occasionally as he was busy with several errands around the premises (mostly cleaning and playing maid for the B&B!!). We truly feel like we got to know Katia very well over the course of the day and have even invited her and her husband to drop in and see us when they come to the states. The best way to say it is that we feel like we made two new friends in Fulvio and his niece, Katia.

As we cooked the various dishes, we ate them in the dining room at the B&B with Katia, Fulvio and two guests who were staying at the B&B and who previously had been relaxing on the patio in the warm sunshine with a bottle of wine. Fulvio engaged us in conversation while we ate and welcomed us with open arms. Overall, this was definitely our favorite part of our Tuscany adventure. We really enjoyed getting to know Katia and were able to learn more about the region, food, and culture through her local knowledge. The entire day was just a delightful experience. I have no hesitation in whole heartedly recommending the cooking class at Il Vicario!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzouRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casolare di Libbiano
Casolare di Libbiano
#4 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Torraccia di Chiusi
Torraccia di Chiusi
#3 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Vicario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Vicario

Property: Il Vicario
Address: Via Sant'Andrea 1, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Vicario 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Il Vicario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Vicario San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
Il Vicario Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing