We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location within easy walking of San Gimignano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We had a quadruple family room which was a double with two single beds, we stayed for 2 nights and managed fine but any more nights would have been a bit of a squeeze as the room was quite snug with all the beds in it. The pool and views are beautiful, the grounds of the hotel leave lots of areas to quietly sit and read or eat. The owners really have thought about what guests may want and this is a lovely hotel that ticked all the boxes for my husband and myself and our 2 daughters aged 13 and 10.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, where we recently stayed for 2 nights to sample the Tuscan countryside. Our air-conditioned room was small (with a tiny bath) but was well-appointed, even down to providing a corkscrew! However the grounds were lovely; there is a reasonably-sized swimming pool too. Breakfast was served in the courtyard with views of typical Tuscan countryside. The walled city of San Gimigniano is about a 5 minute walk, a bit too touristy for our liking, but we found some quieter areas (and bars).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 184Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We wanted somewhere walking distance to restaurants while being able to enjoy views of the Tuscan countryside - the Villa Belvedere provided this perfectly. Plenty of carparking, a pool to cool of and lovely, relaxed atmosphere and grounds. We spotted fire flies in the backyard in the evening and enjoyed every night in the ancient-walled town. So wonderful! Not flashy, but comfortable and easy. Staff were very helpful and approachable. Wi-Fi in rooms 'OK' but in common area very good. Great Pool and lots of outdoor areas to enjoy the views of countryside.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the property are quiet and have views across the countryside.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezFeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We love this hotel, we have been back at least 7 times for our main summer holiday. The family are wonderful and take pride in maintaining all aspects of the hotel personally in a very chilled and welcoming way. We find it very relaxing, the pool area is clean and well maintained as are the rest of the gardens with some lovely little nooks and crannies to sit and relax in and enjoy a chilled glass of the excellent local wine, all this and just a 10 minute stroll to the lovely San Gimignano. Also very good base for exploring Tuscany and it's beautiful cities and countryside. The breakfast is very good and the homecooked evening meals are excellent and not to be missed in lovely surroundings with views over the rolling Tuscan hills. This is a true Tuscan gem and we highly recommend it and hope to return for many years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very pleasant stay! Walking distance to San Gimignano and a small pool which meant that even the kids liked it. We appreciated that the hotel has only few rooms which gives a quiet impression. Owner family is very nice! It helps to make the stay very enjoyable. Pleased with acccomodation and good food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my wife stayed there for one week, and we had read all the positive reviews on internet
before we made our choice. We where not disappointed after the stay, it was perfect for us.
The staff was very friendly and service minded. It is a 10 minutes walk in calm surroundings to the town center (Piazza Duomo). The room was nice and clean. Swimming pool in the corner of the garden with stunning view over the landscape. Very charming garden with small furniture groups. 100 m from the hotel there was a little grocery shop, perfect when you wanted to have picnic in the garden or bring some food on a walking tour in the lovely surrounding of San Gimignano. You could buy wine at the hotel. The atmosphere was very relaxing. If we go to Tuscany another year we will stay at Villa Belvedere in San Gimignano again. It´s perfect situated for day-trips to other interesting places in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed a second time at this hotel and were not disappointed.
It is very good value for money and the on site parking is a big plus feature.
The hotel and gardens are tradional Italian with an excellent and clean swimming pool.
The rooms are of average size, very clean but maybe a little dated.
The staff are wonderful and really make you feel welcome.
The breakfast is more than adequate with something for everybody.
We will definitely be going back and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range: $91 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Via Francigena just 500 meters from the historic center of San Gimignano, Villa Belvedere blends a modern, completely-refurbished interior with the unaltered charm of a 19th century villa surrounded by picturesque gardens. The family-run hotel, which boasts a swimming pool and private car park, is just 10 minutes walk from the town centre and Important areas of historical and cultural interest, including Florence, Siena and Volterra, are a 40-minute drive away. Guests can exchange the noise and chaos of the city for a holiday destination characterized by culture and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Villa Belvedere San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing