We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in san gimignano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in san gimignano”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the villa belvedere in June. The hotel is perfectly situated about 5 -10 minutes uphill walk into the town. Parking is a huge issue in San gimignano so the free secure parking on site is a real bonus. The hotel is a small friendly family run establishment with great views over the countryside. It has a lovely outside area with large clean pool to relax after a hard days sightseeing. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was spotless. Two negative points. The shower in our room was very small and had nowhere to put soap shampoo etc. Secondly a kettle in the room is required. Most hotels nowadays provide a kettle with tea/coffee making facilities. Overall good value in this expensive area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    74
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My Wife and I have stayed at the Belvedere on a number of occasion and will certainly be returning. It is a small family run hotel providing easy walking access (uphill) to San Gimignano and is a superb centre for visiting Tuscany. Free Parking is an added bonus as parking in San Gimignano can be expensive
The food is basic but well prepared and there are many superb restaurants within 10-15 minutes walking distance.
The rooms are traditionally furnished albeit the bathrooms, though clean and well equipped, are a bit on the small side.
I would not hesitate recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms, which, although a bit more expensive, are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David186222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We only stayed the one night but could easily have stayed longer. The short walk to the town centre highlights the fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside and the free parking is a welcome bonus. The rooms are spacious but the showers can be a bit tricky for space. The restaurant was lovely and we can recommend the minestrone soup. The staff are wonderful and extremely friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

So this villa is about 500m-1km from town centre, in a decent walking distance. Has its own huge parking for guests, rooms are big, clean and very beautiful, only the showers are a litle bit small.. Food in their restaurant is excellent and definity try their house wine, its 8€ a bottle! On our way out we wanted to buy another one for us, and they lowered the price to 5€! Staff friendly and polite!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenj Gradec, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are returning to Villa Belvedere for several years now - and for reason. This is a small hotel located in beautiful Tuscan house, surrounded by lovely garden. Free supervised parking place, swimming pool, air-conditioned rooms, excellent breakfast. And - most of all - a very friendly and welcomming staff. Hotel is located a short walking distance from the old city of San Gimignano, away from the tourist crowds, but close enough for several daily trips to the city. Also a great starting base to explore the surrounding countryside (by car, on foot or bicycle) and all of Toscana. If you ever run out of ideas for the trip, just ask the owners! We have suggested Villa Belvedere to our friends in the past and all of them were satisfied.
We are definitely comming back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SRainer202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penne Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Belvedere on two occasions, both en route either to or from the UK, staying just one night each time. The rooms were comfortable and the staff were very helpful. On the downside, the breakfast was very bland on each occasion. Although there is an on-site bar we preferred to explore the beautiful and fascinating town of San Gimignano. As we prefer to make our anual return trips to the UK as interesting as possible, we don't think we will be back this way for two-three years; but if we did decide to one day travel this route again, we would not hesitate visiting Hotel Belvedere once more.

Room Tip: The two rooms we stayed in were very good. The beds were comfortable, although the shower rooms coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Located just outside the City Walls the Bella Belvedere is an ideal base with which to explore the town. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. An ideal base to explore the surrounding area. Sienna, Pisa, Asisi etc. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul121h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
601 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#12 of 31 in San Gimignano
329 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Property: Hotel Villa Belvedere
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Via Francigena just 500 meters from the historic center of San Gimignano, Villa Belvedere blends a modern, completely-refurbished interior with the unaltered charm of a 19th century villa surrounded by picturesque gardens. The family-run hotel, which boasts a swimming pool and private car park, is just 10 minutes walk from the town centre and Important areas of historical and cultural interest, including Florence, Siena and Volterra, are a 40-minute drive away. Guests can exchange the noise and chaos of the city for a holiday destination characterized by culture and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Villa Belvedere San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing