We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went there as part of a Tuscany day tour. It was AMAZING!!! The views were wonderful. The meal was incredible. 5 courses with wine at every course. Everything we ate was produced on the farm. The hospitality was second to none. The food seemed to be never ending. Now that I know they also have rooms for overnight stay, I will return for sure. If you are visiting San Gimignano it is worth the side trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelsGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    55
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
131
297
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to this amazing place. We always feel like we are visiting old friends when we are at Il Vecchio Maneggio. Tiziana is just that kind of rare, authentic person that are so difficult to find in this fast world we live in. Il Vecchio Maneggio is a brilliant place to relax and enjoy the bounties of the earth, namely olive oil, wine and honey which are all produced on the farm. These are accompanied by Tiziana's excellent cooking. Whenever we visit with friends they all tell us what a great place this is . Tiziana, Mauro and all the family at Vecchio Maneggio love what they do and this is reflected in the way they treat their guests. They go that extra mile to make sure that your visit is a memorable one. I highly recommend this place to those who are after a relaxing break with good food, great guests and above all amazing hosts. Well done Tiziana, Mauro and everyone at Il Vecchio Maneggio. Until next time, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentofte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent a great 4 days at the farmhouse. The atmosphere is friendly and easy-going, everyone seems to enjoy what they are doing and hospitality is experienced as very genuine. Our room was simple, but clean and everything in good order (incl. the aircon). Our daugther enjoyed the horseback riding, and for us dinner was the highlight of the day. 5 courses with a genuine touch - no fancy cooking, but the real thing. Very simple - put fantastic local products and very fantastic taste! Every evening we were seated (yes, the lady of the house tells you where to sit!) next to new people from all over the world. Could sound kind of "pushy", but when you are there it all comes together as a great experience. We would love to go back - only fear is that next time will not be just as good...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I don't even know where to start with this review, because our stay at Il Vecchio Maneggio surpassed all of my expectations. My mom and I stayed here for 4 nights here with Tiziana based on the rave reviews, and couldn't have been happier with our visit. Her and Eliza, her assistant, are warm and inviting, and will drop everything to make sure that you're comfortable and happy. We arrived to a glass of wine, produced on the farm, and enjoyed exploring the farmhouse and surrounding land. We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, which was honestly the only disappointment of the trip - our bed was kind of uncomfortable, but we were able to pad it with additional blankets to build up the mattress. It was wonderful to sit out on the chairs near the pool and read in the late afternoons with a view of the countryside. It's breathtaking.

What you will never forget are the dinners with Tiziana and her husband. What an amazing experience. Sitting with travelers from all over the globe enjoying the best food I've ever eaten. The meals were almost too much, as you are stuffed to the brim after almost 3 hours. We were lucky to have the best dinner companions, making fast friends with the other travelers staying at the farmhouse or down the road. We were so sad to leave at the end of our stay, and will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Came here for dinner on the recommend of a hotel down the road.

I eat a lot of Italian food, and this was by far the best Italian meal I've ever had - it was brilliant. All ingredients made on the property, local endless wine. Local specialities. Really convivial atmosphere, great fun. If I'd stayed in the hotel there is no limit to the amount of weight I would have put on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Changdazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a brilliant time at Vecchio Maneggio. Food was delicious for breakfast and dinner and we loved meeting some very interesting people. Location is fantastic with amazing views and a good walk to San gimignano. Loved the local produce including honey, saffron and wine and oil. We are still enjoying it all at home! Also went horse riding which was fun, although even if you are experienced note that the Pace is a walk only. Although the horses are pretty forward going and definitely not plodders.

Vecchio Maneggio is a real farm and if you are looking for luxury it is not for you. But if you want clean, basic rooms, comfy beds and amazing hospitality - go there! Also remember you are in Italy, we sometimes could smell cigarette smoke in our room, probably through the fan in the bathroom. We didn't let it bother us as we loved the place so much.

Tiziana and the family are amazing and make you feel really welcome. They helped us every morning to plan our day. Lots to visit and see in the area.

Enjoy the trip but be prepared to eat lots!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've just returned from a wonderful honeymoon in Tuscany and I stayed for 7 nights with Tiziana, the host of Il Vecchio Maneggio. Even if we heard a lot about her and her famous dinners, the real experience exceeded expectations.

We were welcome even from the start with a nice cup of wine and a very nice and clean room, where the air conditioning was already working to preserve a nice temperature for our arrival. The hosts were extremely nice and thoughtful all the time and tried to make us feel like home...we did :)

The most interesting and recommendable experience is the dinner, when Tiziana cooks classic Tuscan food, with 5 courses...it's a real fest! She serves also cheese with a lot of types of honey from her own production, a combination of tastes most unique.

What impressed me the most was the fact that when we wanted to go and eat lobster, somewhere on the coast, she and her son were kind enough to call to different restaurants they knew, made sure they had fresh lobster and made even the reservation for us. They even told the owners to treat us nice because we are in our honeymoon and to cook nice dishes, as it's the first time we eat lobster. :) It was indeed like this, the restaurant was in a nice bay and the chef was excellent.

I would deeply recommend the place for any type of trip. It is in the middle of everything, so you have a 20-60 minutes car drive to any place like Sienna, Florence, Montepulciano etc. it is very conveniently located and very close to San Gimignano, a wonderful small city.

Moreover, you can have a horse ride through the vineyards. It is very nice.

However, if you want to order food from a menu, eat french fries or have a table for you own, this is not the place for you. It is a real typical Italian experience, you eat together with all the other guests, socialize and have the food Tiziana decides to serve that evening.I loved it but some might not.

Also, the sound proof of the rooms is rather poor, so if there are some noisy guests, you might not sleep that good :) This is the only downside of the accommodation.

Hope this helped :) Have a nice trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 111 in San Gimignano
411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio

Property: Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio
Address: Loc. Sant' Andrea 22, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming typical farmhouse, whose name could not be different from "Il Vecchio Maneggio" (the old Horseback Riding Centre), set on top of a hill, enjoys lovely views over the Tuscan countryside. The Pieraccini family, the owners of this organic farm, have always lived here, working the land, rearing horses and keeping bees. The old farmhouse, which has been recently restored retaining the original features of this typical Tuscan country house, today can accommodate guests in the family-run agriturismo "Il Vecchio maneggio," which offers 5 comfortable rooms; the fully equipped kitchen where Tiziana, an experienced and excellent cook, transforms the farm products and other local specialties into delicious meals, served in the large dining room whose patio doors enjoys lovely views of the medieval town of San Gimignano and of the surrounding countryside. Guests are free to discover the activities and the daily life at the farm such as harvesting, picking the olives, extracting honey, feeding horses and other animals of the farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing