We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and clean accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple and clean accomodations”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The room was clean and spacious. The place was a little difficult to find. We never really could figure out if it has an address. I would email Alessio before you leave and get instructions on how to get there. We had a Tom Tom and without an address, it is quite useless. Perhaps the RV park across the street has an address. The family is very nice, but we spoke no Italian and that was a little frustrating. When we first arrived, Alessio was not in town, so it was a little confusing. His father took our passports and gave us the keys. We were a little nervous to be handing over our passports, so he called Alessio, who explained he would need to make copies and give them back to us the following day. Alessio returned the following day and invited us to breakfast, even though our room did not come with breakfast. HE was a very welcoming and kind person. I think his parents were too, but we couldn't understand what they were saying...Alessio let us use his computer and also recommended some great restaurants in and out of San Gimignano. San Gimignano is a perfect place to go to Firenze or Siena, as it is right in the middle of the two towns and it's a quaint, quiet town, especially at night after all of the day trippers have come through.
A few considerations:
-Il Colombaio is not far from town, but you do need to drive to town. Italianos are crazy drivers and the road doesn't really have a shoulder for walking.
-Room can be warm, no fan or A/C.
-No cleaning service while you are there. We stayed 4 nights and the trash was getting quite full.
For the price, Il Colombaio was what we expected, comfortable, and in a nice location. The room was nice and large, and had a small cooking corner with limited kitchen supplies, which was nice. They also have a nice patio, which we enjoyed drinking wine on in the evening before going to town for dinner.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ELKDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara. We were made most welcome even though the language barrier provided some interesting moments. Alessio arrived next morning and he was very helpful. He even loaned us his computer because ours couldn't connect. Finding the B& B caused some problems but this could be readily solved by following these directions: Driving from the Poggibonsi direction look out for the Volterra road (or Racciono). Follow this road for about 2km until you arrive at a caravan/RV park; the B&B turn off is on the opposite side of the road about 100m further on. The Volterre/ Racciono turn off is one of the first intersections you come across as you approach San Gimignano (this intersection is before the first round about as you approach the town).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

this was a very nice hotel, inside. but don t be fooled, it is on a vineyard...that is does not belong to them. so you can t just go for a walk around the place. their vineyard is like 10 minute drive away. and the old couple don t speak ANY english or french. and the man is not all that patient sometimes when u try to explain something in bad italian. if not for their son alessio, who really is the heart of the place, i would have hated my time there. we rented bikes, pedal bikes, and no car. it was fun for like 10 minutes. good simple place, good breakfast. thin walls, we would hear everything going on in the other rooms so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petite Fannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The owners are a sweet older couple who speak only Italian. Nevertheless they did everything they could to make us comfortable and breakfast was homely and satisfying in their dining room.
Only their youngest son, Alexio, spoke English and when he had time for us from his multi duties running a successful winery he was a gracious host giving us a lovely tour and some of their wine to take home.
The room was large and totally quiet the surroundings beautiful apart from a small campsite opposite which did not impinge on our views.
A tip to find it. They say it is an 800 metre walk to S.G. It may well be. We didn't try but it's entry is on the right, 1.5 km. from the roundabout below S.G. on the road to Volterra

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

My husband, 9 month old and I stayed and loved every minute of it. They were so friendly and accomodating. We wished we had more time to hang out on the property. We got a tour of the winary, and cellers where they were bottling that day. Woderful family. Highly reccommended from us!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrosius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My friend and I had a wonderful stay here-once we found it! Alessio and his parents were such lovely hosts-despite the fact we spoke English and his parents speak only Italian! Alessio however does and was very helpful in reccomending things to do and see and fantastic restaurants!
The setting is amazing-outside your room is a courtyard looking over the tuscan hills-so lovely having a glass of vino and sundried tomatoes-we didn't want to leave!
The breakfast was lovely with eggs fresh from the farm, great coffee(very essential!) and the yummiest sweet cake Alessio's mum makes.

San Gimignano is one of the most beautiful towns I have visited. The town has amazing leather goods-perfect place for new handbag and belts etc! There is a little place just past the square that does the most amazing bruschetta and pinot that you must visit-I can't make out the name but it is in my pictures
I look forward to returning to Colombaio and San Gimignano one day!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestotravel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Excellently located B&B to use as a base for exploring Tuscany.
20 minute walk to San Gimignano, BUT I'd strongly suggest that you have a car for getting around Tuscany - there is just so much to see, and walking just won't achieve what is possible.
Alessio and family are warm and most welcoming, and really make you feel at home. The accomodation is comfortable and adequate. Try and get the room with the arch. It is much larger than the others.

Suggested points for improvement:
1. The breakfast is basic (and not quite suitable for those of us who are used to a little fibre and fruit in the morning). The croissants are the "pre-packed" variety. The coffee that Alessio's mum makes is good. A fresh roll/ croissants, and a little fresh fruit & cereal would go a long way to remedying this (fairly minor) shortfall.
2. We stayed for 6 nights. As far as I'm aware, our room was not serviced at all during that period. We also needed to ask for a change of towels (which was attended to quite willingly). I'd suggest a note in the room telling guests what the "service" policy is, so that guest-expectations can be managed.

Overall - a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#12 of 29 in San Gimignano
351 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,288 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#8 of 107 in San Gimignano
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara

Property: Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara
Address: Localita Racciano 9, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Colombaio Di Santa Chiara San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing