We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place. Warmly received.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place. Warmly received.”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The owners are a sweet older couple who speak only Italian. Nevertheless they did everything they could to make us comfortable and breakfast was homely and satisfying in their dining room.
Only their youngest son, Alexio, spoke English and when he had time for us from his multi duties running a successful winery he was a gracious host giving us a lovely tour and some of their wine to take home.
The room was large and totally quiet the surroundings beautiful apart from a small campsite opposite which did not impinge on our views.
A tip to find it. They say it is an 800 metre walk to S.G. It may well be. We didn't try but it's entry is on the right, 1.5 km. from the roundabout below S.G. on the road to Volterra

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
49
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
portland
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

My husband, 9 month old and I stayed and loved every minute of it. They were so friendly and accomodating. We wished we had more time to hang out on the property. We got a tour of the winary, and cellers where they were bottling that day. Woderful family. Highly reccommended from us!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrosius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My friend and I had a wonderful stay here-once we found it! Alessio and his parents were such lovely hosts-despite the fact we spoke English and his parents speak only Italian! Alessio however does and was very helpful in reccomending things to do and see and fantastic restaurants!
The setting is amazing-outside your room is a courtyard looking over the tuscan hills-so lovely having a glass of vino and sundried tomatoes-we didn't want to leave!
The breakfast was lovely with eggs fresh from the farm, great coffee(very essential!) and the yummiest sweet cake Alessio's mum makes.

San Gimignano is one of the most beautiful towns I have visited. The town has amazing leather goods-perfect place for new handbag and belts etc! There is a little place just past the square that does the most amazing bruschetta and pinot that you must visit-I can't make out the name but it is in my pictures
I look forward to returning to Colombaio and San Gimignano one day!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestotravel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Excellently located B&B to use as a base for exploring Tuscany.
20 minute walk to San Gimignano, BUT I'd strongly suggest that you have a car for getting around Tuscany - there is just so much to see, and walking just won't achieve what is possible.
Alessio and family are warm and most welcoming, and really make you feel at home. The accomodation is comfortable and adequate. Try and get the room with the arch. It is much larger than the others.

Suggested points for improvement:
1. The breakfast is basic (and not quite suitable for those of us who are used to a little fibre and fruit in the morning). The croissants are the "pre-packed" variety. The coffee that Alessio's mum makes is good. A fresh roll/ croissants, and a little fresh fruit & cereal would go a long way to remedying this (fairly minor) shortfall.
2. We stayed for 6 nights. As far as I'm aware, our room was not serviced at all during that period. We also needed to ask for a change of towels (which was attended to quite willingly). I'd suggest a note in the room telling guests what the "service" policy is, so that guest-expectations can be managed.

Overall - a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We were really surprised to see how large were the rooms and very , very well maintained. I would say this is the most beautiful place we have been in Italy.

It is a very quiet spot with a breath taking view on Tuscany. Alessio and his family are really helpful. The mama only speaks italian so it's a good idea to learn a few sentence or be ready to some miming :)

I cannot find a thing that could have been better at this place and I would not hesitate to go back there anytime.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank philo-backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 8, 2005

Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara is a farm house 1 mile away from San Gimignano. You can walk to San Gimignano or if you have a car is less than 5 mins away. The Logi family is truly Italian and they are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. They make you feel at home and you feel that you become part of the family quickly. Their beautiful house has three rooms that they rent out. We stayed in a big room with private bathroom. What I most liked about our stay at Il Colombaio was:

-Spot Clean Bathrooms
-Beautiful View of Tuscany
-Tour of their wine and olive oil production. You can see the olive trees and vineyards from where they get their products.
-Your breakfast will include homemade pastries, which the mother of the family makes everyday, together with fresh bread and home made jam and coffee.
-Once you close the windows, your room is dark and quiet and you can rest for as long as you want. When you open the windows you have access to the view of Tuscany and the fresh air coming in.
-Alessio, the son of the family, speaks English really well. He can give you a tour of their small winery and point you where you should go in San Gimignano.

I would come back to this place and highly recommend it to anybody. This was the highlight of our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 30 in San Gimignano
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#13 of 30 in San Gimignano
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#10 of 107 in San Gimignano
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casanova di Pescille
Casanova di Pescille
#14 of 107 in San Gimignano
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara

Property: Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara
Address: Localita Racciano 9, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Colombaio Di Santa Chiara San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing