We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uliveta house”
Review of Sassi Bianchi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sassi Bianchi
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uliveta house”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stay at the Uliveta house in july with friends and could not be more happy for our choice!!! It was a charming and practical house when traveling with friends and children. The garden was beautiful and the pool stunning!! We had a amazing view towards San Gimignano. It was a bit to far to walk to town with children so we recommend to bring a car. Concetta and Paolo was very nice and helpfull. We wish to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aina-Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We joined 6 other couples at this wonderful Agriturismo. There are multiple houses on the property, all well appointed and decorated and very comfortable. My wife and I stayed in the one called Ginestra. It was beautiful and relaxing throughout our stay. Concetta and Paolo were extraordinarily attentive and kind. They helped us in ways we couldn't have imagined when my wife became ill briefly during our stay. Sassi Bianchi is about 15 minutes outside of the quaint little town of San Gimignano and 30 minutes from Volterra which we found especially enjoyable. We can't recommend Sassi Bianchi highly enough for a special stay in this region of Italy.

Room Tip: Serene, well appointed, beautiful, comfortable and quiet property with the most wonderful hosts who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad and Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Foccolare, which is part of the Sacchi Biancchi with my three children. Concetta and Paolo were the most amazing hosts. They were very warm and extremely helpful. Concetta recommended the right places to go and eat authentic local food and the villages and towns we should see. Both of them were lovely with my boys and the boys want to go of course back. The location was fantastic. We could see the towers of St gimignano from our balcony and the beautiful vineyards. It felt like proper countryside although it is very close to St Gimignano. Of course St Gimignano is wonderful, full of medieval and renaissance history but also lively with lots of restaurants and caffes. Concetta recommended to us to try the best ice cream in the world and there is one award winning ice cream maker that is worth the prizes! Concetta made for us the most delicious pastries, one special called pastilla for Easter and crostata. The final thing to say is that she can give all the right info for getting from A to B in Tuscany which for travellers with a young family like us was very important. We would absolutely recommend Sassi Biancchi for the authenticity of the people and the place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Sassi Bianchi appartment for our honeymoon. The apartment is a charming piece of authentic Toscana, located right by the central piazza in San Gimignano. With a full kitchen and two bedrooms, this place would be perfect for anyone, backpackers, families, honeymooners, etc.. The hosts, Paolo and Concetta, were simply amazing. They are the perfect example of true Tuscan Italians; outgoing, passionate, extremely helpful, etc... and were def. the highlight of our honeymoon. We also were lucky to visit the actual house, and, as a previous revewier put it, a little piece of Heaven is exactly what is was. It was everything you could ask for in a Tuscan stay with vineyards, a beautiful landscape view of San Gimignano, set right in the middle of the Tuscan countryside. Highly recommended! 5 stars! Thank you so much for everything Paolo and Concetta, we will be staying again, Ci Vediamo presto!!! Grazie e abracci!! -Colin e Kendra

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank italianstall10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a very lovely time at Sassibianchi. It was very peaceful and we loved being in the country. The house (Acacia) was in a great location, very private. The pool was absolutely perfect! The kitchen and barbeque were awesome and we cooked most nights. The windows are screened which is a bonus when the mosquitos were out and we wanted the cool air in our bedrooms. Concetta and Paolo were very helpful and made our stay that much more special. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgalliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

From the minute we drove onto the winding roads leading to Sassi Bianchi, we were enchanted with this area of Tuscany. We were so fortunate to rent one of the four stone "cottages" on the Sassi Bianchi property, the GInestra farmhouse, from the gracious owners, Concetta and Paolo. "Ginestra" was very well appointed with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms; there were trailing geranium flower boxes everywhere and strategically planted honeysuckle vines -- it truly looked like something out of a fairy tale! From our house, the views of the mountains in the distance and the valleys down below were stupendous. Our family of 7 took advantage of the beautifully well-maintained swimming pool surrounded by vineyards, wildflowers, lavender fields and also a pond with ducks! Each day, it seemed that Concetta and Paolo stopped by with some homemade treat for us and one day we were lucky enough to receive fresh eggs from the hen house! On the night before our departure back to the U.S., Concetta and Paolo served us a fantastic 9-course (I might be missing one or two) meal extravaganza complete with spumanti, grappa, and limoncello for our family while we sat under the arbor of our stone cottage. Sassi Bianchi and Concetta and Paolo were fantastic! I feel we have made new friends and we definitely have wonderful memories and will cherish them always.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugsydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Paolo and Concetta were very kind and extremely helpful throughout our week-long stay. The house was clean and beautifully decorated. Our whole family also enjoyed the well-maintained pool in the back patio. On our last night we enjoyed a wonderful dinner prepared by Paolo and Concetta. We certainly feel grateful that Paolo and Concetta were so eager to give us the full Tuscan experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akk2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
7.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
244 reviews
4.1 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,194 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
58 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sassi Bianchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sassi Bianchi

Property: Sassi Bianchi
Address: Via del Cornocchio, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sassi Bianchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassi Bianchi San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing