We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ducci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ducci
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
475 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Nice Hotel, not in downtown, but outside the city. You have to go by car, but is value for money. Very pleasant place, at an ancient villa, seeing the towers of San Gimignano from the hotel. The are around the hotel is very beautiful (you can see the grapes...).
We'd stayed at the #1 room, outside the main building, and it was very cozy and charming. The room was big, with a good bed and wardrobe, and a good bathroom too. I don't know if it is cold at the winter...
The staff is very efficient, both in the receptionist, like at the restaurant (good food).
There is a lot of options at the breakfast (ask tomatoes, they are very sweet!).
There is a free parking, because the area is big enough. A swimming pool can be pleasant at the summer, if you like.
By the other side, the internet connection simply don't work.
Good experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    80
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
122
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

For such a beautiful area this is the type of hotel perfect to complete a great journey. Classic, romantic, great views, excellent food, good service. This time were there for a wedding, but we might probably return.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank oliviutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at the Villa Ducci for 7 nights in September and had a perfect holiday. From the second we entered the hotel, we were made feel at home by the amazing staff. Our room was excellently decorated, spacious, bed was comfy and the bathroom was great too (big shower!). The windows have shutters, so mid-day naps are facilitated!!

Breakfast on the terrace overlooking San Gimignano is beautiful.. as you have the Tuscan countryside all around. Food here at the Villa Ducci is excellent. We ate here 5 nights of 7, and would normally eat out of our hotel.. but the food here is sooo good that we should have eaten every night here. Don't miss BBQ nights on Mondays.. where you are given an amazing amount of food for €25. We particularly enjoyed T-bone steak here followed by Tiramasu and Chocolate fondant (to die for). The hotel has a good wine list starting at €10, a few wines around €16 and max at €45. Pre (and post) dinner prosecco is a bargain at €3.50. Excellent value for food and wine.

The hotel itself is decorated in a modern style, and there are plenty of rooms and terraces to enjoy an after dinner drink or to chill out during the day. You can also rent a scooter there if you want to explore the countryside and don't have a car. The hotel is ~2km from San Gimignano, but there is parking near the village walls. There are two hotels across from the villa if you want to go for a drink/dinner elsewhere (but the Villa Ducci is way better, and cheaper).

We didn't want to leave the Villa, and would of gladly stayed for longer!!! The staff here are extremely friendly, obliging and professional. They are like a family and make you feel right at home.

Can't wait for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymonsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

At the beginning of September 2010 we had our wedding party here at Villa Ducci, witch was the most beautiful moment for us till now. We stay one more week after that, everything was truly excellent we really have nothing to complain about it. Very beautiful rooms, the food was tastful (compliments to chef), nice music at the terrace breakfast, gougeous pool and very kind and receptive stuff they did everything for us to feel so great. It is a fantasy really. I appreciate so much and strongly recommend to go at Villa Ducci if you are around San Gimignano or even Sienna.
Tanti cari saluti,
Roxana and Alex

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxiAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

My Fiancee and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. the Hotel is so lovely, the staff are so friendly and so helpful, they were just lovely.

The hotel was beautiful, i would describe is a traditional tuscan hotel with a fresh modern feel. Rooms were so clean and well serviced.

The food was delicious, i am a firm believer of eating out when on holiday but the food was of such high quality, with great service and well priced it was hard to leave.

The location of this hotel is great, a 20 minute walk into town but with the feeling of being right out in the tuscan hillside, from the hotel you can take walks through vineyards and olive grove, we had to pinch ourselves sometimes.

San Gimignano itself is very beautiful, steeped in history with great little shops what sell all sorts of local produce, leather, wines, meats, ceramics, wood work etc etc with a great choice of yet more amazing restaurants. Florence, Siena, Pisa, are all less than an hours drive and there is a whole host of other beautiful small towns in the area.

In short I would highly recommend staying here.

Craig and Rosalind
Edinburgh

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigietheduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent a week at the villa as this is where we will be having our wedding reception next year. The inside is modern and boutique style. Different rooms are in different colour schemes e.g. green, raspberry, cream etc. There is a lovely terrace to have breakfast and dinner on with a super view. The pool is also lovely although not heated, and the staff were excellent. We had really good food there in the evenings and there is a good wine list. Not very expensive at all considering the quality. You can easily walk to the historic town in approx 25 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed 10 days at Villa Ducci in July of this year and we were very satisfied about it. We enjoyed the great Tuscany view from our room and the terrace where breakfast and dinner is being served. The breakfast is Italian basic but from a good quality and dinner is delicious, very good pasta and wine. Due to the limit number of rooms is the service perfect and personal.
Certainly a place you would like to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgium011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.9 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ducci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ducci

Property: Villa Ducci
Address: Localita San Biagio, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ducci 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the Via Francigena, Villa Ducci is situated in a panoramic position with magnificent views over the medieval town of San Gimignano. The air-conditioned rooms are modern and feature original wood-beamed ceilings and terracotta floors. The guests will find a restaurant, sanck-bar, free parking, swimming pool, and a lush garden. The restaurant offers typical Tuscan dishes. In fine weather, dinner can be served on the panoramic terrace overlooking the towers of San Gimignano and the Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ducci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ducci Hotel San Gimignano
Ducci Hotel San Gimignano
Villa Ducci San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing