We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ducci

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Ducci
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Really basic rooms. Very uncomfortable beds. Highly variable staff from excellent to downright rude... Non too clean anywhere. Not somewhere I would return to..

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and hope you get a bed you can sleep in. but if you stay here the back rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DencUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    80
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
122
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at the Villa Ducci with a group and fell in love with the hotel's situation as well as the staff and dining fare. First of all the maitre d' Augustino, I think was his name, will charm the socks off anyone. Everyone in the hotel speaks to you on a first name basis and you can literally have a wonderful light work out walking to San Gimignano from the hotel. Don't be dissuaded by the simplicity of the rooms, the are rustic but comfortable and homey. For the price you just can't beat it. We had a wonderful lunch brought out on the terrace that consisted of anti-pasta which could have literally fed 15 people. The wine was delicious and the pesto pasta a must.The year prior my group stayed at Villa San Paolo, nice as well, but paid two times as much and to be fair, their food couldn't compete with Villa Ducci.
I would definitely stay again. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the stairs, get a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katlowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The views are spectacular. The walk to the city was a little bit of a hike but we enjoyed the great views and country side. Our room was clean and cute. Separate bedroom, sitting area, and bathroom was a good size. Some of the meals here were excellent. Others were okay.The waiter/co-owner, Augustino, was awesome. He is one of the few people that will be a part of our memories forever. Breakfast included some of the best tasting croissants I have ever tasted. The beds were not the best but comfortable enough. If we return to Italy, we would definitely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylalily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

First the good things. The views are splendid, the dinner/ lunch food is excellent and the waiter called Augustino is a gem.

But:
The rooms are so basic as to be off putting. They are none too clean with dirty rough tile floors [ which are probably difficult to keep clean anyway]. The bed was rock hard as were the pillows. We asked if anything could be done and they said they would change the bed. If they did the new bed was as hard as the first. Hotels sell you first and foremost a bed for the night and these are simply not good enough. The ac did not work in any way we could understand, you either freeze or cook. You cannot open the windows because of road noise. There was no hot water at the sink or bidet when we arrived . When we reported this and the hard bed to a girl on reception [ many came and went during our thee day stay] her attitude was aggressive -"no one else has complained " she said in the classic how to pee off your customer phrase. The sink was fixed, the bidet was not. The bed remained rock hard and they use blankets and heavy covers. Those are not as hygienic as duvets with fresh covers and the bed coverings did not help the freeze or cook room temperature. The breakfast is basic. There is no hot food, bacon or scrambled eggs etc. Bread , cheese , ham and boliled eggs are about it. The coffee with milk was undrinkable sludge though the cappuccino was OK..

There is a swimming pool but they charge 3 euros a day for towels, a first anywhere.

Worst of all was the terrace where dinner is served. Although it has a nice view and the meals are very good, the whole terrace, the raised area behind it and the umbrellas over the tables are covered in pigeon droppings. From the amount visible, they have been there for some time. Dropping fall from the umbrellas onto the chairs and tables and possibly into the food. That was a disgrace and in other places the hotel would be heavily fined for such conditions.

Room Tip: The back rooms suffer from noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AugustusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

CastWe stayed recently for a week with our 9 month old baby
the first room we were given was up a lot of stairs so we asked to be moved and this was no problem whatsoever
The staff were so friendky and helpful we ended up eating in Villa Ducci 4 times in the week as it was very nice food - the pasta in particular & also the steak done on a bed of rocket
The pool was a little cold but this seems to be the way they are in Italy
The view from the balcony is very memorable and beautiful at night
I would totally reccomend this place a great base for touring Pisa, Florence, Castellina in Chianti and Sienna
Its 25 minute walk into the centre of San Gimignano

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Think of a holiday in Tuscany and you'll probably have in mind beautiful villages, unspoilt countryside, stunning villas, good food and kind people.

Villa Ducci offers all of the above.

Just a couple of kilometres from the centre of San Gimignano, it has beautiful views over the town itself and the surrounding countryside.
The hotel itself is a delight, set in a beautifully restored villa, it offers spacious confortable rooms with central heating - a useful addition as, even in April, temperatures can get quite chilly overnight.

The hotel successful combines the charm of a family-run establishment with professionalism: the service simply couldn't be faulted.
The food served at the restaurant is absolutely delightful and it offers a good insight into some local dishes, always a plus when travelling through a place like Tuscany.

If there were two minor niggles, the breakfast room is relatively small and can feel quite crowded while the TV set in the room is tiny and tv reception poor.
But then again, the food served at breakfast is very tasty while the choice of drinks ("Coffee, Tea, Capuccino, Chocolate, Grappa, Whisky") is second to none :o)

We'd go back to Villa Ducci anytime!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Amazing view and location. Very good service, quiet and peacefull. Excellent choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ducci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ducci

Property: Villa Ducci
Address: Localita San Biagio, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ducci 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the Via Francigena, Villa Ducci is situated in a panoramic position with magnificent views over the medieval town of San Gimignano. The air-conditioned rooms are modern and feature original wood-beamed ceilings and terracotta floors. The guests will find a restaurant, sanck-bar, free parking, swimming pool, and a lush garden. The restaurant offers typical Tuscan dishes. In fine weather, dinner can be served on the panoramic terrace overlooking the towers of San Gimignano and the Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ducci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ducci Hotel San Gimignano
Ducci Hotel San Gimignano
Villa Ducci San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing