We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducci
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Amazing view and location. Very good service, quiet and peacefull. Excellent choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 237 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights for a wedding. The hotel is very impressive, rooms are huge, and very clean.
The pool is great for relaxing, and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast was your typical continental fayre, and the coffee is the strongest I've ever tasted - it was like rocket fuel!
Drinks are a little pricey but then Italy is no longer the cheap retreat it once was.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from San Gimignano centre, up a dark road with no side on, so can be a bit scary at night, but the hotel will always sort a return taxi for you.
San Gimignano itself is beautiful, and medeival walled town with fantastic buildings, a really nice vibe, and the ice cream is to die for. Specialities include wild boar, lemons and for some reason, they have 3 x Torture museums, which are worth a look! A hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our trip around Tuscany. After one night we wanted to say forever! The villa is magnificent, homely, nice and clean. Staff is very friendly. Breakfasts are wonderfull, huge and very good. My only complaint would be for coffee, which is terrible. But that didn't bother us one little bit. Rooms are big, nothing special but very nice.
But surroundings of the villa...breathtaking. Pure Tuscany...we never imagined we would experience this king of nature when we were reading about Tuscany. Beautiful!!! The view of San Gimignano, all the olives and wineyards. Beautifulll gardens around the villa! We will definitely return, but not on the trip around tuscany but just to stay in this place for a couple of days...I couldn't imagine nothing on this planet to be more relaxing!

Room Tip: We had a room 9, which is very nice and big, but unfortunatelly no room on San Gimignano. But still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gasper321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The accommodations were very nice. Room was fairly spacious, we were lucky to have a room with a bathtub in it, and the place was very quiet. We were part of a tour group and the company booked us here for 2 nights. The area by the pool is particularly lovely, with a great view of San Gimignano. I'm a yoga teacher and I was in heaven practicing yoga by the pool with a great view.

There is a restaurant onsite, which we ate at our first night. The food was very good. Breakfast was also very good, particularly the pastries.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We found this hotel by chance while driving late night on our way to Siena.
Very welcoming lady at the reception, nice and comfortable, spacious room and bathroom. Reasonable price with Excellent breakfast included. Beautiful property with amazing views a couple of miles right outside the town of S. Gimignano.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfside71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

It's just outside San Gimignano, it has a spacious parking lot and pool. There's an outdoor dining area. Our room was more like a studio - top floor bathroom and bedroom, bottom floor living room and kitchen box. The studio was very clean and well equipped but the noise from the near road was something quite unpleasant. I guess depends on where the room is but still. We traveled around Tuscany and stayed in different villas and at first I was disappointed with the breakfast but later on I realized that maybe Italians are not really breakfast people.

Room Tip: As far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mee_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here in June in two rooms, travelling with teens. We had a very comfortable stay. It's close to San Gimignano, the view is pleasant, the pool was refreshing and the rooms were nice. The outdoor dining area for the restaurant was a good option, and we had a reasonably priced and satisfying meal there. Breakfast was pretty weak, in terms of selection and quality. Service was very good!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#1 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
2.9 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#11 of 109 in San Gimignano
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Il Rosolaccio
Il Rosolaccio
#17 of 109 in San Gimignano
204 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fattoria Voltrona
Fattoria Voltrona
#4 of 109 in San Gimignano
715 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducci

Address: Localita San Biagio Cellole, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $114 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ducci 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the Via Francigena, Villa Ducci is situated in a panoramic position with magnificent views over the medieval town of San Gimignano. The air-conditioned rooms are modern and feature original wood-beamed ceilings and terracotta floors. The guests will find a restaurant, sanck-bar, free parking, swimming pool, and a lush garden. The restaurant offers typical Tuscan dishes. In fine weather, dinner can be served on the panoramic terrace overlooking the towers of San Gimignano and the Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ducci Hotel San Gimignano
Ducci Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Villa Ducci San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing