We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antica Dimora is a mixed bag”
Review of Antica Dimora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Dimora
Ranked #32 of 68 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2006

the room was lovely with a good bathroom and lovely fluffy towels. This B&B is easy to find, being in a tiny village you really can't miss it. You really need a car though. However, we had a couple of problems which soured our stay. Firstly, we waited nearly two hours for the owner to send someone to let us in. We made several phone calls and were told by the owners husband that someone would be 5 minutes, and hung up on us. We only had success when a very kind helpful neighbour rang for us. As we were only there for 1 night, this effectively cancelled our afternoon of sightseeing. The second problem was breakfast. We had booked bed and breakfast, but when we arrived were told breakfast was not included. What had the potential to be a lovely night in a charming little village in tuscany left us feeling cheated and bitter.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmonaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 102 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Felice
13
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Antica Dimora would be fine for a backpacker who requires the minimum service but for someone wanting to enjoy a holiday it is a place to avoid. This is not a 'bed and breakfast' in the true sense of being a private house shared with guests - it is a series of bedrooms and a small kitchen. There is no-one to welcome you (you have to phone to be let in and we waited 15 minutes), there is no comfortable sitting area, the heating was off and had to be requested (again by phone), and the breakfast was the cheapest supermarket food possible and in our case more than 24 hours old. Nothing cooked is offered. In short, Antica Dimora wants the most from you and offers the very minimum in return.
Do not get taken in by the website picture: it is not a hilltop farm with views, but stands in a shabby village street with only a tractor shed opposite to look at. You have to have a car to get there and there are no services or restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Am besten gar keins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorro_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Piero P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LBTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Camera camino ottima vista su vallata. Esterna alla struttura è molto tranquilla
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sissyBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariale1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.2 mi away
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
#27 of 68 in San Gimignano
119 reviews
5.4 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 68 in San Gimignano
390 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#3 of 68 in San Gimignano
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
672 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#1 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,391 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora

Address: Localita San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: $97 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the countryside sorrounding San Gimignano, "Antica Dimora", notified as historical and monumental residence, offers to its own guests the opportunity of staying with complete relax and comfort in rooms/suite/apartments furnished with antiques,canopy beds and precious fabrics. Of common use is a wide lounge with tuscan fireplace,equipped kitchen,table chairs and armchairs. Parking reserved to our guests in front of our house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antica Dimora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing