We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view from private terrace, excellent restaurant & breakfast”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only stayed here one night, but we wish we had spent more time on the terrace. The sweeping view of the countryside seemed too good to be true. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant with gnocchi, wine, bruschetta and florentine steak. Breakfast was quite extensive for Italy and was served outside overlooking Tuscany. Not an expensive hotel for the amenities offered and the scenery!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony or terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzW300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many thanks for your beautiful review describing your time spent in our Hotel, we are pleased that you liked our building and services ..and thank you for tasting the food in our restaurant, we are happy that you apreciated it.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 637 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We reserved 3 rooms for extended family vacation. Spent 5 days using this location as a base. The location is great for touring Tuscany. We drove to Pisa, took a bus to Florence and drove to Siena. 15 minutes to train station. Walking path to San Gimignano - beautiful vistas. After spending time in the South of France and Cinque Terre, we LOVED the large parking lot. The rooms and facilities were impeccably clean, food was excellent. Agnese was so kind and helpful. The hotel was peaceful and relaxing. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 1st floor (2nd floor for North Americans) with a view of the hillside. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palms2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Family,
thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are very pleased that you and your family had a nice holiday here in our hotel.. it is for us very important ..!
It was a pleasure for us to welcome you and we will be all very pleased to welcome you again in San Gimignano with all yopur family.
Many thanks and warm greetings from the Failli family and all the staff..

Have a nice day!

best regards
the reception
Agnese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Sovestro while touring through Tuscany. We found this to be a great home base for a tour through the Chianti region. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to San Gimignano (there is a back road that you can safely walk to town - about 20 minutes uphill), which was an amazing little town. We would definitely return when in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Mrs Heather,
thank you so much for your beautiful and so much appreciated words about our hotel..
We are glad to read that it was a good place to start for visiting the most important areas and cities of Tuscany.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano as our welcome guests and we wish you a nice Evening!

best regards
the Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

If you with no car- it is hard to travel. We assist bus but if you with car it's great
The view tuskan and spcial
Just 2km by foot from San gimignano
The hotel restaurant is very good we ate a lot...
Clean nice room
Reccommended

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idoshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review,
we are glad that you spent a nice holiday in our hotel and especially that you appreciated the typical tuscan specialities of our restaurant.

We hope to welcome you again in the future,
We wish you a nice Evening,

our best regards
Failli family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is excellent value. It feels more like a motel but it is clean and quiet and a fair price. The pool area is beautifully landscaped with an expansive view and a huge, fabulous pool with plenty of lounge chairs. The breakfast was average. The location is excellent for touring San Gimignano or other towns. It is worth the stay for the quiet, the location and the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Customers,
thank you for your very nice and appreciated opinion about our hotel, we are glad that you could visit San Gimignano and all the surroundings of this area and we hope that you will have always good memories of the time passed here with us.
Many thanks also from the Failli family,

wishing you a nice Evening,

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is definetely the best place we have ever stayed in! It has all the things one can imagine: It is located 2 min drive from the old and beautiful city of San Gimignano, stunning landscapes from the breakfast porch. Also worth mentioning is the excellent breakfast we had in the hotel that compunded from a large verity of cheeze, salamis, fruits, cakes, that can make you feel full till the late afternoon hours.

The staff of the hotel are warm and kind and the service is beyond excellent. In this point we want to mention Laura and Agnese, who gave us the feeling we are at home, with kind and warm service.

There is also an excellent resturant in the hotel. The menu is quite diverse and the dishs are great.

To conclude: Definitely return to Sovestro hotel! :)

Room Tip: If you want a good room take the room with the porch on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelandChaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Carmel and Chaim,
thank you so much for your wonderful review about our Hotel and our services,
Your beautiful words make us so happy and it is a very great pleasure to know that you spent a nice holiday here with us.

We are also happy that you appreciated the tipycal tuscan cuisine of our Restaurant.. a special thanks from Lucia, the chef and owner together with Sergio..who appreciated your opinion so much are are so grateful to you..

Special greetings from everyone of the Failli family and all of us of the staff,
Looking froward to welcoming you again in San Gimignano,

Thank you,
best regards
Agnese and LAura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our week stay at this Hotel. Friendly helpful staff, gorgeous pools and our room looked out over trees and the pretty pool with the waterfall. It is a great location for walking to San Gimignana and Sienna is only about 50 mins away by car. We would definitely return and recommend to friends

Room Tip: Up a level if you do not want to be too close to the pool and ask for a room looking at countryside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeyb1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Customers,
thank you so much for your friendly review and for the time you dedicated to write your opinion,
we are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our Hotel and that you appreciated the room we reserved for you and our pools.
..and not less important that you could visit the beauties of our region like Siena or San Gimignano..
We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano as our very welcome guests,

Greetings from all the Failli family and from us, the employees of the Hotel and the Restaurant

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
809 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
1 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $107 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing