We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base to explore Tuscanny”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic base to explore Tuscanny”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great Hotel. It has 2 pools to relax in after a long day of touring the wonderful medieval towns all around. You can actually walk through the vineyards to San Gimianno. Bathrooms are really big for Italy and breakfast buffet fantastic. We had some meals there in the evening and they are delicious. The gnocci are amazing--the Boar not so much.


I highly recommend this hotel. Our visit was actually in june 2008.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you so much for your beautiful review, we are very glad that you spent good moments here with us and that you could appreciate also the beauty of the surroundings and our region..
Thank you also for writing your opinion on our restaurant, it is a reason for us to improve our services..

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    175
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
171
330
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Hotel really good. Nice and pleasant staff. Only problem is that other guests arriving and leaving always makes a noise inside your room. We liked our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trivelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, and for finding the time to writ your opinion.. we hope that you spent a good time.. we are sorry if there was something, that disturbed you..but we'll do our best possible to improve our servieces.

Lokking forward to welcoming you again in the future

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We spent two weeks at Hotel Sovestro in October 2011 and it was wonderful. Comfortable, friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, good breakfast included and a very good accompanying restaurant (La Pode).
This is a great location, about a 25 minute walk to San Gimignano along one of Tuscany's 'white roads' with a beautiful view of the town as you approach it.
Bed could be a bit more comfortable, but it's OK, and the Wi-Fi signal was too weak at the opposite end of the hotel from the lobby, where our room was located. We had to go to the lobby (or breakfast room) for a workable Wi-Fi connection - a minor inconvenience.
I recommend Hotel Sovestro whole heartedly and if we travel to the same part of Tuscany on our next trip to Italy, Hotel Sovestro is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Corner ground floor rooms have a larger patio that sweeps around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel, we are happy that you had a nice holiday here with us and we are sorry for the problems you had with the Wi-fi.. we will improve it and try to solve it.
We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

and we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

best regards
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one evening. It was absolutely beautiful. Plenty of parking for our "American" car. The staff was wonderful and spoke very good English. We had dinner at the ristorante next door and was to die for! The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious too! We will be coming back in the summer to spend more time. Thank you! Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melika12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your beautiful review about our hotel and restaurant and the staff..
We are glad that you spent a nice evening here with your family ..and we really hope to welcome again, ybe in the good season to enjoy the sun!!
We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year...everywere you are!

with our best regards
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

After reading so many good reviews about this place, I decided to sent my parents to Hotel Sovestro for their 25th Anniversary. They were very happy and so impressed with the place that my mum decided to return just 2 months later with my grandma and myself.

The rooms were spacious, the bathroom was massive and so clean. Breakfast was great, something to look forward to every morning!! It consisted of a lovely selection of hams and cheeses, teas, coffees, cappucinos etc.. So many cakes, fruits and fruit salad, yoghurt, pastries.. Just lovely..

It is situated in the heart of the countryside, all you see is green, so beautiful. Just a 5 min drive to the city centre or a lovely walk up (about 30mins).

The staff were so helpful and friendly, especially Laura and Agnese: they were very patient with me seeing that I wanted to give this as a gift to my parents.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! Would definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely with either a pool view or country view with a little terrace or balcony. All h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meliezippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel and it was a pleasure for us to welcome first your parents and then you together with your mother and your grandmother.
We want to thank you also for choosing us to make a gift for your parents' anniversary and we were glad to welcome you and happy that you have good momories about your holiday with us.

Many wishes of a Merry Christmas and a happy new year to all fo you from all the Failli family and the staff

best regards
Laura and Agnese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Just came back after 4 nights in the hotel.when we arrived at night we received the room immidiatly, a bottle of wine and choclates where waiting for us.
the room is medium, clean. nice bathroom also very clean. we had a small yard with great view.
The only thing is when sitting outside you hear the main road, which ruins the good atmosphere,
but other then this the stuff was really nice and we had nce stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yifat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your beautiful review about our hotel and we are glad that you had a nice stay with us,
We hope to welcome you again in the future and we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy new Year

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

A very nice property with modern and spacious and bathroom. A five minute drive to San Gimignano and about a forty minute drive to Siena. Good central location as a base for thr central Tuscan region. Excellent restaurant on the premise open every night except Mondays.
Plentiful buffet breakfast and beautiful pools. It is a thirty minute uphill walk to San Gimignano town center or a limited bus service available right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgardo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review about our hotel and we are glad that you spent a good time enjoying the tours in the tuscan surroundings starting from San Gimignano and that you appreciate the service of our hotel and the food in our restaurant.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.

best regards
the owners
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
614 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 30 in San Gimignano
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing