We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany Dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stunning, Rustic charm is what this place is all about, the scenery absolutely takes your breath away , and when your looking out upon it whilst soaking in the private pool even better!
The farmhouse itself is pure Tuscan style, very clean and exactly what you would want if you were looking for authentic Tuscany.
The staff are all very friendly and can not do enough for you, the food and wine all just make it even better!
I can see myself returning time and time again I loved it that much

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 781 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this agriturismo. We seriously don't understand what people complain about. First of all Poderi Arcangelo is not an hotel so you can't expect hotel quality. In our opinion it's better because you have all the privacy. Breakfast was good ( remember Italians normally have sweets for breakfast if anything at all), but here there was much more. Some fruits will complete this breakfast. Dinner was authentically Tuscan and prepared with care and love!! The wine is very good and Elena and colleagues were always very helpful! The whole discussion about being closer to Certaldo then to San Giminagno is a non-discussion. When you choose Tuscany, you know you will need a car. It's a 15 minute drive to San Giminagno en 10 minutes to Certaldo.
We had a problem with the tap, this broke off, Sandra was right there to help and at the end of the day, it was fixed.
We will definitely return to Poderi Arcangelo, it was a fantastic week!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Have you ever dreamt of staying in a house on top of a hill with a view of rows and rows of grapevines as far as the eye can see?
Have your your own private swimming pool. Be served authentic multicourse Italian food and top wine made by the their own winery?

Then this place is for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Me and my husband were very thrilled to visit Tuscany and especially San Gimignano. We chose Poderi Arcangelo after reading the many good reviews. But we found many things to be disappointing after all.
First of all the farmhouse is a 15 minutes drive from the actual city of San Gimignano and there are no signs to find it so be sure to get directions before you start. We arrrived around 5-6 in the afternoon and it was 2 degrees outside!! We were welcomed with a smile. Soon after that we were to be informed about something that i have never heard before and i have been working in tourism for the last 11 years! Heat was not included in the price!!! When i expressed my surprise to the woman at the reception the warm smile became a cold one with a short reply which was 'it is mentioned in your reservation confirmation". At first I thought i hadn't studied it much and maybe it was my mistake. Of course i checked and it was not mentioned anywhere! The problem was that the confirmation i had was in my mother language which is Greek so there wasn't much i could do to prove my point! We were given a scap paper which mentioned a handwritten number of the meter at the time of our check in and were told that upon our check out they would check the meter again and we would pay the difference by 4 euros per cubic meter! As you would guess we never saw the meter and of course who knows how much would be consummed per hour!!!
We were given directions and we showed ourselves to our appartment. It was a lovely two spaced appartment, kitchen-living room and the bedroom. Fortunately the heat was already on and both rooms had a pleasant warmth. That was the initial feeling. Because when we took off scarfs and jackets and relaxed we realized that those spacious rooms could not be heated sufficiently. The heat was coming from something like an aircondition which had a slow air flow with medium temperature! In addittion to that there were only two light quilts available probably proper only for the chill Tuscan summer!! In fear of what we might be asked to pay we turned off the heat and slept with socks and jumpers!!!!
Nevertheless Wi-Fi was available and the view from the bedroom was nice. The next morning we had another surprise. The appartment has a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, stove, dishes etc. But! There is a sign saying "You are not expected to use the kitchen for cooking but if you wish to do so please contact us!!! Of course we had no desire of cooking but we thought it was hilarious!!I regret so much of not taking a picture of that sign!
We spent most of our time outside the appartment and we only stayed for 2 nights so i don't have much more details to offer. A slight renovation in the bathroom wouldn't hurt!
Upon check out we were given the number of the heat meter and paid 11 euros for approximately 5 hours of use. Nobody asked if we enjoyed our stay or if we had any issues. We paid our bill and took our way back.
Maybe if we visited this place in the spring and there were no heat issues we would have enjoyed it better. But we didn't. And my opinion is that if the owners wish to rent this place during the winter they should so some serious changes. Improvement of the customer service would not be a bad idea either. If you are looking for a picturesque spot this is the place for you. If you are looking for good and honest service and facilities look a liitle harder.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank explosions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoderiArcangelo, Responsabile reception at Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello,
I am sorry that you had a not perfect stay..
Our property is located 6 km from San Gimignano (10 minutes by car) and 3 Km from Certaldo (5 minutes by car).
Regarding the Heating is excluded in the case of booking of the apartments. If you check the description of the apartment is reported.
In each apartment there is a temperature control so you can manage it yourself. it does not say that you should not use the kitchen. At times, the apartment is rented to people who have only booked the room. In that case the use of the kitchen is not inlcuded but it is available.
For that is written to ask the front desk.
I hope you come back to visit us so we can bring you even more enjoyable.
Sincerely
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice property, small hotel nestled among the vineyards and olive groves, amazing 360 panaramic views..great pool.. the food is reasonable quality and price, their own wine is quite good. The dinner meal is a bit restrictive in that there is only one 8pm sitting. We enjoyed the location being in the dead centre of Chianti wine country and 20 minutes away from the train station.(we did a day trip to Florence to see David and the Uffuzi Gallery, which is an hour by train) A great place to use as your base for daily wine tours and visiting the regional towns. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were disappointed not only because we experienced terrible customer service, but also because we perceived the hotel had all the makings of a top flight agriturismo.

Our problems began upon arrival. Having spent the day walking the hill towns of Tuscany we were ready for a light meal, a bottle of wine and an early bedtime. "Sorry" we were told - "no dinner being served tonight, it's Sunday, our day of rest." If we had know in advance, we could have picked up some bread, cheese and prosciutto in town and been happy... We were told we could get dinner in Certaldo, a short drive. A well-respect restaurant was suggested and a dinner reservation made.

Driving directions were simple - straight into town, park near the church, take the finicular to the upper town where the restaurant would be easily located. Even though dead tired, it seemed like an achievable adventure, so off we went.

Well it wasn't really straight into to town ... a street fair at the church clogged the streets and made parking hard to find and when we arrived at the finicular we were told that it was closing - we could get a ride up, but would need to walk down. We opted for dinner in the lower town instead.

And since the way into town wasn't really straight, neither was the ride home and we got lost for about 30 minutes.

Note to staff - get a map to give away, know what's going on in town and memorize the finicular schedule.

The next day it was a natural disaster that tested the staff's customer service skills. It rained all night and poured all morning and when we drove off the hill we found our path to the main road blocked by a raging waterway. (A real flood, highlighted on the evening news.)

So back up the hill to Archangelo looking for guidance. Sadly, the staff was more concerned about how they would get off the hill and home. "Well" we said, "we'll just have lunch and wait out the flood." "Sorry, we are closed today" was the response.

We were able to negotiate some sandwiches, but when we left we found the staff in the dining room eating what smelled like some very nice pasta with garlic.

Note to Ownership- for ten days we experienced unforgetable Tuscan hospitality and found the staff in all our other hotels willing to go the extra mile to delight us. If you wish to be more than a vineyard, find your staff among the many other Italians who know how to treat guests well....

Room Tip: paper thin walls - don't room next to a traveling companion or someone who speaks your language.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandChefMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After finally finding the road, it was a welcoming drive up to the "farmhouse". Narrow lane between olive trees and vineyards; we stood in the parking area for a few minutes before checking in admiring the view. Elena at check-in was wondering and most helpful throughout our stay. We arrived in time for a wine tasting from grapes grown on the property; very good. Beautiful gardens, awesome views of Tuscany valleys & the towers of San Gimignano. The pool is beautiful (unfortunately, the weather during our stay was overcast, so didn't get to enjoy this much at the end of the day coming back from site-seeing). Elena arranged a wine-tasting tour at a couple of nearby wineries and our driver spoke excellent English & was quite knowledgeable about the area. This is a central location to visit other towns and others such as Pisa are just a couple of hours drive away. Would also recommend the cooking class by Guisippine in nearby Certaldo. The breakfasts here were typical Italian, with very strong American coffee, with a pot of hot milk to make a latte! Dinner is also served here, just sign-up for it. We didn't always know what was being served (the menu is in Italian and if you don't catch the reception staff before they leave, the kitchen staff doesn't speak much English, and we don't know much Italian, so had a challenge in knowing what's for dinner!, but there were most hospitable in trying to understand and take care of any requests; we found this part of the charm); however, always plentiful and delicious. Just a hint, if you have a small appetite, share the meal, there's plenty! Or, get the small plate of melon & procuitto and sometimes comes with grilled vegetables and maybe some salami; still plenty! Wine is available to purchase, but a dessert wine comes with the meal and is served with the dolce! We had a suite with large windows, a large sitting area and large bedroom, with a nice walk-in closet area; bathroom small, but adequate ad our building had a large patio for all guests to enjoy; there is also a large out-door seating area for meals. Can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We had a nice view, but rooms on the top floors have even better views, although they may be smaller...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,309 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,242 reviews
4.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
661 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
5.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 107 in San Gimignano
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse

Address: Capezzano - Badia A Elmi, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $91 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hill, with a beautiful panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse Hotel San Gimignano
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing