We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for a Tuscan Getaway”
Review of Fattoria Voltrona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fattoria Voltrona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here on a visit to Tuscany. The farm is lovely. Quaint, quiet and absolutely stunning views of the countryside. Just a 10 minute drive from the town of San Gimignano which makes for a nice day trip, although we preferred relaxing by the pool and taking in the amazing views. Our room was quite simple (one of the cheaper options available) but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included which was good, but dinner was a real treat. Four courses, great food, on a terrace overlooking the hills of vineyards and olive groves.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DAP0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Fattoria Voltrona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 684 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Down a bumpy gravel Rd. We were made to feel that we should be grateful of such a place. We were not shown the room. Walked in and found a cockroach crawling on the floor. Killed it. Shower and toilet were in separate rooms and were no more than a cupboard size each. Had to sit sideways on the toilet. Water quality was shocking. Grey silt was sitting in basin and shower floor. It was mixed with the tap water. We were hot and tired and took it, but really it was totally over priced and inadequate. Found another roach the next day. Had to ask for poison and were told that we were on a farm. That's how it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattoriaVoltrona, Proprietario at Fattoria Voltrona, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2015

Kind Voodless ,

I am very sorry about your extremely negative experience and I apologize for the inconveniences you had during your one night stay at our farm
The water problem of the aqueduct was not due to our negligence; as you know we have done everything possible to warn guests of the problem that occurred in the municipal water supply . Thanks to our own emergency system the problem of the gray water was limited to less than one hour during one morning.

Regarding the other complainings, I invite you to read careffully the information you've received from us via email prior of your booking. If you contact me, I´ll be glad to resend a copy of our communications befor your arrival.
I´m afraid that by planning your one night stay, you have not given the proper attention to the essentially rural nature of our offer; by checking just the final price that also include the city tax and breakfast, could result an offer economically more competitive than an hotel…fact that we are not.
We are not an hotel, but a farm located in a rural area in the middle of the country at the end of a dirt road.
That's how it is. That's is how was very in detail described in our comunication before your confirmation .


Sincerely .

Malcolm Leanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This agriturismo is located between San Gimignano and Voltrona. It was a gorgeous property and the rooms were lovely. We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner along with wine pairings one of the nights. We also rented scooters from the owners and had a blast riding them around the area. It's the perfect location to explore this region of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for several nights while exploring Tuscany, and it was amazing! The rooms are simply furnished, but exceptionally clean. The grounds are situated on a lovely working farm, with a spectacular view of San Gimignano and surrounding hillsides. It was perfectly located for our day trips to Siena, Florence, Volterra, etc. The staff is just incredible! We ate at the attached restaurant nearly every night, both for convenience and because the food was truly incredible! It is also a great value, as your multi-course meal comes with local (delicious!) wine, and is prepared with fresh ingredients grown on the premises or locally. We also did the horseback riding tour, and enjoyed it immensely. Our children are experienced riders, so they were able to go on a private ride through the vineyards and hillsides with me, which was beautiful! Try the risotto (or just about anything)! Would love to return to this wonderful little place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbyGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

3 nights in the heart of Tuscany. A great medium size Fattoria to relax, eat well, engage in sports, take day trips. The location cannot be beaten .....all what you expect Tuscany to be ,absolutely quite and so groomed and generously maintained. The entire staff is marvelous . My room was huge as was my friends and absolutely unbeatable price for a place like this. Good place to stockup with vine and other culinary delights. The village of San Donato a mile away is so cute and the closeness to San Gimignano, Greve, Chianti roads and Siena make it a perfect base to enjoy other parts of Tuscany. No surprise Voltrona is heavily booked also by Italian families and couples.

Room Tip: Be glad you find a room in summer.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Voltrona is a beautiful agriturismo, very well located between Siena and Florence just a few miles from San Gimignano. The owners are very nice and cordial and speak English well. The food is amazing, as is the the wine they make on the farm. The accommodations are basic but nice, spacious, and clean, the view from our window was like an amazing Italian painting with olive grows, cypress trees, and scattered medieval buildings as far as the eye could see, and the whole experience of being there felt very authentic and relaxing. We traveled all around - the towns of Volterra, Cortona, and Moteriggioni are all a short drive away. The agriturismo also offers icelandic horse rides in the area and a vespa you could rent for a really fun drive on the winding Tuscan roads. Highly recommend this agriturismo to anyone who wants a relaxing and authentic Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a couple of wonderful days at Fattoria Voltrona. It was my second stay there and this time I presented it to my daughter and granddaughter.The staff is really welcoming and helpful. The rooms are decorated in a rustique and tasteful way and the view from the window is breathtaking, like the landscape overall in Toscana. We had lunch and dinner indoors, in April it is a bit chilly in the pergola. The food and wine is very good and is served by helpful people, one of them a nice guy from Sweden, who gave us good direction with the menu, The second day we went horseback riding and the horses are really nice and well behaved. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank inga s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,237 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 107 in San Gimignano
425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Voltrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Voltrona

Address: Localita San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Voltrona 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by extensive gardens with fishing pond and outdoor pool, Fattoria Voltrona offers country-style rooms 6 km from San Gimignano centre. Vespa scooters can be rented on site. The on-site restaurant serves authentic homemade Tuscan dishes. Dinner is served every evening in the barn, or under the stars on the terrace. Simply furnished rooms at the Voltrona have tiled floors and heating. The private bathroom comes with shower. Volterra is 23 km away, while Siena is reachable by car in 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fattoria Voltrona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Voltrona Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria Voltrona San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing