We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right farm in Tuscany!”
Review of Fattoria Voltrona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fattoria Voltrona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have been for 4 days at Fattoria Voltrona. LOVELY!
The view is like a little paradise and everything in the farm looks like the perfect Tuscan landscape. It is clear the care used by the farmers to keep the land in that way that everithing seems natural but of course it is not...I mean the land needs a lot of work and you can see it.
At dinner time is easy to socialize since everyone eat at the same table and the food makes the rest. Big pasta and salami or vegetables with grilled meat. Simply but genuine.
The rooms are also simply but you can find everything you need for a good value rate.
The staff is friendly and helpful if you need to organize the day visiting one of cities around the farm, San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena and Florence.
I would suggest this place to anyone who is in love with the nature!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 715 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was with friends by this farm just for riding but it was a nice surprise to discover how close it is to any other place in the area between Siena and Florence. Horses were well trained and easy also for someone in my age who didn't ride exactly every day. All the staff was lovely and ready to help us in any situation. We had a little problem with the rented car and the receptionist helped us to solve it. Rooms are comfortable but basic equipped and the cleaning is every third day. If needed, they clean every day without extra cost....just ask for it at the reception. Breakfast and dinner are "on large size" but the wine....the homemade wine is really on large size!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JO58Sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The rooms are clean, the help is very helpful, the horses are well trained and easy and fun to ride, the views were fantastic. Breakfast was very average with espresso from a machine and the first night we had dinner there and it was about the worst food we have had in Italy. It really marred an otherwise wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagiulia, Proprietario at Fattoria Voltrona, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Kind HappyInItaly,
reading your review I was really impressed be the sentence “the worst food we had in Italy”.
I was impressed twice because you gave a full 5 points (the maximum) to 5 within 6 categories of services.
5 points (the maximum) for the location, 5 points (the maximum) for the sleep quality of ; 5 points (the maximum) for the rooms; 5 points (the maximum) for the cleanliness ; 5 points (the maximum) for the service and 3 points for the value.
Considering the good evaluation you gave to any part of our activities, I had the impression that the food was so bad considered from you that it was able to change your final opinion from 5 to 3 points. I can only imagine that you had dinner by us when we served the “Trippa” which is a local food based on animals guts and intestines… of course I can understand it is not easy to have a good impression from it. The taste is really wild and not everyone likes it. I’m very sorry for that and I really would like to apologize or to make something for letting change your mind but I’m afraid you did not tell anything to someone of the staff about that “bad food”, otherwise we absolutely tried to satisfy you with something else.
As you know we only use to serve a fixed menu for a fixed price but from late April 2012 we will also have a little menu with 4 choices.
I can only invite you back to try something else or to stay more than one night.

Sincelrely

Malcolm Leanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A lovely location with stunning views and a very helpful receptionist, but the rest of the experience was a bit of a disappointment...
There are over 30 rooms there, and the overall feel is more that of a hotel than that of a agroturismo. A coachful of Austrian staying there for the night is the best illustration of the scale of this place. Our room was probably the worst (at least I should hope so) as it was situated at the back of the building with only a small window with no view other than the patio and exposed to the view of other residents, but worst of all it turned out to be very noisy as it was located on the ground floor next to the entrance to the 1st floor (only separated by a locked door). So much for intimacy. So if you stay here, make sure you don't stay in room 15!
The food at breakfast was very disappointing: definitely not organic, self-service, coffee machine, to be forgotten.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DwithoutK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagiulia, Proprietario at Fattoria Voltrona, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Kind DwithoutK,

I'm happy to know that you found Fattoria Voltrona as a lovely location with stunning views. I also thank you for appreciating so much the work of our staff who represents our way to offer hospitality and to help anyone who shares with us some day of vacation and relax. It makes proud to get some compliment.
Your stay and our soul. You only spent one night by the farm and your reservation was made trough an agency. In this case we have less chances to controll the informations and to understand your needs.
Your only request regarded a low budget accomodation with a not refundable rate. You also did not stay for dinner so I‘m afraid you had no chance to taste our meal. Every place has a soul, I’m agree with you about that, but honestly I’m not able to capture the soul of a place after less than 24hrs… but I guess it is up to me.
Number of rooms and groups. Within an extension of about. m2 360000,00 , the Voltrona farm has 8 buildings located in 3 different units on a distance of about m. 200/250 each: one of them is used for hosting tractors and other farming machines; 1 of them is the stable for the horses; 3 of them are used for the accomodation of my family and the other workers of the farm including seasonal workers (between 10 and 15 persons); 1 of them is used by the restaurant incuding storage room, kitchen and dinning rooms; 2 of them are used for the guests and the reception. The 2 buildings used by the guest are ca. mt. 200 far away one from the other and both of them are surraunded by a garden extension of m2 16000,00 (sixteenthousend,00) including the pool.
The farm is therefore big enough to host everyone with a confortable standard. The group from Austrai you mentioned, had a number of 18 persons including the bus driver: the same number of 4 families with kids. As you can immagine it happens to have groups of persons travelling together (this is a farm not a relais hotel) and usually groups reserve in the low season in order to get a better price. Exactly like you did.
Your room. The room nr. 15 has 2 entrances: 1 from the garden and 1 from the house. That kind of room is very apreciated from people who comes with dogs or from people who wants to have a private entrance form outside. If this kind of room was not satisfiting your need we could offer other solutions since, as you observed, the farm has several accomodation’s possibilities. The helpful receptionist you mentioned in your review, did not recive any request from you about that need. Otherwise she would have provided immediately since in that days we had rooms available also in the other building of the farm. Of course different accomodations have different prices and the final rate could be a little higher than the € 30,00 per person including the breakfast you paid.

Breakfast. Breakfast is a very important moment of the day and even more important as sign of hospitality. Our guests come from many different countries and everyone has different breakfast needs and/or breakfast uses.

I shortly resume what is included in our breakfast service:

Drinks: coffee, tea, hot and cold milk, fruit juice, water.
- White and wholemeal bread;
- Rusks;

Sweet:
- Jams;
- Honey;
- Butter;
- Muesli and Corn Flakes;
- Cake or tarts.

Savoury:
- Cheese;
- Sliced meat;
- Yoghurt.

Fresh fruit of the season.

I can understand that maybe you expected something different however you could consider that we offer something wich satisfies the average taste of everyone. Of course in case of prior request we can also prepare something else compatibile with your preferred products.

Beside this, every guest is free to eat as much as he wants. As extra free service, during the all day, coffee, tea and also cappuccino are any time free available in the terrace room.

All the best to you and I hope to see you back in Voltrona to let you taste the dinner you haven’t tried!

Malcolm Leanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Arriving at the Voltrona farm is everything you hope for, gorgeous scenery, stunning Tuscan style homestead set amongst rolling vineyards & olive groves.
We were greeted warmly by Susannah at reception who showed us to our room...her favourite because of the beautiful view from our bedroom window. She looked after us so well for the 2 days we stayed, answering all our questions & giving us maps & advice for the walk through the vineyards into the town of San Gimignano...a must to do!!! We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights, great country style set menu with wine included, excellent value for money! We would definitely return & recommend to anyone looking for an authentic Tuscan experience & value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Actually we've been to Fattoria Voltrona two times together with our little daughters. The place is absolutely wonderful. The view from the breakfast-room is absolutely astonishing. The staff is professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn_Ove_Thue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Looking at pictures from vacation last year made me remember one of our best vacations ever! Fattoria Voltrona is the perfect agriturismo, close to villages like San Gimignano and Siena but in the same time far from turists, you can really enjoy the peace and silence. We stayed with another couple, who had ben recommended this place from friends.
The dinner was typical Tuscan, well cooked and flavoured. The wine produced on the farm was perfect to the food. For breakfast you could have a little bit of everything. Always fresh fruit, also during the day.
All the staff was very helpful and polite.
The main reason we went to Fattoria Voltrona were the horses. We have got icelandic horses ourselfes and for us it´s very important to see they are well maintained, and I can say it´s difficult to find better places for the horses than Fattoria Voltrona. The swedish horseguide took great care of them and also of us, she saw the need of every rider.

The only bad thing about the place is that we compared every hotel and agriturismo we went to after. After staying at Fattoria Voltrona every place seemd nothing compared to the Fattoria Voltrona.
We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
2.7 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Voltrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Voltrona

Address: Localita San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $75 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Voltrona 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by extensive gardens with fishing pond and outdoor pool, Fattoria Voltrona offers country-style rooms 6 km from San Gimignano centre. Vespa scooters can be rented on site. The on-site restaurant serves authentic homemade Tuscan dishes. Dinner is served every evening in the barn, or under the stars on the terrace. Simply furnished rooms at the Voltrona have tiled floors and heating. The private bathroom comes with shower. Volterra is 23 km away, while Siena is reachable by car in 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fattoria Voltrona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Voltrona Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria Voltrona San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing