We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough hotel in San Giamignano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Cappuccina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Cappuccina
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good enough hotel in San Giamignano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a good enough 4 start hotel in San Giamignano. Room had sofa space upstairs and the room was large with a balcony. Located approx 5 minutes from the centre of San Giamignano but you really need a car. Only concern was the quality of the breakfast. It was very ordinary and coffee and tea are from the machine so the quality was low. Approx 95% of the TV channels are in Italian and so few English speaking channels. Staff's English was not very good but at least they are friendly and try to help you.

Room Tip: If you are travelling by a car then it is in a good location. It is very quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    154
    100
    53
    38
See reviews for
62
242
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is definitely our best Italian experience since long long time ago.
The place is very clean, the staff is warm and friendly and there's everything you need to relax yourself and enjoy your holiday. I would definitely recommend it to all my friends…
Looking forward to come back to Tuscany…and to Relais Cappuccina

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucySancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

sadly this hotel on our tempo tour was disappointing its decor was tired and food was very ordinary staff slack. Too far out of town bus was broken down. dinner severed 10.30pm too late .Poor quality over priced. I wouldn't recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: room view was good ground floor overlooked the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Gimignano hotels

Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our tour group (20 people) stayed here for four nights. The room was okay - but other factors make it less than average. Looks like I was the only one having a room NOT looking into the valley. Second, for whatever reason, on return to my room late (after midnight) I found my A/C was off. After trouble shooting - I went to the lobby about 12:20 AM - to talk to the manager. Behold - - no one was there - and no sign when the manager would return. So I had yo sleep without A/C. In the morning, the AM manager said the A/C was off - and turned it on. Another issue - the hall nigh lights. At night ONLY one turns on as I walked the corridor. My room was last and I had a challenge on inserting the card. The dining room was a bust on handling dinner for 20 guests. The meal was poor as well as the service.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view and not the 100 room numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianS612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel and it was a very good choice. The location is great, the view is amazing and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We went easily for day trips in Florence, Siena or Pisa and other places in Tuscany. The room was very nice, the pool is great and breakfast was very tasty. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lior M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ideally located a short distance from the Tuscan hill town of San Gimignano sits the La Cappuccina hotel.I have stayed at La Cappuccina on three other occasions. The hotel was housed in a small but charming older building with a tower. A new addition was added which have none of the charm of the original hotel, However the new building is very assessable with many rooms including two level suites that are ideal for families. There is a restaurant, bar and breakfast room overlooking the pool and the Tuscan a countryside. Added to the amenities there is a complete spa. There is also plenty of free parking.

When choosing a room keep in mind some come with balconies which adds to the overall experience. The beds are hard and most standard rooms are on the small side but adequate.
The staff is delightful and very helpful. The breakfast is varied with plenty of fresh fruit. The restaurant was a disappointment. Overall this hotel is a good value in a great location.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony do you can savor the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 10 nights in this hotel! It was a very good choice! The location is brilliant for those who what to enjoy Tuscan's views - vineyard etc. It is a quiet location with walking distance to beautiful San Gimignano (there is a free shuttle bus during day) and average 2hrs driving distance to Florence, Siena or Pisa for those who would like to explore more. Very nice swimming pool area, with a big pool. The welcome was very good, the room was cleaned, the air condition worked very well. The buffet breakfast was very good, with a good range of food, the staff were very helpful, and react quickly when something run out.
I really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with panoramic view, especially if you going to stay for more than 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malgorzata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cappuccina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cappuccina

Property: Relais Cappuccina
Address: Localita la Cappuccina 46/A, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Cappuccina 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away amidst the quiet green Tuscan hills, the Relais Cappuccina is the ideal place for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Art Nouveau style villa comprises the main part of the structure. Thanks to its excellent location, it is within easy reach of the medieval town of San Gimignano and is also an ideal base for discovering the art and history of Tuscany's other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Relais Cappuccina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Della Cappuccina Hotel San Gimignano
Relais Della Cappuccina San Gimignano
Relais Cappuccina San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing