We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tuscan experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We chose the hotel for our short visit to Tuscany and though we read many positive critics, we were still positively surprised. We found all the personnel extremely welcoming and helpful, the grounds wonderful and maximal effort put in every single detail of the hotel.

Possibility of walks in well maintained park offers nice way to relax, beautiful decoration, nice rooms and good choice for breakfast. Wonderful cappuccino :)! The location is convenient for exploring central Tuscany, near San Gimignano, but still in the middle of pure nature.

Would recommend this family run hotel to anyone and will definitely gladly come back.


Tina

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaZ97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sirs,

many thanks for your nice review.
We are very happy to learn you liked our resort and found our personnel helpful and friendly.
It is very important to us to be at our guest's disposal and do the best we can so that they
will bring nice memories home.
We will be glad to host you again in the future . Our best regards to you
The Niccolinis and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to this hotel several times with my family in the early 2000s and loved it, so I decided to take my fiancée last weekend.

It was just as magical as ever. The hotel is family run and they take great care with everything. The grounds are tended to beautifully, and the food is something else. Given that it's not quite summer, dinner was served inside (in the warmer months it's served in a lovely courtyard). I had a plate of local cured meats and a pappardelle al cinghiale (pappardelle with wild boar ragu), and then a tiramisu, all of it absolutely incredible. My fiancée, a vegetarian had a simple pasta with tomato sauce, and even that was out if this world.

The hotel has a great location. It's 5 minutes drive from San Gimignano and close to the superstrada for access to Florence and Siena.

All-in-all, highly recommended. If you're looking for a rural Tuscan retreat then you could do a lot worse than this.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamGilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Mr Gilbride,

it's alwasy a pleasure to welcome you!!
Thank you ever so much for your very kind words following your recent stay. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great experience in our restaurant .
All of the team here always try to exceed our guests expectations and when we receive comments like yours it really does make their day.

I do hope that you will return to us once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
ps:Give your mum the best wishes from the whole team of Casolare le Terre Rosse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice modern building in traditional style. A well-kept hotel - clean room - spacious communal areas and grounds.
Very friendly and obliging staff at reception, breakfast & maids too. A big thanks to them all !
Quite quiet at this time of year, which we expected.
Handy location if you have a car - 5 mins to San Gim (free shottle bus available), Volterra just down the road, Siena & Florence in easy reach.
Pool was not available during our stay - would have used it on a couple of warmer days !
Free wifi on demand.
A pleasant place to stay - would recommend it !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Sirs,

I was so happy to read your review. We always try to create a friendly home from home atmosphere in the hotel and I was delighted that you we met your expectations As always I have passed on your kind comments on to our great team here at the hotel.

Hoping to have you back soon in our resort,

Best regards

Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me ,my husband and two sons stayed at Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse first week of April and could not have stayed in better place. This is a beautiful property that backs in to national park and only 5 min scenic drive from beautiful San Gimgnano. Property has huge backyard, rooms are very clean and staff are kind and accomodating. Becuase we had to young kids , they give us two adjoing rooms with private hallway which worked perfectly. If you are visiting Tuscany, this is the place to stay.
Sally M. from California

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the Hotel's setting and the service you received from our whole team. We have a variety of rooms in different shapes and sizes and the Suite Room is the most suitable room for families, indeed.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Fam. Niccolini and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent hotel.. It is extremely clean and modern. The location ,food and staff are great. Excellent welcome and good facilities and location near to San Gimignano. Rooms were clean and comfortable.The hotel is beautiful inside and outside. The staff was friendly and helpful and made our stay a great one. Thank you very much

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YANUSZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Sirs,
I have immediately informed all the Hotel's staff about your compliments and we all thank you very much for it.
We really hope to have you back at our Hotel some time in the future.
Best regards,

Fam. Niccolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a friendly hotel! Excellent welcome and good facilities and location near to San Gimignano. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel has extensive grounds which are worth exploring and it is surrounded by a national nature reserve.
Food was splendid - a little too much at times and the wine from the nearby vineyards certainly is worth investigating. We were there at the end of the season so did not use the pool etc but the outdoor facilities would be good for a warmer part of the year.
Finally, every guest is given a present as they leave - another nice touch from a hotel which really values your business.

Room Tip: Huge variety of rooms in various blocks of the hotel. As the hotel is in the middle of its own land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Sirs,

we are very pleased you had a nice stay with us. We try to do our best to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible. We thank you very much for your compliments, they are very important to us. We hope to have you back at our place some time in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. It has every amenity one could desire. It is extremely clean and modern. The food is great. The staff is great. The location is great.

I call it a manor hotel because of its location and because it is only two floors high. It reminded me of the manors I've seen in the English Countryside.

We stumbled on it by sheer luck on an evening walk after we'd checked into our nearby farmhouse hotel (Fattoria) that didn't have a restaurant. Not wanting to drive the 10 km back from San Gimignano in the dark after drinking and dining we stopped in to this hotel and they allowed us to dine at their restaurant (normally reserved for guests). We asked to see some rooms and quickly booked our remaining 4 nights with them.

We got the 2nd-story 100 Euro room with a splendid view out into the spacious back yard and surrounding hills (see photo).

The countryside was SO beautiful and SO peaceful. The stars at night were astounding, due to the lack of light pollution.

Every one of the staff, from the gardner to the room maids to the front desk to the restaurant to the morning breakfast, were very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating.

The food preparation and the food and wine choices at the restaurant were excellent.

The breakfast, included in the room price as is the custom in Europe, was outstanding–really high quality; not just a few pieces of cheese and dried bread slapped together. We loved to eat in the outdoor patio overlooking the back yard (see photo) and they raised the plastic curtains and rolled back the roof for us each morning to accommodate that (see photo).

They gave us suggestions of little hilltop towns off the beaten tourist track (e.g., Certaldo) to visit. Also, hiking that we could do.

Being late in the season the swimming pool was closed but it looked like it would be very inviting in the hot summer.

Like many other places in the region, the hotel closes down for the Winter Season early in November but our time in mid-October was just perfect for us.

Our time here turned out to be the highlight of the 1 month we spent in Italy and, after the hustle/bustle of Rome, Venice, and Florence, gave us a really nice opportunity to relax.

Room Tip: Our 2nd-story room overlooked the back property and afforded a wonderful view of that and the surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

What a lovely review!!! Thank you very much for posting it . It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest. I'm happy to know that your experience with us was such a great one.

We look forward to having you back for another stay in the near future.

Best regards

Fam. Niccolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
666 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
637 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Address: | Loc San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing