We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse on route to visit family. We enjoyed it so much we booked for our return journey. The hotel is family run and nothing is too much trouble. A nice touch is that on arrival we were shown the breakfast area, restaurant and then taken to our room. We were stayed in room 76 which was on the first floor and overlooked the swimming pool and gardens. The room was of a good size but I did miss a long mirror. Safe in room which has a key that you need to obtain from reception. Hairdryer in bathroom. Free one hour Wifi but if you need more time I think is was 2 Euros for 24 hours. The swimming pool was very clean with sun loungers. The garden area was very big with more loungers, tables and table tennis.
We had breakfast outside. There was the usual choice inc cereals, coldmeats, eggs. We also had dinner in the courtyard restaurant. Three courses for 70 Euros including a bottle of wine and the food was lovely.
We had a lovely stay at this hotel and would love to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay our hotel and we thank you very much for the beautiful description you gave of it.
We are very proud of our beautiful hotel and work hard every day to keep it as best as we can.
Proprietors and staff contribute together to make the hotel the nice place it is!
We hope to see you back soon!

Warmest regards and best wishes

Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    325
    66
    10
    5
See reviews for
319
612
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Latina, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are from UK but we live in Italy. This was our third trip to the outstandingly beautiful Gan Gimigano & Voltera historic area in Tuscany and we chose this hotel again to go and see Andrea Bocelli's summer concert ...get's better every time.
Our friends from UK came over and stayed with us...&...loved this place.
Normally we choose to eat out...hotel food is not normally brilliant. We were tired one evening and ate at the hotel in their enclosed open courtyard & were really surprised how good it was and great value. So we ate again several times..their wild boar and Tuscany goat's cheese was outstanding.
Happy to recomment it

PS : ....no we are not related to the owners :-) !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe facing the pool ...if you like a bigger room....worth the little extra !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AranCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
The greatest compliment to a hotel is to welcome year after year a guest like you and to know that the anticipation of your arrival is mutually shared as we always looks forward to your next stay.

Your comment about our restaurant is greatly appreciated and we truly appreciate to have such wonderful ambassador of the hotel.

I can only thank you again for your loyalty and we await your return next summer!

Best wishes

Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

stayed 5 nights in August
the hotel is in good location for exploring Toscana and in proximity to the beautiful San Gimignano.
we were family of 4 and stayed in the Quersia apartment.
the apartment is located 100 m from the hotel btt the big downside is that the apartment is just next to the road and has no view at all and suffer from noise from the road.
the apartment is in urgent need of a facelift
the batrooms smelly!
the aircondition units are very small and not enough for hot days in August
the hotel pool and gardens are lovely

to conclude - I saw much finer properties in the area and would not warmly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice review and are pleased you had a nice stay with us.
Upon check-out you praised so much our resort and told us you had such a lovely time
in the apartment, that we actually inferred everything was perfect and you had nothing to
complain about.
First of all, we need to tell you that the distance from the hotel to the depandance is only 30
meters, not 100. It is true that the flats are situated along the road, but this road is in the
countryside, no lorries or buses ever drive along it, and as far as private cars or scooters
concerns, so it is really a very limeted traffic. All the bedrooms are anyway in the
back of the house, facing the hotel, so there is no possibility to hear the noise from the road,
if any. Regarding the smell in the bathrooms, like any other kind of little problems that are
usual in flats, if you had told us at the very beginning, 10 minutes later the problem
would have been solved enabling you to stay in the apartment without any bad smell.
The air conditioners in the apartments have been designed in order to keep them as cool as
possible. Of course you have to consider that in the presence of an extraordinary temperature
outside, the air conditioning inside does its best to cool the rooms.
We are anyway pleased you enjoied our park and swimming pool, which make our resort
one of the most beloved and visited in the area
Kindest regards The Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly. Because of the wideness of the garden you can find very calm places if you want. If you want to look for a goog hotel in the middel of the Toscana - tjis is the best choice.
Everything else is truly perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you for the time you spent in writing the review and for the very nice words you
wrote about our place.
We are always very pleased to learn that our guests had a pleasant stay and the services
had been appreciated. All our efforts and hard work are dedicated to make our guests' stay
very special.
We will be happy to have you back at the hotel sometime in the future. Kindest regards
The Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hotel Casolare - Le Terre Rosse is a very nice hotel to stay in if you are looking for a rest and willing to enjoy the lovely Toscany.
Every other day, we spend the day at the swimming pool, enjoying the rest and the sun, with the Toscan hills as background view.
Only 1 hour from Florence, 7 minute drive from San Gimignano, this hotel is the perfect base to explore Toscany.
Rooms are clean, people very friendly and the domain is very spacious which facilitates a peaceful stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice review. We have much appreciated your positive
comments about our place and staff, since we are always very pleased to learn that our efforts
and hard work bring to such good results.
We hope you will be again our guests and wish you all the best The reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We loved our stay at the Terre Rosse very much. Beautiful hotel with a great restaurant. Very friendly staff! The only minus is that the rooms are not soundproof at all, but this really is the only minus. Everything else is truly excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice review and are very happy to learn you had a
nice stay with us.
We hope you will return one day to relish our hotel with outdoors facilities, the services and the
beautiful sorroundings. Best regards The Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel immensely having seldom felt so welcome anywhere. All the staff were smiling and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Set in extensive grounds just outside the tiny village of San Donato, the hotel is built in traditional style but with every modern comfort. The largish swimming pool was meticulously maintained as were the rest of the facilities. Although we would have preferred a slightly larger room, the room was well equipped, the bed huge and the bathroom, scrupulously clean and in perfect order.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and could be eaten either indoors or under an awning with an outlook over the pool and garden. Evening meals were taken in the wonderful ambience of the courtyard. A good range of food was on offer and what we had was of the highest quality - carefully served and attractively presented.

Situated about 6 Km from San Gimignano – a story in itself – it is quite possible to walk from the hotel to San Gimignano. Hotel reception willingly provided walking maps and we particularly appreciated the route via Montauto although it must be said that while most of the route is through vineyards and olive groves, the final ascent into the town is up a main road! Good footwear is essential. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to and from San Gimignano so it is entirely feasible to walk one-way. There is plenty of parking in San Gimignano but finding a space can involve visiting a number of car parks! Generally, there is a charge of €2 per hour although for Co-op customers, there is extensive free parking for an hour in front of the shop. (A parking disc is needed).

Away from the bustle of San Gimignano, the hotel offers the quietness of a rural setting yet access to one of the most interesting old towns in Italy. We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarecrow04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your beautiful review!
We are lucky to have a very nice hotel and very good staff, so that what guests have a disposal is a successefull mixture targeted to a special stay. The short distance to San Gimignano, a unique town with a medieval flair, the well kept countryside resembling a garden, a speciman of which is our park, the astounisching landscapes, the art towns, the good food and wine, all the magic components contribute to the best final result.
We hope you will come back one day, we would be very glad to be able to welcome you again
at Le Terre Rosse! With our best regards The Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Property: Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Address: | Loc San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing