We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast & bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Alba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Alba
Ranked #10 of 64 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“breakfast & bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice villa, clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, optimal and convenient location: just a short walk to the center of San Gimignano. There is also a free parking. Since this place is a b&b, perhaps the breakfast could be improved: I was expecting more typical Tuscany and/or homemade products for breakfast, instead of industrial products such as cakes, juice, yogurt and so on. They can make it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    49
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
110
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is surely a place to keep in mind and to return to. Very nice people, very nice bedrooms, Clean towels daily, Nice house and very nice breakfast. But a 5 min walk to centre just outside the walls of town. Very quiet during the night. Just 50 m away from a grocerystore which was handy for buying fresh drinks for the daytrips

Room Tip: don't hesitate, just book is all i can say:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berlindes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We have been returning to this property regularly since 2003. Sometimes with friends/relatives. We have recommended it to some others who stayed there as well. It has always been a most pleasant place to stay at ,at very reasonable price. It 's location is ideal to visit well known Tuscan towns like Sienna,Florence,Volterra etc. etc. The villa has secure parking and a swimming pool.
The owners are very pleasant. They also run the best restaurant in town centre and will reserve you a table there so as you don't have to wait for a table as it tends to be a busy eatery. It offers good Tuscan food at decent prices. Best part is walking distance between accommodation and restaurant /town centre is only ten minutes or so.
The owners keep a well stocked kitchen for guest use and the nearby mini market is handy for food supplies. The terrace with the Tuscan views is great to sit and eat at.
Good value, clean, convenient, friendly accommodation. Highly reccommendable. The Hunters

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunters_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

I liked a loot the place, the house is beautiful, the bedrooms are very clean and nice, and the garden and the pool are amazing. The breakfast is not included but it's not a problem at all. There is a nice kitchen with all of the essentials to cook (including coffee and tea if you want) you have a nice store 50mt from the Villa and you can buy nice think and do a nice breakfast and eat it under the trees in a nice terrace that the Villa has.
The place have free parking which is great. You are close to the city walls, you have to walk a little but it's not a big deal.
The owner also owns a nice restaurant "Stella" inside the city walls. Very nice pasta.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godos2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed in the Villa 13 nights. It was recommended to us by the friends who stayed there last year. There are 3 rooms at the first floor and 3 at the ground floor. Everything described in review from 2003 is absolutely true. Swimming pool is perfectly clean, rooms are
cleaned every day and towells are changed. Beds are big and comfortable. Even the price hasn't changed (EUR 65 for double room). You can also get w discount in case of longer stays. In our opinion the standard in the Villa is like 3-4 star hotel (comparing to hotel we stayed in Rome, close to Coloseum). No doubt it's worth the price! The host (extremely nice lady) speaks English very little. Breakfast is not available (even at extra charge), but you can either go for breakfast to local trattorias or prepare something using the kitchen (common for all rooms). The Villa exceeded our expectations, we loved it and we hope to come back there.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2003

We were very pleased with our 4-days stay. The rosecolured(!) Villa Alba is placed 500 m outside the gates of the medieval town. It is newly decorated, with taste. Rooms are faily large, "with a view", beds are good. Modern installations in bathroom. We loved that the kitchen included a refrigerator - were we placed food and bottles bought. There is an excellent, new swimmingpool and a balcony from the kichen. The host was helpful. Very good value for money (65 Eu a double room)

  • Stayed May 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alba

Property: Villa Alba
Address: Dante No15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Alba is a beautiful Villa in Liberty style completely restructured, situated to few meters from the medieval center of St. Gimignano. It offers service of Bed & Breakfast and the rent of the rooms for brief or long periods. With its deprived parking lot, the ample garden and the external swimming pool. Villa Alba offers for its guests a stay of relax and convenience. All the rooms have the private services, TV and line WI.FI. The management of Villa Alba has family management. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Alba San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing