We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casanova di Pescille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here three years ago. When it was time to book our visit this year I did look at other agriturissimos...but found myself coming back to Casanova. Once again a wonderful visit --- we stayed with my son and daughter in law this time. The location is great -- perfect for exploring the Tuscan region and San Gimignano right down the road. There is the added bonus of its having its own restaurant, for the nights you don't want to go looking for a place to eat. The food is fabulous!! ...just as we remembered it. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms are great and there is plenty of room. Breakfast is plentiful and the family are wonderful hosts. There was reason we came back here and we were not disappointed!!! Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynHyannis_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 200 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

My fiance and I stayed here last August and we did not want to leave. The welcome upon our arrival was fabulous and we found Roberto and his family to be the most perfect hosts. We always had the feeling that nothing was too much trouble - despite Roberto not speaking English too well! He helped me with a problem with Italian customs without any worries at all and, because I do not speak Italian at all, he simply translated through my fiance about it later and allowed us to enjoy our time without any concerns. I cannot imagine receiving better service anywhere. The cooking is superb, although they have the best ingredients with which to work, and the service and ambience are perfect. There is a dog there, and he barks sometimes - this is because he is a dog; it's what they do! Hector is not grumpy, as I read on here somewhere, and he does not get in your way, he is just another lovely accompaniment to a stay that feels like a "home from home". When we returned to San Gimignano a week after leaving, the family were happy to look after our bags for the day, as this service was unavailable in the town. This meant that, despite Italian customs best efforts to ruin it, I was able to take the engagement ring that they had held up to the top of a tower in the town and propose - many thanks to Roberto, Monica, Diletta and Saverio, I could not have done it without you! The practical bits - it is close to the town but take care walking back in the dark as you are on an unlit road; it is probably a breat base for a tour of Tuscany, however we were staying elsewhere and did not want to leave the farmhouse too much. The bathroom is not huge but it is all nicely appointed and very comfortable. The pool is impeccably clean and a good size, plenty of space for everyone, and views to die for. Next time, I will take the cookery lesson because too many people have said how good it is, and if I could cook food like that I would be delighted! We will return next year, and probably every year or two thereafter - truly superb and a real "find".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week , using it as a base to explore Tuscany by car. We found it to be delightful, a real oasis to come "home" to every afternoon. What a joy to be able to drive up the vineyard drive and PARK , without the usual parking hassles in Tuscan towns ! The grounds and view towards San Gimignano are beautiful , the family members helpful and friendly and the in-house dining room served up excellent Tuscan food.
We stayed in the apartment which was charming, but didn't use the kitchen- who would with such delicious food , but a few steps away !
Tight spiral stair case in the apartment : don't book it if you have any mobility problems.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The cooking class we took with Saverio at Casanova di Pescille was the highlight of our 2 week vacation in Italy. Saverio was so personable and fun and showed us how to cook an authentic Italian meal. The class was 3 hours long and then we spent 2 hours eating what we had prepared complete with the properties fabulous wine. The location is absolutely lovely and we could not have been happier with the experience. Thank you Saverio for making our time in Tuscany so memorable!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank desertgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The only drawback is the slow wifi. But if you are wanting a quiet place and dondon't need a fast Internet, this will suffice. They do have a nice sunny pool to relax by and they also have a bar that is on the honor system. The wine they make is 10 euros a bottle. I found it to be just fine. Very restful place ckose ro Voltera and San Gimignano.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this very nice agriturismo on our June 2013 Italian tour. It is a good base to explore beautiful Tuscany. 3 km from medieaval Manhattan, San Gimignano - one of our favorite small cities in Italy. You need a car to go for a dinner and visit SG, but this agriturismo has nice restaurant itself. They also sold their own products - wine, honey, olive oil and off course saffran. SG is the saffran capital of the Italy. The Staff is very friedly and helpful.

SG has definately the best Gelateria in the world, Gelateria Dondoli. Never seen and tasted such a variety of the divane ice cream - need to go back!

Casanova has a good and sparkling pool to calm down and plenty of sunloungers when the temperature rose up to 36 C. It was just like a heaven.

We had a 2 storey apartment, so we felt like home. The Rooms were spottlesly cleaned on daily basis, but there small bugs coming from the toilet sevage. This was a bit annoying.

In total Casanova is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We ("young" couple) stayed here for 10 nights in August/September 2013.

The looks of this agriturismo spreak for itself. It looks beautifully from the outside as well as the inside. Very well maintained and very nicely cleaned every day. There is plenty of space inside the room. The bathroom is clean and large enough to easely move around with two people at once.
Rooms have airco and shutters to keep the heat and daylight out.

Large swimmingpool and grass area (includining relaxing chairs) for resting and chilling. There is enough space around the pool area for all guest to still feel comfortable. Small "shop"is on the property where you can buys soft drinks, water, beer, wine, grappa ect.

Very frendly staff. They let you enough yoou time off in a peacefull way.

If you must name a down side for this agriturismo, there is no (retaurant was open during lunch only once) option to have lunch. Should be even better if there was the option to get a sandwich or something......
The owner (Roberto) is a very humble man. Somethimes maybe even to humble. He does not come up to you to start a conversation. We assume it has to do with the fact that his English is not that good. In his defence, when you ask him something he does try his best to help.


There is also a restaurant located in the argiturismo, a very very very very good one. This is a must do!!!!! Its called Ristorante Zafferano (by Casanova di Pescille). See review Ristorante.


Overall, A very plesant a good looking place!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RudyKoenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,274 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#11 of 29 in San Gimignano
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#10 of 108 in San Gimignano
790 reviews
2.5 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#11 of 108 in San Gimignano
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova di Pescille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova di Pescille

Address: Loc. Pescille, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $124 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova di Pescille 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casanova di Pescille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Di Pescille San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing