We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Tuscan countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Tuscan countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked seven nights here,and booked the junior suite on level two (room 11). Our room is large with the most amazing view of the Tuscan countryside, when we were shown to the room and the curtains opened we had an OMG moment! There are two French doors which open on to a private balcony, sitting on the balcony in the sun is just perfect! The room is a very good size is light and immaculate! The bathroom is not large but ample size and there is a separate room walk in robe and lots of storage for clothes and cases. The bed is queen size and very comfortable the mattress is firm, pillows comfortable, linen good quality white sheets. Air conditioning and heating is in the room . We have been very happy here it's quiet the staff are friendly and very helpful with any queries. Breakfast is included and is served in the restaurant which has floor to ceiling windows with stunning views across the countryside, breakfast comprises of cereals, yogurts ,fruits, pastries , boiled eggs, fruit juices, cold meats and cheeses and fresh fruit is a great start to the day.
The hotel is located near to the main gates of San Gigiminano so a short walk to the hotel,there are plenty of shops nearby and the bus stop to Siena,Poggibonsi and other towns is located near to the main entrance , the bus service is regular and an inexpensive way to see the countryside. We did a trip to Volterra and also to Colle Val di Elsa by bus, taxis are also available, the hotel has a list of taxis and also prices the taxis charge for some of the longer journeys say to Florence.
In short the hotel is to be highly recommended if you are planning a stay in San Gigiminano, a very relaxing place, there is also a very good restaurant attached to the hotel the food is very well price extensive wine list and fabulous food!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    140
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
65
182
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel located in the centre of San gimignano. The woman on reception was very friendly and very helpful. Helped us by looking up bus times on the Internet. Free good quality wifi. Excellent value for money. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Reeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is well situated, but it is in need of a revamp in the bedrooms. The room we had was big enough, but very old and musky and had the smallest bathroom & shower I have ever used. The room did lead on to a large balcony with incredible views of the Tuscan hills, especially in the mornings when the fog was trapped between them... Judging by some of the other reviews there are possibly better rooms. The breakfast is really good, again with amazing views through the floor to ceiling windows.There are some great restaurants in the town, and around 7pm there are barely any people around as all of the coach tours have all dispersed leaving a calm and peaceful town to enjoy and get some good photos without the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedal-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is built into the wall of the city. Our room was on the top (4th) floor and the view of Tuscany was amazing. The included breakfast was outstanding (it makes you realize how bad American food is by comparison) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is somewhat pricey by US standards but if you can afford this place, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobodobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA and Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We only spent 2 nights in this great little hotel/BnB in September. But would love to come back for longer in the future. San Gimi is our favorite Tuscan town.. This is the best hotel within the walls that we have found.
Our Jnr suite had the most amazing views across the valley and we loved just sitting on the balcony drinking wine and absorbing the great scenery.
The location was perfect for exploring San Gimi and being able to take in life in the beautiful town before and after the tour groups leave. The hotel is amongst it all!
The room was pretty basic but comfortable, of good size and had lots of air and light.
Bathroom was clean /older style but all one needed.
Those on reception were very friendly and most welcoming.
We ate at the restaurant one night and it was wonderful. The environment, the food and the fact they let us drink one of our own wines made for a very memorable evening. Breakfasts in the same restaurant were also very enjoyable. We watched the servers taking alot if care setting up tables, polishing glasses etc. They really cared and were very professional.
Driving your car to this hotel is difficult as it is on a one way thru road that doesn't allow cars, so my advice is just pack a small overnight bag and walk down from the car park at the top of the hill..
There is an elevator, in the hotel, so this us a big plus. Many Hill town hotels only have stairs..
There are many room types at this hotel, i cannot comment on the others, but can thoroughly recommend the suite we had and the great hotel and restaurant and hope to return here one day soon. Loved it..

Room Tip: We loved our Jnr suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvin-Life+Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel is located in the old part of the town
Our room was on the 4th floor so we had a fabulous view from the windows
Friendly staff at front desk, nice breakfast and fantastic dinner at the restaurant; plus while you eat you have a incredible view of the valley
Would stay there again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate p P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa District, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We have been for a night in bel soggiorno hotel and we can say that the location is excellent. The rooms are very nice, big and well equipped. The breakfast is good. The staff is very helpful. Good value for the price. If you are coming to San Geminiano with a car you can find parking lot not far away from the hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MGmg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Property: Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Address: Via San Giovanni, 91, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel Soggiorno 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bel Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Bel Soggiorno San Gimignano
Hotel Bel Soggiorno San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing