We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and views”
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location and views”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I visited San Gimignano for one night and were fortunate to stay in this hotel. The hotel was clean, spacious and with great views of Piazza della Cisterna and San Gimignano. The breakfast in the morning was great. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoscU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mr Ulrich,

what a nice review! We thank you very much, your opinions are all positives and we hope to always meet the expectations of our clients as we have done with you, thanks also for having recommended our hotel to all readers of tripadvisor,

thanks again from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    293
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
129
523
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Valley, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I, to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, decided to backpack thru Tuscany (Lonely Planet Medieval Hills trek). Hotel Leon Bianco was a lovely site to see as we (haltingly) climbed the last hill into the heart of the city. Our room was generously sized with an absolutely gorgeous view of the surrounding countryside. The breakfast buffet selection was very large, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Andrea,

thank you for your review and for spending time on express your positive opinions about our hotel (especially regarding the beautiful views) and our service, you have been really kind! And for your anniversary you have choosen a really beautiful and romantic town.
We hope to see you again to the hotel Leon Bianco,

warmest regards

all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Leon Bianco was perfect from start to finish! Our room faced the plaza and was directly in line with the stone cistern (well) that was filled with money from around the world. The room was comfortable and warm, the bathroom was exquisite, the windows were thick and locked the noise out. But we love the noise, so we kept them open.
We enjoyed the daily breakfast, quality foods were offered as well as espresso, cappuccino and teas. The last day, the market was setup throughout the village, offering colorful clothing and home goods.
What a great hotel in a stunning destination, we will return!!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UncadooPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Philly,

if you will return we would be really happy, because it's a great satisfaction to accomodate kind guests as you are, thank you very much for your beautiful review, and we are glad that you have enjoied your stay at Leon Bianco!

Warmest regards from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The walled town of San Gimignano is a major tourist stop, so one advantage of staying in the town is to see it early in the day before most tourists have arrived or in the evening after they have left. During the day, a long walk outside the walls gets you away from the crowds and offers many different views of the town and the surrounding area. Nothing in the small town is very far from the action, but this comfortable hotel is smack in the central square. An ample buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We thought this hotel was exceptional value for money. It is hard to describe how good the location is! We couldn't believe how beautiful the view from our window was. Our room was really big with a modern clean bathroom. The windows were triple glazed so we had a great sleep!The staff were friendly and breakfast is served on a lovely terrace in the sun, and there was an excellent selection of food. Thanks Hotel Leon Bianco for your service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TandC_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you take the Leon Bianco on its own, it's very good. The staff are friendly and accomodating. The breakfast is lovely. The rooms are clean and comfortable. But it's the location that makes this so wonderful. Right on the central square in San Gimignano, there is nothing more romantic than looking out of the window in the morning or walking out the front door. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank highschoolband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 16 day trip (touring and visiting family)with my husband and two children. I loved it! Perfect location, roomy especially for Italy's standards. Great breakfasts. Great wine bar across the street. The views out our window were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bellagelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 31 in San Gimignano
720 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
606 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Property: Hotel Leon Bianco
Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing