We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy Tale time”
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fairy Tale time”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Sorry it was only one night. Wished it had been one week. Gorgeous spot, great hotel room (we were upgraded to a suite with living room) great breakfast, wonderful ambiance. Huge thick stone walls, loved it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingTibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    295
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
134
531
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel in April 2012. We had a great time, the hotel has the best location right in the middle of town. We had an amazing view over the beautiful Tuscany hills filled with vineyards!! Wish the staff were are little more helpful with other local sightseeing places/ activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel in June, 2011, and were extremely satisfied. The location, besides being in the center of town, was also beautiful. Try to get a front room overlooking the Piazza della Cisterna. The room was large and comfortable, and the proprietors were very friendly and helpful. We had difficulty finding the place in our car, so parked in one of the lots and called them and they came for us right away.
San Gimignano is beautiful, but it is very crowded. We arrived on a Saturday and almost every parking lot was full. We took a side trip to Volterra one day, and had to wait for a place to park on our return in the late afternoon. There is room by the hotel to park a few cars, but it is not easy to find the hotel whilst driving through the labyrinth of hilly, sometimes one-way streets.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room overlooking the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Well located overlooking the main square of San Gimignano. Decent hotel and decent breakfast. To enjoy a fantastic view of Tuscany beauty, look out for panaroma viewing platform very near to the square. Best equip with a glass of Tuscany wine and cookies. Also, from the front door of the hotel, look to the right and find the best gelato in the world.

Room Tip: The choice is yours. Book early to request for room facing the square or facing the Tuscany landscap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaymondYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

What a fab hotel.
The rooms are nice, so are the staff. We were recommended the Leon Bianco by a freinds, and have recommended to others since. Great value for money.
We sat in the window over looking the piazza before wondering the streets.
A clean, simple hotel with character.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, elevator if you're disable, and in the center of everything in San Gimignano.
The room was great, had a vaulted ceiling and made us feel like we were in a castle. Located at the main piazza, it was easy to stroll around town at any given time.
Don't forget to get your gellatto early in the morning. Around 10:30 they start to form a line of turists that came for the day.
Wi-Fi isn't free but the price is symbolic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RapiroSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is on the main square. Said that, no better place to stay. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and the best gelatto in the world just a few meters away. Best choice in the village.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 30 in San Gimignano
733 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#12 of 30 in San Gimignano
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Property: Hotel Leon Bianco
Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing