We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic lunch and wine tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenuta Torciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tenuta Torciano
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch and wine tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We were staying in Florence and booked a guided tour day trip to Pisa, Livorno and Siena. The guide asked if we wanted to go to a winery for lunch. Since our 12 and 16 y ear old daughters agreed, we went.
What an experience! Luigi is quite the host (and salesman). He greeted us upon arrival, shaking my hand and addressing my wif\e as "the queen" and my daughters as "princess #1 and princess #2".
A most enjoyable wine tasting (probably sampled 8 or 9 different wines) with a three course meal (antipasto, riboletta and lasagna). We had to pass on the dessert because one of my daughters has tree nut allergies.
This was truly one of the highlights of our 10 Italian vacation.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hschatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    2
    3
    15
See reviews for
18
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Sorry but I had to get your attention and make sure nobody makes the same mistake we did. We booked four nights here because we wanted to stay in San Gimignano, a beautiful town. This hotel is not too close to the center of town, about ten kilometers of dark winding roads. There are only three rooms here, and there is no staff after hours. Since we were the only tenants staying while we were there, we were completely alone on the grounds. No lights on, we literally could not find our way to our room. Three different keys to get to our room, one to the outside gate since we were by ourselves, one to the building our room was in, and one to our room. No house keeping althought they said there would be. After two nights we could no longer take it. We told the owner that we could not stay under those conditions. He said we HAD to pay for three nights, even though we only stayed two. It was a terrible experience. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauliepell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had an enjoyable time with our family at the winery and loved the experience. Like most people we decided to purchase wine. We waited the 6-8 weeks for our wine. Our credit card was charged, but we never received our wine. Shermer Specialties is the distributor in the States and we cannot get an email or phone call from them.

I would not recommend this winery after the lack of service and never receiving wine that we paid for.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayla245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

I visited Tenuta Torciano in August 2008 and enjoyed a very fine italian wine tasting. I can highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nooil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Whatever people are writing about this lovely place, the negatives are all about visiting for a wine tasting, these reviews should not be linked to the actual accommodation. I have sympathy with those whose tasting didnt work out, but the bungalows are great, the pool and gardens are fantastic, and Pierluigi gave me 10 botttles to taste whilst I stayed for 5 nights. I purchased 4 to take home and he gave me 2 more free.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Did you ever get a feeling a quaint, warm place you loved so much had sold out and gone commercial?!

We had stayed at Torciano in 2002 and loved it so decided to return for a few days this year. We booked two months in advance, but upon our arrival, we were told that they had no rooms available that night due to a guest's medical emergency (person was now OK, but asked to stay an extra night), and that they had booked us into another agri-turismo closeby. We accepted, but specifically asked if they would guarantee the room which we had reserved the next 2 nights, otherwise we would go somewhere else instead of staying at the alternate B&B which was not as nice. They said yes, absolutely, reserved for you, no problem.

Predictably, we returned the next day to find that they still did not have our room. And who exited the room? A young couple who clearly had no medical emergency and was heading out on the town! When we complained to the owner, he said "what do you want me to do, put a gun to my head?" We left straightaway and ended up finding an even nicer, quainter farmhouse "Villa Tre Colle" in Bagnano/Certaldo.

As we were leaving Torciano, a 20-person tour bus showed up for a wine-tasting - being in that crowd would not have been our idea of a quiet few days in Tuscany, either! We could not help but feel that Torciano had sold out to go commercial and completely lost sight of their attentive B&B roots.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank danoblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

5 nights in the most lovely setting, our own little bungalow with a terrace, the gardens delightful with fruit growing on the trees and a fantastic pool to swim with the sun setting on it!! Wow. Excellent position to tour, only 10 minutes drive to San Gimignano through exquisite scenery. 30 minutes to Siena and also Chianti Wine country.

There is also a wine club on site with the most exceptional wines to taste, just be patient with the cruise line boozers who can make a lot of noise!!

The breakfast, sadly, was appalling, we just laughed in the end and put up with it because everything else was sensational. The same every morning, salami and cheese with bread.

Very good value for money booked through Booking.com

Well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Quiet and pretty
  • Disliked — Low voltage light bulbs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Torciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Torciano

Property: Tenuta Torciano
Address: Via di Crocetta 18 | Frazione Ulignano, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments and rooms have access to a large garden with sunbathing area and private parking. Adjacent at FARMHOUSE there is the WINE-CELLAR, the old wine storage, the WINE TASTING ROOM and the ENOTECA TENUTA TORCIANO where you can enjoy good wines. (follow the link Activities to the left).Join us, with Pierluigi, host of this set of Dinner with WineMaker, where you can taste pur propietor's wine, paired with a dinner of fantastic Tuscan Recipes.At the ned of the evening, in a few steps, you'll be in your comfortable bedroom in Tenuta Torciano Winery Resort. 1 Night in Double King Room 8 Great Tuscan products to taste in the vineyardAppetizer Tuscan Salame and Fantastic Tuscan CheesesList of Wine you'll taste during the tasting Brunello di Montalcino Nobile di Montepulciano Bartolomeo "Cabernet" Old Vitnage Baldassarre "Merlot" Old Vintage Cavaliere "Syrah" Old Vintage Vernaccia di San Gimignano, Tuscany Chianti Classico D.O.C.G. Balsamic Vinegar Old Gold Reserve Tuscan wine tasting :LOVE, POETRY AND IMAGINATION! If you are a lover of everything that is Italian, especially if you love the Tuscany wine, Tenuta Torciano Winery & the Tuscan Wine Tasting School is the ideal place to visit. The winery of San Gimignano is situated in the heart of Tuscany, 35 minutes from Florence and 20 minutes from Siena, surrounded by a beautiful hilly area, with a succession of unique in its kind, with its green hills, with its towering cypress trees, long stretches of beautiful vineyards, olive groves, forests of oak and lovely villages.When you visit Tenuta Torciano Winery of san Gimignano , All of you will be in Italy, together with a Tuscan wine family, consisting of a chain of 13 generations of wine producers, where you will receive a warm hospitality, Tuscan traditions handed down from father to son, the simple and good tuscan life. You can spend a pleasant and beautiful time to relax, enjoying fine tuscan wines along with other farm products, but mainly, you will live a unique experience and will be in contact with the Italians and with our simple, friendly and genuine way to behave with our guests, transmitting to all the people who come to visit, sympathy, warmth and smile, because the wine is love, poetry and imagination! If you are looking for Italian wines, gourmet foods, gift baskets, original, handmade wine accessories in our marketplace will enjoy a unique shopping experience and buy wine online In our store you will find award-winning Tuscan wines - Chianti - Chianti Classico - Chianti Classico Reserve- Brunello di Montalcino - Rosso di Montalcino - Nobile di Montepulciano - Montepulciano Red - Super Tuscan products blend of Sangiovese, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah, as the Our popular Wine Event Earth - our Bartolomeo - Cavaliere - Baldassarre - Eterno and Musicale. Then there are our famous white wines such as Vernaccia di San Gimignano and other very appreciated white wines. You will also find a high-quality olive oil and Balsamic Vinegar Gold Reserva. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenuta Torciano San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing