We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villasanpaolo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$92
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cisterna Hotel(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$111
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sovestro(San Gimignano)
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Volpaie(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vecchio Asilo(Ulignano)(Great Value!)
$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Renaie(Pancole)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Molino di Foci(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveler rating
909
384
81
34
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
384
81
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla san paologreat spaspa facilitieswellness areaindoor poolhotel villabeautiful locationtuscan countrysidebalcony overlookingour honeymoonolive groveslovely roomshort drivesan gimignano in the distancesan giminianofantastic viewsstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the great pleasure of staying here unexpectedly for 2 nights with a Globus bus tour - the itinerary was changed from Parma at the last minute due to remaining sensitive to the earthquake region and the victims.

The hotel is beautiful and staff most accomodating - nothing is too much trouble. The grounds ae breathtaking, peaceful and secluded. The pool area, surrounded by terraces and beautiful rose gardens, is fantastic. A few drinks late in the afternoon by the pool is a must for anyone staying there. It presents like a magazine spread.

Breakfasts are really good - with a view to die with your tea or coffee. Dinner at the restaurant was also lovely and all food and wine prices are really very reasonable. The restaurant looks out over olive groves across a valley and rolling hills - just glorious. Apologies for the ongoing superlatives but this really is a very special place and well worth taking time to drive here.

Our room had a private balcony overlooking a lawn, huge rosemary bushes and olive trees. Two nights here is not enough.

You will need a car but there is much to see in the area and what a place to base yourself for at least a week. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamHas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guests, our sincere thanks for your kindness in writing this review. I am sharing your comments with everyone in our Team and very happy to learn your satisfaction for our hotel facilities as well as for our italian and tuscan cuisine at panoramic restaurant .
All my colleagues and myself are grateful for your stay at Villasanpaolo and hope to welcome back your return soon. wish you a lovely summer ! cordially, Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

WOW WOW AND ANOTHER WOW
My husband and I celebrated our 25th Wedding anniversary in Tuscany. Villasanpaulo met more than our expectations. Absolutely fabulous!! Excellent spa and magnificent restaurant. Will no doubt return on our next visit to Toscana.
Well done and thank you to Luigi and his fantastic friendly and helpful staff! Could not fault this VERY special place!

Room Tip: Would request suites with balcony overlooking the magnificent country side. Luigi the Manager extremely helpful and very friendly - he could not do enough for us!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haneczka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Signori Benz, it is a real joy to read your review and so gentle comments on Villasanpaolo. Please believe we feel so rewarded and grateful for your stay with us to celebrate your Silver Wed Anniversary ! My colleagues at Irispa, at restaurant and reception wish also to convey their warmest regards. Hope you had a pleasant and safe trip back to beautiful South Africa. When you will plan a new journey....needless to say.....this will always be your home away from home, with same happiness to welcome your arrival and stay !
yours very cordially, Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for only one night in order to visit the beautiful medieval city of San Giminiano, on our way to Porto Ercole.The rooms are comfortable and the staff helpful and courteous. We wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Signor Michel, many many thanks for your stay with us - on the way to your vacation - and for taking your time in this review. We hope you had a great time also in Porto Ercole and by all means we look forward to welcome your return to Villasanpaolo ! kindest ciao From San Gimignano ! Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Luigi and his attentive staff made our short stay here very enjoyable. This hotel is nestled in the heart of the Tuscan landscape with magnificent views across the vines to the beautiful walled city of San Gimignano. Rooms are very spacious. Large bathrooms with great showers! The outdoor pool area is a large area with lots of lounges and area to relax and soak up the Tuscan sun. This hotel is very reasonably priced but it is Luigi and the staff that take it up a notch to a wonderful, personal Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Signor Dean and family, we feel so grateful for your stay with us and for taking your time in this review. Yes....thank you for telling about your tuscan experience ! it is really our pleasure to share tuscany , heritage, culture, cuisine, locations with you and with all travellers in this blessed territory ! Grazie for having your vacation from wonderful Aussies country to San Gimignano !
from everyone in our team and myself, Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from Tuscany and stayed 7 nights at the Villa San Paolo with my wife and 12 year old..

All the staff and especially Sara were polite courteous and helpful and offered advice on our day trips.You need to drive if you chose to stay at the hotel but the nearby train station at Certaldo is only 10 minutes away which reduces the stress of driving if you wish to visit the beautiful sights of Florence or Pisa.Volterra and of course San G are readily accessible.

The spa and indoor pool is really just that and to use this facility there is a charge of 30 euro a day. This is targeted at those wishing to pamper themselves rather than tourists the gym however is well appointed and free to guests. The outdoor pool area was quiet and relaxing and the pool itself 'refreshing' and spotlessly clean

Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of continental options and a hot course daily. The Restaurant was also good when we chose to eat in but there are so may good restaurants in Sans G you are spoilt for choice.

I can only praise the hotel staff for a great stay in a idyllic location

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor as these have their own secluded garden
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyholidays056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guests from United Kingdom, thank you sincerely for your vacation in San Gimignano, at Villasanpaolo Spa Resort. With your permission I share your review with everyone in our team and Sara. Your comments on Tripadvisor are excellent guide for the next travellers in this part of tuscany, but also a rewarding salute to our staff, motivated to genuine and extended hospitality.
Will you come back soon?....so we hope!!!! grazie mille ! Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews