We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Il Rosolaccio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Rosolaccio
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Is a remarkable place not far from the magical town San Gimignano. There is new owner trying very hard to make all visitors feel comfortable and welcome. Rooms are clean and food is an absolute delight. Make sure you call to take dinner when you book, as everything is freshly bought and cooked, so they prepare always for the people who sign up for dinner. I hope we will be able to come back soon again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katarina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    40
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
89
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our one week stay in the 'Iris' apartment was as enjoyable experience a traveller could have. The hosts were genial but not intrusive and the location is fantastic. We found the nearby town of Certaldo to be a true gem with a wonderful hilltop village and all the basics a good small town should offer. Taking the train to both Firenze and Siena on separate trips makes the experience that much easier. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fretwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is always a little daunting to visit somewhere recommended by friends, but we chose to do so and were not disappointed! Just turning into the driveway gives you a third of a mile view up to the farmhouse in between the vineyard and fields of sunflowers ... absolutely magical. The farmhouse and accommodation did not disappoint either, from the moment you get out of the car you are confronted with ... peace, quiet and tranquility! The room was clean and comfortable and we both slept very well. The food was wonderful and it was just a joy to sit with a bottle of wine outside watching the sun set, until service began. Martin and his family were perfect hosts and attended our every need (even arranging a tour guide at short notice due to my lack of fluent Italian). Mille Grazie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Linda and Martina, the chef who runs the cooking class, are both really nice people. They are very quick to respond to your emails and very accommodating of your food interests and timings and their rates are very reasonable. I would highly recommend t hem for a nice cooking class near San Gimignano. They even take you for a visit to the San Gimignano market prior to the class upon request for s few bucks extra.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's been 20 years since my previous visit to Il Rosolaccio and I'm pleased to say it is still as charming as it was then. The new management couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Memorable moments include watching the sunset with a bottle of chilled proseco on the deck chairs, the wonderful Tuscan vista from our window, dinner alfresco with wonderful food and service. I would highly recommend staying if you're looking to visit the San Gimigniano / Volterra region. We wish we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickWhyles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I returned to Il Rosolaccio along with two friends in June of this year having previously visited a few years ago.
The location is stunning and well placed for visiting many of the well knownTuscan attractions.We were warmly welcomed and well looked after throughout our stay.On two of the evenings we chose to 'dine in' which was a wonderful experience with some of the vegetables etc being sourced directly from the garden.We stayed in two of the guest rooms but next time would like to try one of the lovely apartments.
Our friends were certainly impressed with everything and have already recommended it to some of their other friends.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Generally all rooms have an excellent view over the Tuscan countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor_benyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We absolutely love returning to Il Rosolaccio. The views are fabulous. After driving unique nearby Tuscan villages like San Gimignano, it is very refreshing to go "home" to Il Rosolaccio. It is quiet and relaxing with lovely accommodations. Meals on particular days are delicious. We were there April 29th through May 1st on this trip. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms have their particular charm. However, I prefer the rooms that overlook the Tuscan vineyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macsfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
4.9 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#13 of 107 in San Gimignano
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tenuta Mormoraia
Tenuta Mormoraia
#8 of 66 in San Gimignano
246 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Ducci
Villa Ducci
#15 of 107 in San Gimignano
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Rosolaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Rosolaccio

Property: Il Rosolaccio
Address: Localita Capezzano 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Rosolaccio is placed in a panoramic position surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Offering B&B and self catering accommodation, it is conveniently placed between Certaldo and San Gimignano making it an ideal starting point for sightseeing in the area from Siena, to FLorence and the Chianti region. Our large buffet breakfast includes home-baked cakes, we also provide dinner 5 nights a week and cooking courses are also available. Most importantly we are always pleased to help our guests with suggestions and information on how to enjoy their Tuscan holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Rosolaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Rosolaccio San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing