We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a relaxing holiday here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Casale del Cotone
Ranked #8 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We staid for two weeks at casale del cotone and I already want to go back!
Is is a very nice villa and area to stay.
It has a quite atmosphere and you can enjoy and relax at the nice pool.
The garden is very well maintained and equipped with chairs and tables to read a book or to drink a bottle of wine. Alessandro, the owner, has some very nice Panizzi wines which you must try. The grapes are cultivated in the surrounding hills.
I strongly recommend to join diner when Alessandro cooks in the evening.
He really puts a lot of effort in it and the result is superb.
It is also a "special evening" and everybody is happy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucianoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Il Casale del Cotone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 407 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed for 1 night. The agriturismo has a great location within the tuscan hills overlooking vineyards. The farm is very beautiful and the rooms were also very nice and clean. We has a room with a little terrace, which was very nice, we were also offered to have breakfast there which was great. There is a nice swimming pool and San Gimignano is a 5 min car ride away. The owner was okay. We had dinner there, which was a bit of a disappointment.The owner made some meat on the BBQ which was very dry. Maybe we were out of luck and the food is better at other occasions.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Our 7 day stay at Casale del Catone was a delightful experience. Set in a rural enviroment this charming and comfortable Tuscan resort provides everthing the the discerning traveller could desire. An ideal location to use as the central point from which to make day trips to other attractions in Florence, Pisa, Siena, Volterra etc. Alessandro Martelli, the attentive host spares no effort to make his guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandcinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

i travelled with my fioncee in late may and found the most wonderful place i tuscany deciding to stay the entire holiday(instead of the 2 nights pre-booked).
The view was marvellous, you could enjoy the evening watching over the most beautiful landscape. I imagning that the pool would be quite refreshing during the hot period of july and august.
My fioncee and I already thinking on going back in the summer to feel the italian atmosphere during its peak. we stayed for a full week and i cannot find one bad thing to say about Mr. Martelli.
I would call him the perfect host always friendly and willing to help, also giving us wonderful advice about places to eat. Futhermore you should take advantage of the offer to have dinner at casale del cotone where Mr. Martelli also shows what the italian kitching has to offer.
The only thing you should be aware of it the need of a car- but that should be common known before deciding to visit tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank copenhagenlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We loved it and will stay again! Il Casale Del Catone was charming from the moment we drove up to it. The Owner, Alessandro, his family and staff are friendly and hospitable. It was Clean, comfortable, and absolutely beautiful, and easy to find. We were perfectly located for day excursions to San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena and some other off the radar wineries such as Brolio Castle. Don’t miss dinner at IL Trovatore in SG.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onourwaysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

My husband, son & I had the most beautiful, relaxing week of our 5-week Italian holiday at Il Casale del Cotone. I had booked a straight triple room and was delighted to be allocated the little apartment with a kitchen...made it easy for lovely meals based on cheeses, meats, breads etc when we tired of going out. The marble kitchen table was also perfect for playing cards, which we always do when we're on holiday.
The place has been renovated perfectly by Alessandro and fairly reeks of history...his family tree near the reception desk dates back to the 11th century! The 'casale' (meaning farmhouse) itself, built from local stone, dates from the 1600's, has walls at least a foot thick and is furnished in typically Tuscan style. Once a week (I think) Alessandro himself cooks an amazing dinner, but I recommend not eating lunch that day as the meal has many courses!
We felt like just chilling a couple of days and found that relaxing by the pool was the perfect antidote to 'duomo disease' (those who've been to Italy will understand this). We didn't even swim - although the pool was sparkling clean and looked inviting - but we're Aussies and only like swimming when it's really hot. We just lay around on the loungers, ate, drank & read our books.
Wandering around the surrounding vineyards and hills was quite magical and so unbelievably, perfectly Tuscan that it was hard to credit it was real. The countryside is exquisite and the views in every direction are postcard material.
The position, a couple of kms outside San Gimignano, was ideal from our point of view. It was great to be able to drive into 'town' easily for sight seeing, meals, etc but staying inside the walled town of San Gimignano itself would have been less than desirable due to the hoards of tourists each day and the fact that you must park outside and walk to your hotel. We also noticed other apparently well-rated accommodation on the main road and felt very fortunate not to have chosen that, and to be able to go 'home' to our wonderfully quiet casale with not a soul around except our fellow travellers.
What else can I mention?...Internet access is easy...just needs a PIN code supplied by Alessandro. Breakfast was fine. The place is not large enough to warrant a buffet table arrangement but what is provided to each table individually is OK. We laughed the first time we asked for eggs as well and found they came hard-boiled...but I happen to like hard-boiled eggs so enjoyed them. They were all just so polite & accommodating I didn't have the heart to suggest they might cook them on request and for only 4 minutes! After all, eggs for breakfast is not very Italian anyway!
Il Casale del Cotone really felt like being in someone's home rather than a B&B. It was delightful to see Alessandro's wife & baby around the place and to see Alessandro himself being a typically Italian doting father. We can't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a special anniversary trip. This hotel is well located with beautiful views of the Tuscan hills. It is a nice and quite location and only 5 min. drive to San Gimignano. The hotel grounds are nicely manicured. Alessandro the owner is very nice and his english is very good. As others mentioned he is only around during breakfast time. He gave us good recommodations in regards of sightseeing and restaurants. It didn't bother us that he wasn't around in the evening. The rooms are nice and clean and so are the bathrooms. They are not fancy but have everything we needed. Breakfast was typical with cold cuts and cheese and yoghurt, etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a traditional and comfortable Villa in the heart of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustrianAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
625 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casale del Cotone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale del Cotone

Address: Localita Cellole Il Cotone 59, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: $120 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casale del Cotone 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouses are located no more than 2,5 km from the medieval town of San Gimignano in the district of Siena. The "Casale del Cotone" as well the "Rocca degli Olivi" are surrounded by 70 acres of vinyards and olive trees. They were erected in the 17th century at the bottom of the hill where is located the ancient Roman church "Pieve di Cellole" which inspired Giacomo Puccini to compose the opera "Suor Angelica". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Casale del Cotone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casale Del Cotone Hotel San Gimignano
Il Casale Del Cotone San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing