We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allessandro's meals as good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Casale del Cotone
Ranked #9 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was the second time I have eaten at this B&B, but unlike before, this time we got to stay there as well. Il Casale del Cotone is in an idyllic Tuscan country setting with a beautiful outside dining area and a pool that's big enough for lap swimming, all with the beautiful countryside in the background. Alessandro's dinners are legendary and he is the perfect host. San Gimignano is only a five minute drive way. Most people that stay here can't resist coming back - even from Australia. Thanks Alessandro and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 411 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This time we stayed for a long weekend and we loved every minute of it!
The hospitality of the owner Alessandro Martell and his wife, the relaxed ambience, the lovely decorated rooms with breathtaking view over the Tuscan hills, this all makes you feel at home at Il Casale del Cotone. During our stay we enjoyed two of Alessandro's legendary homemade dinners.
It's a pity that some people complain and forget that il Casale del Cotone is a Bed & Breakfast; everything else like the gourmet dinners for example, is an extra touch of the host who does everything to please his guest.
We certainly will go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tandem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fantastic relaxing time for two weeks. Great stopping off place if you are on tour or in our case when you want a welcoming and comfortable base to relax or explore or whatever takes your fancy. Alessandro cooks up a storm every few days and as always we made some new friends from around the world. He really does create a wonderful atmosphere for guests. This is a B & B with 'benefits'.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Immaculate, charming, beautiful setting. Close to town but far enough away to be peaceful. We had a very very difficult flight, but once we arrived at il Casale, it made it all worth it. Alessandro and his staff are fantastic and hard working to make everyone's stay memorable. We have travelled extensively throughout Europe and this is by far one of the best places we have ever stayed at!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Everything we could imagine for our first visit to Tuscany. This wonderful quiet bed and breakfast is located amongst the vineyards just outside of San Gimignano. The family owned estate has been lovingly restored by general manager/owner, Alessandro. He worked tirelessly to make our 5 night stay memorable. Alessandro prepares dinner several nights a week for an additional cost. Both of the dinners we had were truly memorable in the excellent food, presentation, and great conversation with other hotel guests - be prepared to linger and savor each course. As far as accommodations: our room was bright, comfortable and clean. We could open our shuttered windows to let in the Tuscan sun and views. It was great to cool off in the pool on the hot July afternoons. We enjoyed the included breakfast on the patio. Our decision to stay at Il Casale del Cortone was based on prior Tripadvisor comments and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had again a very relaxing holiday at the Casale del Cotone.
The large pool is always very nice to have a swim after a warm day.
There was the interim bartender, Tim, who had always a joke ready and poured very large glasses of wine, beer and cocktails...
Alessandro was very helpful and attentive.
One day I wasn't feeling so good and he immediately brought some medicine and checked upon me on a regular basis.
Every two days Alessandro cooks for the guests. It is very good value for money and above all a lovely evening.
Our holiday in Tuscany was perfect and we would like very much to come again next year.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LucianoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Il Casale del Cotone is a fantastic place we can highly recommend the hotel has plenty of romantic Italian charm. The breakfast is delicious.
Evenings with barbecue with Italinesk food are fantastic, it brings people from different countries together with their stories and laughter.
I will never forget Alessandro who initially had not seen our engagement, and came suddenly out with champagne and said that some birds have told him that we were engaged just a few minutes ago here at his hotel Il Casale del Cotone and that we wanted to get married soon. Alessandro says that he has been married twice and the second time is the best ... '' SO ARE YOU SURE? If you are sure, then get on your knees again I will see that again :-)
Thanks to everyone who shared this Speciel evening with us. We will always remember you and hope to see you again. And to Mike and Terese thanks for being the two birds, hope we meet you again.
We would like to thank Alessandro and his nice staff for a really good holiday. See you again soon :-)
Warm regards,
Jack & Irina

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
513 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casale del Cotone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale del Cotone

Address: Localita Cellole Il Cotone 59, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: $118 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casale del Cotone 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouses are located no more than 2,5 km from the medieval town of San Gimignano in the district of Siena. The "Casale del Cotone" as well the "Rocca degli Olivi" are surrounded by 70 acres of vinyards and olive trees. They were erected in the 17th century at the bottom of the hill where is located the ancient Roman church "Pieve di Cellole" which inspired Giacomo Puccini to compose the opera "Suor Angelica". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Il Casale del Cotone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casale Del Cotone Hotel San Gimignano
Il Casale Del Cotone San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing